We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice location ... Hotel Rica Park, Sandefjord”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice location ... Hotel Rica Park, Sandefjord”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was stayed there in September ... Hotel is located at walking (about 1000 mtrs.) distance from Sandefjord Train Station (you can avoid on expensive taxi).

Location of Hotel is superb ... just on the edge of Sandefjord Harbor ... you can easily see lots of boat and yatch sailing and parked on the harbor. Beauty of the surrounding is very good.

It seem hotel building is quite old, but nicely maintained ... inside hotel and in lobby there are many antique pics and stuff are on display.

Room was reasonably ok....not too small not big. Clean and quite comfortable bed for good night sleep. Breakfast....wow...quite big spread.
Enjoyed a lot at breakfast.

Price .... Hotel is as good expensive as any metro city hotel...though Sandefjord is not big city.

Room Tip: Suggest to have Harbor View Room...its beautiful outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tejashmodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    188
    87
    35
    10
See reviews for
80
99
28
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Right next to the sea port of Sandefjord in Norway, with blue whale jaw bones as you enter the car park, this hotel has a nautical feel to it. The quite rectangular unsightly exterior of the building belies the luxury and comfort of the interior. The reception, bar and restaurant give a five star feel . The rooms are more basic but perfectly comfortable. The price for a room is very reasonable indeed. However, you do have to pay extra for TV and WiFi. We took the a la carte meal in the evening which was expensive. However, it was worth it for the quality of food, environment and service. A very special stay over on our drive to Stavanger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A really odd combination for me. I stayed here for a congress, as the hotel doubles as a congress venue. Congress facilities are OK lots of small meeting rooms and a couple of reasonable ones for 200-300 I would say. The rooms are nice, big shower beds are alright except the pillows are too soft. Ther is a gym and a pool slightly odd opening times tuesday and thursday it doesnt open till 10!!!
It a big 1960's building and just strange as a result compared to more modern buidlings but its not too bad, nothing brilliant but nothing to really complain about, excpet do try and get a room not facing the road that passes it, it can be a little noisy.
The views across the harbour are fabulous especially on a sunny day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ths hotel at the harbour is great to explore Sandefjord. The hotel has a majestic lobby and reception,but to be honest, the rooms don't match that profile. During the night a lot of noise came through the airvent from the rooms upstairs. I have asked for a different room and got one without nagging. Excellent service. I had been upgraded as well. Great pool and gym!

Room Tip: The slightly more expensive rooms are advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A frequent guest at this Hotel due to work, and during the last week of June ’13, I took my wife with me to enjoy her first taste of Norway.

The hotel is in a good location, a mere stone’s throw from the edge of the Fjord and is quite comfortable. There is a new block of bedrooms, built adjacent to the original hotel which is reached through the Business Centre. We stayed in one of these new rooms which are OK, with a nice wet room to shower in, although I felt the bedroom itself was bit cramped for a “Superior” room. There was one chair by the small coffee table, in a room for two – although there was a hard chair at the desk. The Wi-Fi is simple and efficient and included in the room rate (and no complicated access required – just name and room number).

The breakfast is fabulous, with so much choice including all sorts of fresh fruits, hot items, smoothies and salads. Bar prices are as you would expect in Norway and on Sunday, the bar doesn’t open on the evening, so if you need to relax in that way, you are better off having a very short stroll into Town.
All-in-all it is an OK hotel and in a great location if you want to wander into the small town for a mooch around, or have dinner in one of the harbour or Town restaurants. The fish soup at Restaurant Kokoriet, on the harbour is a firm favourite of mine and worth paying for – even at Norwegian rates! Another favourite is “China Restaurant” a short walk into Town – authentic with food nicely prepared and presented.

My wife enjoyed the “Colour Line” boat trip across to Sweden – booked on line at a much cheaper rate of around €6 equivalent, I believe. It was 2.5hours each way, like a mill pond on this occasion and gave her chance to relax as she took in the scenery there and back to Norway’s friendly neighbours.
Entering Norway through the local Sandefjord (Torp) airport, you can buy Duty Free, which is pretty reasonably priced for Norway; this might appeal if you enjoy a drink and are there for a while as the sprits were similar prices to UK supermarkets (whereas two Famous Grouse whiskies, twice, cost me the equivalent of 40 quid in a bar).

Take your credit card and enjoy Norway!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntlerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great staff, I checked in late (11 pm) and was upgraded to one of the beautiful suites with view over the sea, great amenities and everything you could wish for. Unfortunately my neighbors had a party of some sort and I was disturbed several times during the night (on a Tuesday...) but that was immediately taken care of when I called the front desk to complain. I didn't have time to use the nice pool-relaxation facility but having stayed at this hotel before I can recommend that part as well. I would love come back with family some time but I would check before if any major conferences are placed at the hotel since it a common meeting/conference hotel which can be disturbing as I found out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just held a residential conference for 100 participants in this hotel which benefits from both excellent traditional and modern facilities. The food was outstanding even though this was large scale catering, the meeting facilities were perfect but even more praiseworthy was the attitude and helpfulness of the staff particularly in the conference area and restaurant. This hotel being close to the airport at Torp would be a good location for businesses wanting to bring people from all over Europe together not least because costs are reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandefjord
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kong Carl
Hotel Kong Carl
#3 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.0 mi away
Farris Bad Hotel
Farris Bad Hotel
#1 of 5 in Larvik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Scandic Havna Tjome
Scandic Havna Tjome
#2 of 2 in Tjome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
11.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 7 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Park Sandefjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Park Sandefjord

Property: Scandic Park Sandefjord
Address: Strandpromenaden 9, Sandefjord 3208, Norway (Formerly Rica Park Hotel Sandefjord)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Park Sandefjord 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Park Sandefjord is a stylish hotel with an ideal location next to the guest harbor, the city centre and the airport a short drive away. Our restaurants serve great food in a light an airy setting and during summer we also open up our outdoor restaurant. Don't miss a visit to our gym or go for a swim in our salt water pool. We also have a spa with a relax area where you can reward yourself with a wonderful spa treatment. Our hotel has a conference capacity with flexible meeting rooms for up to 700 participants. If you travel by car you may park in our garage. As a guest you´ll have access to free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Park Sandefjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Park Sandefjord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing