We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation machine with potential” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farris Bad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Farris Bad Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxation machine with potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself might not be everyone's cup of Tea, decorated quite minimalistic with cold colors and sharpe edges. I however fund it quite enlightening. The spa area is not oversized compared by the to the sleeping facilities, but it never felt crowned during our stay. We stayed from Tuesday to Wednesday during Easter. We dinned in the hotel restaurant and the menu and food served was satisfying. The selections of expensive wines was impressive, but the low budget/ middle range assortment was clearly not prioritised. I would also like to point out that our waitress did not exactly make us feel comfortable ordering the "cheapest" wine. She clearly need some more practise in hospitality management. But let's face it one does not travel to Farris bad to eat dinner. As for the breakfast this was well assorted and excellent, however one would have preferred been guided to a table and perhaps getting fresh coffee.

The thing that I like the most about the SPA was the sauna and relaxation bath areal placed a bit down the hall from the other facilities. Just walk past the solariums. It had large windows with excellent sea view and even a stairway down to the sea. Bathing in the sea in march is surly underestimated. This was heaven.

I would gladly go back, but perhaps I would try to find a restaurant in the city centre next time. This is a far as I can see Farris Bads weakest link.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    204
    100
    32
    9
See reviews for
50
390
29
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Service, room, food, spa, bed. Top score. Good place to stay for both business and pleasure!
I want to return for pleasure next time to test more of the spa. I also appreciated the kind staff of this hotel, from reception to restaurant, smile all over.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NordFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This year, our annual seminar was held at Farris Bad. I was very taken with the adventurous architecture, and the beautiful beach-front location. The numerous artworks inside and outside the hotel were also impressive. The rooms were pleasant and the sound of waves lapping onto the beach was soothing as I drifted off to sleep.
Our group numbered approximately forty participants. Checking in and out went smoothly and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The meeting room was spacious, well equipped, and admirably suited to group work.
I myself did not visit the spa facilities, but later envied those who did, and who arrived at dinner glowing and very enthusiastic about the spa.
We had dinner in the main restaurant, in an area that was curtained off. The first course was delicious, as was the dessert. I found he main course of cod, although appropriate to the location, a little disappointing. I feel that fish is not always a good choice when serving large parties.
Breakfast and lunch were excellent - a very wide choice and ever present staff who approached with offers of assistance, those who seemed to be looking for something.

I warmly recommend Farris Bad for seminars and also for other potential guests especially couples - although I would not particularly recommend it for families with small children (the absence of whom actually contributes to the soothing atmosphere).

Room Tip: Request an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Elva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is hard to describe this hotel, you have to make the experience your self. The hotel is spacious, clean and very comfortable. The food is outstanding, and they have sushi for lunch, along with a very good selection of seafood and meat. The rooms have nice decor, and very comfortable beds, with large pillows, so you could just stay in bed and relax.

The hotel has a good selection of meeting rooms for conferences, all equipped with the necessary equipment, as projectors, pens, paper, tea and coffee.

The spa was lovely, several pools and saunas, showers and massage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Fantastic week end at Farris Bad, with spa and good food. Friday: Superior room with sea view; 3 red roses from me and a bottle of cava + handmade chocolate from the hotel. Spa products for both woman and man. Dinner on friday (3 courses; exelent!). Breakfast and 2 spa treatments on saturday; dinner ( again 3 courses), breakfast and 1 spa treatment on sunday. Check out time 15:00. Lovely week end!

Room Tip: Superior double room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearhill49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claasma, Guest Relations Manager at Farris Bad Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We just love it.

Welcome back.

Sincerely
e-Commerce Manager
Claas N. Mäder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
183 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A very relaxing atmosphere combined with a great lounge and of course a wonderful hamam-feel spa. The hotel is also beautifully intagrated into the sea. It's clean, rooms are small but beauitful - were so lucky to get an ocean view. The buffet at lunch and breakfast is nice and with lots of food,they also serve up a good three course meal. I enjoyed the stay very much and would recommend to couples and friends going for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claasma, Guest Relations Manager at Farris Bad Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the nice review of yours. We do see on your profile that you are an experienced traveler. So the review of yours is extra appriated.

Welcome back anytime.

Sincerely
e-Commerce Manager
Claas N. Mäder

----

Kjære gjest,

Takk for en riktig fin anmeldelse av oss. Vi ser at du er bereist i verden og da teller din anmeldelse ekstra mye for oss.

Velkommen tilbake.

mvh
e-Commerce Manager
Claas N. Mäder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been to Farris Bad three times now and it never fails to impress.

The spa is fantastic. It has various types of saunas and water treatments but the mineral bath is the highlight. The spa is located on the corner of the building so the views are an added bonus.

On my last visit I decided to take a massage treatment. The treatment was given to me by a fully qualified physiotherapist who was excellent.

The food is always very good. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all fantastic. Food is always of the highest quality and the staff are always helpful and informative.

In general the hotel has very high standards. Staff are excellent and the facilities in general are very high.

The icing on the cake are the excellent bar staff. All of them have great skill at concocting some quite exquisite drinks and cocktails.

This place really is worth a visit.

Room Tip: I think the sea view rooms are slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank target_blank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larvik
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
10.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Skaergaarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
20.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 6 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
8.9 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farris Bad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farris Bad Hotel

Property: Farris Bad Hotel
Address: Fritzoee Brygge 2, Larvik 3264, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farris Bad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Farris Bad in Larvik, Norway's most exclusive spa hotel for both private guests and conferences. This Spahotel has been in operation since 2009 and has a stunning beach- and ocean view. With us you will find the largest and most comprehensive spahotel in the Nordic region. In our spa area you get treatments and wonderful massages by our talented spa therapists and in our restaurant you will find cuisine made with the best local ingredients and daily fresh seafood. For the complete experience we offer spa facilities and package solutions, both single day and for the perfect weekend. Our romantic bestseller "Time for Love" includes a three course dinner, entrance to the spa, welcome drink in the room and breakfast buffet. Book a romantic weekend for two, a weekend with your best friends or play golf at the golf course nearby . All our hotel rooms are tastefully decorated and our suites were renovated in 2014. Make time for yourself and book yourself into a spa break today! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Farris Bad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farris Bad Hotel Larvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing