We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast with adequate room facilities”

Sandefjord Motor Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Pleasant staff and great breakfast. Room was perfectly adequate with comfortable bed and small en-suite shower room.

No tea & coffee making facilities or hairdryer in the room which I missed.

Surprisingly the traffic noise did not bother me but loud noise from guests in the next bedroom did.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granthamowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 45 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a typical motel. It's perfect if you need to stay close to the main road running through Vestfold, and it is also very convenient if you need a place to stay close to Sandefjord Airport. Personally I picked the hotel as it was close to the office I was workiing at during my stay.

The personnel at the hotel are all friendly and helpful.

When you enter the hotel you first enter an area which has more of a feel of a bus or train station waiting room than a hotel lobby. The reception desk is right in the middle of the lobby and there is a seating area to the right and a cafeteria to the left. The breakfast which is included in the rate is served in the cafeteria. You can also get an evening meal in the cafeteria, and the service is fast. Basically you make your selection and go to the counter and order what you want. they give you a paper slip to take to the till and a small electronic gadget that starts to beep and flash when your food is ready to be picked up form the counter.

The room I stayed in (234) was quite small. It had two single beds and two chairs with a small table between them. There was also a rack to hang some clothes and a space for your suitcase. A small TV is mounted on the wall and a small selection of local and intenational channels are available.

The bathroom is also quite small and functional with a toilet, a small shower cubicle and a sink all squeezed into an area of about 2 sq. meters.

I found the beds just about adequate. They were sturdy enough, but quite narrow and the mattresses slightly flimsy. The pillow was very small and even with two of them on top of each other I still found it difficult to get proper support for my neck and I also found it quite invenient that the mattresses kept on sliding around on the bed as I turned during the night. Despite of all this I slept quite well, and I guess that is the main thing.

The bedding was clean but some of the other parts of the room had a feel of being slightly worn and may soon be in need of some refurbishment. The towels in the bathroom were also quite small and thin. One use and they were absolutely completely wet. Definitely not the type of towels you would want to take away when you leave (not that you would consider doing that anyway, of course) but you get the picture.

I had expected there to be some noise at the hotel, and I did hear some of of the other guests as they were leaving or returning to their rooms. But this was actually pretty minor and I didn't notice any noise at all from the car park and the service station at the front of the hotel or from the main road that passes at the back of the hotel.

Parking at the hotel is free, but make sure you ask for a parking ticket to place in your front window. The hotel also has free wi-fi. You get the network key from the reception and conenction is straight forward. Speed was quite good and I had absolutely no trouble using Skype or picking up my emails.

Stay at this hotel if you really need the convenience of being close to the main road, the airport or offices in the area. Otherwise there are hotels available in the centre of Sandefjord (which is only about 10 minutes away by car) that offer much better rooms at similar prices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEagleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I had a meeting with customer next morning in this hotel, therefore it was a logical choice to stay over the night in it. I have been in many Norwegian hotels and therefore can compare this one with others and say that it is an average quality hotel. Sleeping conditions perfect and what else you need if you travel by car and must stay over the night near the road E18 in this area?

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eisaksrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Knut_Sleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank si9121987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Finn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandefjord hotels
3.5 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
571 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kong Carl
Hotel Kong Carl
#3 of 5 in Sandefjord
141 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandefjord Motor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandefjord Motor Hotel

Address: Fokseroedveien 21, Sandefjord 3241, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range: $131 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandefjord Motor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandefjord Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing