We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent historic hotel in the middle of downtown Sandefjord”
Review of Hotel Kong Carl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kong Carl
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Nice receptionist, upgraded us to a "historic room" In spite of the age of the hotel very modern, clean facilities .Free wi fi in the room, free breakfast and delicious complimentary homemade waffles and coffee in the evening. Only negative comments are: no early breakfast, (we had an 8 o-clock flight from Sandefjord Torp airport) and no free parking.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: choose a historic room! Very spacious rooms with nice furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SveinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 146 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

Not a modern chain hotel in any aspect but with very good and helpful service. This is a hotel situated in a charming old building with antique furniture and designs. Perfect choice if you like that! We certainly did. Conveniently situated in the center of Sandefjord. We were in our room, having parked our car and checked in, 15 minutes after leaving the ferry in Sandefjord harbor. Very clean and an excellent breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

this is a charming hotel right in the middle of center. but when you decide to stay here
please remember that this hotel is very old and historic, so dont expect the same fasilities that you would on other newer hotels.

We loved to stay here and will come back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I've spent 3 nights at the hotel in a very comfortable room. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpfull. However the bathroom was very small. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and folks there are very helpful. It is also 5 minutes walks from the trainstation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel is a small hike from train station but very handy for the centre of Sandefjord itself. From arrival you could tell that this was an old-fashioned place and when we saw our room we both thought it reminded us of staying with grandparents; old furniture, dated fashions etc but ultimately cosy, comfortable and welcoming! Our flight time prevented us from trying the breakfast. Overall, we actually quite liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosestreetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I love the Kong Karl. It is a 'historic' hotel which perhaps has seen better days, but if you want a taste of what life might have been like in the past then this hotel is for you. It is full of character and you really get a taste of 'old' Norway. If you want something more modern then the Rica Park is just across the way. It was designed by Arnstein Arneberg who also designed the Oslo Town Hall and the interior of the UN Security Council. The problem is that the world is littered with chain hotels, like the Rica Park, which all offer similar standards of service and facilities. The Kong Carl is different. You need the patience of Job to wait for the hot water. If you take on a budget room, then there might not be the room to swing a somewhat stunted kitten, let alone a full sized moggy. There is no evening restaurant but there are plenty of good eating opportunities in Sandefjord.
I had a lovely room at the front of the hotel and it is probably worth paying a little more if you really need some space.
The staff are attentive and friendly and the breakfast, while not the best I have had in Norway ( which oddly enough was at the Best Western West hotel in Skovveien in Oslo several years ago) was still very good.
I absolutely loved it but it may not be for everybody.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerBob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I fully enjoyed my stay at the Kong Carl. The staff was extremely helpful, polite, and funny. I felt right at home. Our room was a standard double that was quite spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. I enjoyed the hearty Norwegian breakfast every morning. Having breakfast included in the hotel rate makes a big difference in Norway as it is expensive to eat out.

The location is great, a quick walk to everything you want to see in Sandefjord. The hotel is one of the oldest in Norway; being a history buff myself this made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjgirl_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.2 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
3.3 mi away
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandefjord
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#1 of 1 in Stavern
144 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Asgardstrand
Grand Hotel Asgardstrand
#1 of 1 in Asgardstrand
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bugarden Apartments
Bugarden Apartments
#2 of 6 in Sandefjord
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kong Carl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Carl

Address: Torggata 9, Sandefjord 3210, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range: $124 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kong Carl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Accommodation in Sandefjord, Norway. Hotel Kong Carl is an adornment to the center of the small town of Sandefjord. The building dates back to 1690, and by 1721 was already functioning as an inn. Today the Hotel Kong Carl is known for its homely and personal atmosphere. The hotel offers accommodation in 25 rooms all. Welcome to a unique historic experience in Southern Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kong Carl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Carl Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing