We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure it's a nice view but...”

Jack Rabbit Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sure it's a nice view but...”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Took my partner for what I hoped would be a pleasant Sunday lunch. Firstly upon arrival our reservation had mysteriously vanished, but no big deal we were given a table anyway. Room is very noisy so not a good spot for a secluded romantic meal, waiting staff appeared to be lost for some reason for example after being seated for 5 minutes the waiter who seated brought out a dessert to our table. My entrée was tasty but quite small for $19. Mains were a little bit try hard and again on the smaller side. My partners chicken dish appeared to be 3 slices of poached chicken with no accompaniment to disguise this bland dish which read well on the menu. She was very disappointed. A side dish of Kipfler potatos and green beans contained under cooked potatos and 4 lousy beans!! My partner had the caramelized banana for dessert which she enjoyed although for $18 I would have thought they would include a whole banana. Overall there would need to be a dramatic turn around by the strategy of the chef and management for us to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    151
    68
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Stunning view and friendly service”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited Jack Rabbit for a late lunch with friends. The view from the cafe is absolutely stunning and the staff are friendly. The food is also very nice and one can sample a wide range of wines as well

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cool_satchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed Group”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wonderful location with to die for views, but as a previous review says it all seems too hard for them to make a satisfactory group booking. Their Functions Manager should be sacked. Seemed totally disinterested in our group booking enquiry, told there would be long delays in service due to small kitchen and our menu would be limited. Were told would have to sit outside if a larger group booked. Come on Leura Park management, you really need to lift your game when your new building is finished, really expected much more from you. Similarly we booked at Bellarine Estate and were delighted at the quality, service, ambience and professionalism.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndsay S, General Manager at Jack Rabbit Vineyard, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Roger,

This review is disturbing and I would really like to talk in person with you about the scenario please. It's also disturbing that you felt the need to denigrate Jack Rabbit on the Leura Park Estate Trip Advisor site. If you feel that strongly about your experience, it would be much better to discuss it in person as I am unsure as to exactly what the scenario was that occurred (as mentioned, were you a walk in and wanted a table on the spot? were you looking at enquiring about a group function? Was it over the phone? onsite at the House of Jack Rabbit? A few of the comments do not actually make sense in terms of what we offer - group bookings are not relegated to outside, the kitchen is a great commercial kitchen and can easily cater for groups of all sizes. Please call me on 5251 2223 as I am particularly keen to get to the bottom of your complaint and am disturbed you are so clearly angry about what happened and am looking to rectify whatever issues there may be. The date you are talking about is prior to the Restaurant opening. I look forward to hearing from you. It's all very well to express your opinion but in all fairness, we deserve the right of reply and chance to listen to you first hand instead of being rubbished in the public forum like this. Cheers, Lyndsay Sharp (Owner and General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated, slightly disappointing”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We thought this would be nicer than it turned out to be. We were placed on an uncomfortable table in the middle of a walk way, and we did book a table in advance. We were not actually waited on but instead instructed to order at the bar. The food was very little quantity and not all that inspiring. The wine was nice. We had hoped for much more and were disappointed. Realistically we could have gone to a pub and received a similar experience however that's not what we expected for the price and reputation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A nice relaxed lunch.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were really looking forward to giving the a la carte menu a workout but sadly they only had the lunch menu.
The restaurant is in a lovely location overlooking Port Phillip Bay, a truly great spot for a nice leisurely lunch on the decking on such a nice day.
Being fairly hungry we decided to share a main course serve of Portarlington mussels for entree and then both had the fish and chips for main with a glass or two of their lovely wines.
They seemed slightly understaffed on this particular day as service was a little slow but we were in no hurry to be rushed through so it didn't bother us. Once we'd ordered, everything was fine.
Totally enjoyed everything we ate and drank and will definitely return one day, perhaps for an early dinner outside on a balmy evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Rabbit Vineyard also viewed

Wallington, City of Greater Geelong
Wallington, City of Greater Geelong
 
City of Greater Geelong, Victoria
 
City of Greater Geelong, Victoria
Drysdale, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Jack Rabbit Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing