We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Jack Rabbit Vineyard
Reserve with
Jack Rabbit Vineyard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Such a great location
Food was very nice wine was a nice drop
Can't wait too take my husband to this winery.
The views over the bay were awesome with Melbourne city backdrop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanna61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    148
    66
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Languid and serene”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing venue and situation. The day was sunny, the ambience perfect, service was friendly and convivial and the food excellent. The Portarlington mussels were sweet, spicy and creamy all at the same time, too many to finish and wine was a good selection.
It would have been better to have been escorted to our table instead of it being pointed out but as a Friday lunch it was ok. The Mel cost was very inexpensive given the location and autumn was just kissing the vines so the colors and light were magical. I would return here and highly recommend for visitors to the area. A few bad reviews should be taken as a minor glitch in the overall standard. Give it a go. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GDayMateAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views- dismal service”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited on Easter Monday to celebrate a birthday and were amazed by the brilliant views but disappointed by the sour welcome and lack of overall customer service. Upon arrival I had to approach a staff member to advise of our party's arrival, I was then pointed to the table instead of being escorted to it!

Our mains arrived individually so that our party of 10 were eating at different times- my husband received his eye fillet last, after everyone else had finished their mains! I've never ever had this happen in a restaurant that is supposed to be ''fine dining''.The two bowls of duck fat chips we ordered to please the 3 children and accompany some of the adult mains didn't arrive together, so one half of the table had chips while the other had none! My request for tomato sauce( I had to make 2 requests) for the children took well over 10 minutes.

Overall a disappointing visit for what was a special family occasion. Staff need some urgent customer service training. Learning to smile and attending to customer requests as well as working on their efficiency should be top of the list- I would not visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schatzi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view terrible service.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

After not being able to get a table at Easter ,we decided to book for the next time we were in ocean Grove. Our starter took an hour to come out after we asked for it. The meal followed and was quite nice. We then got the hurry up as there was a wedding at 4 even though there was nothing on the door to let us know and we were not informed by the staff either. At 3 we were told we had 5 minutes after we had just purchased a bottle of wine to be drunk there. They began to clean tables around us and keep giving us the hurry up. After spending around $300 we did not even get a thank you or goodby. We then went across the road to Terindah winery were the staff were hospitable and provided table service, there wine was also much better. Guess where we will go next time?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 402peterm402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A place to avoid, don't waste your time!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My experience at Jack Rabbit today will be hard to forget... For all the wrong reasons though. When my mum and I decided to have lunch at Jack Rabbit we were initially blown away by the beautiful views and the lovely winery itself, but it is a shame the staff at the cafe did not complement the lovely bay views and the rolling hills surrounding the beautiful winery. On arrival there was no friendly greeting by the staff nor was there any assistance to seat us at an available table, instead we were left to walk around and find our own table. Once seated we were eventually brought a menu and all the options sounded delicious... Despite no specials being available on this day (the easter public holiday menu said to check the specials board inside... go figure??) After the initial shock of the poor customer service, the experience continued to decline. We waited half an hour... and although we recognized it was a busy day (the Easter weekend) other tables near us received there meals before us, but they had arrived at the cafe well after us and were in larger groups, some of the meals were the same ones we had ordered ourselves. After inquiring with the waitress, we were told our meals were "in line" and they hasn't forgotten us, but we waited patiently a further 20 minutes. When our meals arrived, 50 minutes after we had originally ordered, the Mee Goreng noodle dish was cold and tasteless and the beef burger was also cold through to the middle. The dishes were returned to the kitchen by a rude and obviously flustered waitress who responded very poorly to our concerns over our meals being cold... and after we had waited 50 minutes for them. A few minutes later a fresh dish of the noodles were delivered to our table... But the cutlery was not replaced, once again we had to catch the waitresses attention to get a new set of cutlery. It was a further 5/10 minutes later that the burger was returned to the table, hot (as it should be), but the plate was incomplete as the wedges and onion rings which were originally part of the dish were not replaced. By this stage we were so unimpressed by the service and general lack of concern by the staff we just finished our meals and left as fast as we could. Overall the dining experience was very poor, the staff were rude, inconsiderate and ill equipped to deal with customer complains (legit ones at that). It is unfortunate such a beautiful place is ruined by the poor hospitality. Will definitely not be recommending this spot to any friends or family, we have been put right off. Such a shame!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AlexJFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Rabbit Vineyard also viewed

City of Greater Geelong, Victoria
Wallington, City of Greater Geelong
 
Wallington, City of Greater Geelong
City of Greater Geelong, Victoria
 
Portarlington, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Jack Rabbit Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing