We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
46
18
6
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
46
18
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church bells day trip the owner old house wonderful garden douro valley place to stay pool area teresa birthplace dogs gem sample vintage theory tour wake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Staff were very helpful and accommodating, the old building and gardens are lovely and mostly peaceful. The views from the pool area were excellent, and when it was quiet truly tranquil. We had supper one evening looking out over the vines as the sun set and it was very romantic. However, the bedroom was a little small with the bathroom so small that it was difficult to shave as the sink was limited. While the pool area is very nice, it is a little surreal during the lunch period where wine tasting guests are very close having lunch under the Almond trees, but then they wander over to the pool area and simply take over. Not a big deal, but a little odd when you are in swimming trunks...

Room tip: We were unlucky that a dog barked all night, but that does not reflect on the Hotel, get a room not facing the rear
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

We were on a driving holiday in Porto staying in Sabrosa and Lost
Found this hotel asked for directions was kindly given a hand drawn map many thanks .

Decided to come back for a Wine next day
Was welcomed to the poolside with a bottle of Red and white to sample
What a great spot overlooking the vineyard cannot express the Ambiance of this Hotel this is the place to stay in Sabrosa listening to the church bells

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ransley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

This was our last stop on our day trip from Porto, having visited Quintos Tedo first and then an hour on a replica Abelo on the Douro.
The highlight for me was the lunch at Vintage Theory restaurant at Casa dos Barros.
This is a beautiful old property with its own chapel and you eat among the concrete tanks which are used to make the initial fermentation of the Port.
The young Chef “Fabrice “ who was also our guide of the property put together a delicious lunch far more substantial than we had been lead to believe.
At our tables was a simple salad of leaves, onion and tomato. Local olive oil was poured on. A small dish of oil and balsamic was there in to which to dip the good local bread ...
Then came a simple carrot soup.
Main courses were Sea Bream or Pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon. The fish was nicely cooked served on a potato dish with sautéed cabbage. Very delicious. A side serving of mushroom risotto was served at the table.
Wine was plentiful, a nice white blend , dryish , and a fairly meaty red also very nice.
A rich chocolate cake and coffee finished off things really well. I even got to taste a shot of a delicious aged Aguadiente.... think grappa ++
Fabrice was a charming host and excellent cook.
A truly memorable end to a great day.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alex186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

The property with the wonderful garden is really beautiful. The owner - Theresa- is also very charming and supportive. But I would not come back because 1. The rooms are really dark, you don’t want to stay there longer as possible. It is difficult to sleep because the dogs of the neighborhoods are barking and the church bells ring every 15 minutes. 2. As we were there this region had only 15 degrees and it was raining all day. Our heating in the bathroom didn’t work and it was very cold in the building - we did not feel comfortable. 3. Breakfast was really mediocre. Staff responsible for the breakfast could not speak English. I asked for a boiled egg, they did not understand. I think with sunny and warm weather this place could be really good as you could enjoy the garden and the pool.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DaniM_SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Casa dos Barros is a unique off-the-beaten-path historic manor home and a welcoming small inn perfect for exploring the Douro Valley. Owner Teresa is fourth (?) generation and “hostess” of this delightful place full of family painting-portraits, restored 18th century furnishings and design, homemade jams and cakes, elegantly simple bedrooms, modern baths, beautiful vistas, fantastic food, and wine from neighboring vineyards. Don’t forget to go to Teresa’s cousin’s winery, Casa dos Lagares, in the nearby village of Cheires.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews