We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option Close to Oslo Airport”
Review of Scandic Gardermoen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gardermoen
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Gardermoen
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Option Close to Oslo Airport”
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Another very good Norwegian hotel. We stayed for one night before flying out at the end of our trip. This hotel is very convenient for people using the airport. We cancelled our stay at the Norlandia after reading reviews and booked the Rica instead. We ended up paying about $25 less and, based on the reviews, feel we made the right choice.

Pros:
- 10 minute shuttle ride from the airport (platform B25, 50Kr per person) The shuttle comes every 1/2 hour.
- Beds were clean and comfortable. Not too hard like many hotels we have stayed at.
- Adjustable shower heads which are great for tall people
- Breakfast was basic but good. Less choices than at other hotels but enough to start your day and they had a hot option (sunny side up eggs)
- On site restaurant open at meal times (We only had the free breakfast here though)
- Shares a parking lot with McDonalds and a very decent gas station market if you are hungry during times that their restaurant isn't open
- They have a minibar refrigerator which is great for keeping drinks cold

Here are some things to consider when choosing this hotel:
- They have no computer for you to use, but they do have Internet access if you bring your own computer
- They advertised room service but it is not full room service. I would call it snack room service.
- As mentioned above, the restaurant isn't open all day and there are no full service restaurants near by (only fast food equivalents)
- You must place your key in the master switch to get the lights and outlets to work in your room. Since you must take your key with you when you leave anyone wanting to charge batteries can only do it when you are in the room and you can't do it overnight unless you want some lights on while you sleep. The hotel may have a solution to this issue, but we didn't check with them. So, this is just a friendly heads up.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EDH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    121
    111
    43
    25
See reviews for
59
85
43
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, NH
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Stayed here June 24 - 25, 2007. Had an early morning flight out of Oslo airport, and were finishing up a week's vacation in Norway, and needed an airport hotel, since airport ~ 30 miles north or Oslo.

We arrived at airport via train from Trondheim, and then found hotel shuttle bus out to hotel (50 NOK/person). Rooms were good, front desk personnel were above average, bar OK, dining was superb - great dinner buffet. All in all, if you've got to stay at the airport, this is a good place. Next morning, shuttle bus started at 4:30 AM, every 15 minutes to airport, very convenient.

  • Liked — Location near airport and frequent shuttle buses to airport
  • Disliked — Stuck at airport area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NH_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapinsay Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Located just 10 minutes drive from Gardermoen Airport the Rica has good value rooms with temperature control. The room facilities are all you would expect and the lack of a bath is compensated for by a double size shower. The shuttle bus to the hotel stops at 2355 which was annoying for us as the delayed internal Brathens flight down from Kirkenes got us there too late and a taxi cost 250 Kroner. Check in staff were amenable and breakfast the next morning was a good selection of fresh fruit, and an expansive buffet. Shuttle buses during the day run every half hour.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Disliked — shuttle bus not 24 hours
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viking59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2006

A good purposeful hotel located a short distance from Oslo Airport. Rooms were small but well appointed and comfortable and very good value for money. There was no view apart from a carpark. The room also had a ventilation duct which kept the temperature comfortable. The curtains were a bit thin and stretched but the room was not as noisy as we feared it might be. The bathroom was small but had everything you would want apart from a bath. The entry cards were awkward to get used to.
The staff were flexible and even prepared a packed breakfast for a 4.30am departure which was impressive. A shuttle bus ran at regular intervals to the airport from the front door of the hotel.

  • Liked — Convenient location and good facilities
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Reception staff OK, but the waiters at this establishment are the rudest I have ever encountered. Food pretty poor too. A dull hotel in dreary surroundings - proximity to the airport only reason for staying.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank southparadepier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2005

The hotel is located about 10 minutes drive from the airport. It is primary a hotel for business travels and if you need a place to stay near the airport. In the nearby area there is absolutely nothing exciting to do. The rooms are nice and clean. We found the staff a little bit disobedient. There’s a airport bus regular transporting up gests from the hotel to the airport. The worst thing about the hotel is that the doors to the room are badly isolated so if there is someone passing bye in the hall you can be sure to hear them, very annoying if you want to sleep!

Helpful?
2 Thank Sprinkle_Nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardermoen hotels
3.5 mi away
Scandic Oslo Airport
Scandic Oslo Airport
#5 of 14 in Gardermoen
658 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel RunWay
Comfort Hotel RunWay
#1 of 14 in Gardermoen
1,110 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Oslo Airport Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo Airport, Gardermoen Hotel
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen
3.4 mi away
Gardermoen Airport Hotel
Gardermoen Airport Hotel
#9 of 14 in Gardermoen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gardermoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gardermoen

Property: Scandic Gardermoen
Address: Jessheimvegen 467, Gardermoen 2060, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Gardermoens)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Gardermoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Gardermoen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Gardermoen is a central, practical, sensible meeting place. It is only 7 minutes from the airport by car or bus, easily accessible from the E6 motorway.For our staying guests and conference guests the hotel offers free parking outside the hotel. There is a shuttle bus which goes to and from the airport ( children under the age of 16 years is free ). Scandic Gardermoen is a full-service hotel, which has taken into account the need for comfort sought after both by families with children and business travellers.The brightly decorated rooms at Scandic Gardermoen have private bathrooms with a shower. All with flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, work desk and trouser press. Guests can work out in the gym. Meals are available at the hotel restaurant, which has an open fireplace. Drinks are available in the bar, with both indoor and outdoor seating. Oslo city centre is a 35-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gardermoen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardermoen Rica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing