We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed October 28, 2005

Great hotel for a short getaway to sample Norway. Great location on the harbour with good views. The hotel staff are very friendly & speak excellent English. The rooms are clean & comfortable. We had 2 foldaway beds added for the children, this was fine at night & when folded away we had plenty of room. Breakfast is complementary & very good. Norway is expensive but comparable with Edinburgh or London hotels when it comes to food & especially alcohol. The leisure centre is very good with a large heated saltwater pool & there is a bar selling drinks & snacks. The airport is only 10 minutes away by taxi & costs about £20. You can take a day trip to Oslo by train, the station is a short 10-minute walk from the hotel. Tickets can be bought at the shop at the station. Language is not a problem as most people speak English

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SL.123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    212
    94
    40
    12
See reviews for
91
120
31
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Given that Norway is without what would be considered a 'luxury' hotel anywhere else in the world, this hotel is just fine. It is NOT anything special. It is a large hotel, located near the water (a short walk to the ferry) and is proximate to a large and pleasant park. The hotel is not air conditioned (no hotels in Norway are) so if it is warm, you're in big trouble. The rooms are adequate and compared to many hotels in the larger cities (Oslo and Bergen), the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Foplaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington Wiltshire U.K.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2005

Took the wife away for a suprise weekend and stumbled upon this hotel. If I had spent time planning and researching I honestly could not have come up with any better, Clean , friendly, welcoming , and extremly good value for money. Would very highly recomend for anyone loking to have a nice romantic weekend away

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank truckerscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2005

My husband and I stayed in this hotel just before Christmas and had a lovely time. Rooms are spotless, breakfast unbelievable and staff all very friendly. Sandefjord itself is well worth a visit - very clean, self contained and lovely shops. So handy for the airport too - jsut jump on a bus for a fiver return. Will definitely go again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Shelagh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2004

Luxury hotel with friendly, helpful, english speaking staff. We had glorious harbour views and the restaurant was fab. Our rooms were absolutely spotless as was the rest of the building, and the whole town for that matter. There was no tea making facilities, but we would still rate this hotel very highly. A visit to Sandefjord should definitely be on your itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KDF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kong Carl
Hotel Kong Carl
#3 of 5 in Sandefjord
125 reviews
9.0 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
564 reviews
7.6 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
166 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Sandefjord Motor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandefjord
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Park Sandefjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Park Sandefjord

Property: Scandic Park Sandefjord
Address: Strandpromenaden 9, Sandefjord 3208, Norway (Formerly Rica Park Hotel Sandefjord)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Park Sandefjord 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Park Sandefjord is a stylish hotel with an ideal location next to the guest harbor, the city centre and the airport a short drive away. Our restaurants serve great food in a light an airy setting and during summer we also open up our outdoor restaurant. Don't miss a visit to our gym or go for a swim in our salt water pool. We also have a spa with a relax area where you can reward yourself with a wonderful spa treatment. Our hotel has a conference capacity with flexible meeting rooms for up to 700 participants. If you travel by car you may park in our garage. As a guest you´ll have access to free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Park Sandefjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Park Sandefjord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing