We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farris Bad Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$129
Quality Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$138
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kong Carl(Sandefjord)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,205 results
Traveler rating
631
319
169
58
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
319
169
58
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa hotelgreat spalunch and dinnerhigh standardocean viewbeautiful hoteldeluxe roomspa departmentdelicious foodthe room was nicea couple of timesromantic weekendfarris badwine listnice experienceseafoodnice selection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,205 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very nice stay, with a fantastic view. The food was excellent and service was ok.
Modern and pleasant building.
The room was big, clean and had a wonderful bed.
The food was fantastic with a lot of local vegetables and fruit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eNron09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I knew that we would be sore, tired, and jet lagged after the long trip from the United States to Norway and Farris Bad spa was on the way from Oslo to Arendal.

We had booked a Hamam Scrub Treatment in advance and since we arrive early, we enjoyed all the various spa rooms (steams, saunas, cold pool, warm water cave, etc.).

We were textile-free, as recommended, as were some others, but this was very comfortable and with so many rooms, and so few people, it was like we had the spa to ourselves.

Then, finally, we had our couples hamam scrub with Frieda and Julia. I had expected to just be scrubbed with a mit as I was used to in the U.S., but this was a hamam scrub by true hamam masters. It was more an art form... like a ballet of warm water and foam.

I highly recommend stopping into the spa on your journeys, even if you cannot stay at the great looking hotel by the sea.

We also ordered a snack in the spa lounge and it was very tasty, and we enjoyed the free fresh fruit (pineapple was great) that is set out for spa guests as well.

Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank aaronlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very modern (likely less than 5 years old) and very pleasant. Great architecture, and a very nice spa attached to the hotel, which is free of charge for hotel guests. Front desk staff are very professional, courteous and helpful, housekeepers are quiet, efficient, and pleasant.

Impossible to figure out how to use the thermostat in the room - no instructions (in any language) were provided.

The restaurant was very disappointing - understaffed, cleanliness problems, very laissez-faire service. By all means, stay in the hotel and enjoy the spa... but walk 5 minutes into the village when it is time to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

When did you last stay in a hotel where you felt surrounded by only beauty, art and soft carpets wherever you turned?
Its among the the best hotels in Norway, and the standards are high, yet never snobbish! The interior is very minimalistic, but even for a maximalist it feels warm, interesting and welcoming. Step down on the beach and have your coffee outside after breakfast and it feels like you might be on a beach in Sri Lanka. Great place to stay for recovering, business or holiday! Still, after 10 -12 nights in the hotel, I never took the time to try out the Spa, which everyone is very enthusiastic about!
Looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: My favourite rooms are the ones with balcony, facing the sea!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

you can enjoy superb food, use the amazingly big spa for free, or simply relax in your beautiful room (make sure to get a room with sea view).

I was slightly supprised that there where no waterbolier/coffee/tea in the room and som of the toiletries had not been changed since the last guest, so housekeeping could be better. but otherwise , this hotel is awsome!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews