We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not far from airport but very quiet and pleasant”
Review of Scandic Gardermoen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gardermoen
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Gardermoen
Reviewed May 19, 2014

stayed here twice with my job very pleasant hotel not far from airport 2 minutes but no aircraft noise there is a MacDonald next door if you need it , rooms very clean staff very helpful no bar you have to ask at reception if you need a drink kept in chillers below reception but no problems , breakfast typical Norse very good though. nothing around it but industry but very quiet and relaxing . bed very com fee all amenities in rooms

Room Tip: any room at this hotel it very clean as you would expect been Norway no faults what so ever
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Gardermoen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is an low budget hotel close to the Gardermoen Airport (I paid 72 punds for a night). As most low budget Hotels it is no luxury, but clean and nice. I lived on the ground floor and feared noise from the MacDonald vis a vis, but it was not too bad.

I have never understood why people sometimes complain about the breakfast in Norwegian Hotels. You are always served both English and Continental breakfast and you have plenty to choose among.

The service at the breakfast was suberb.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are fronting an McDonalds, can be a bit noisy. Ask for the other side of the Hotel...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotballitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotel, Front Office Manager at Scandic Gardermoen, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I am glad you had a nice stay at our hotel, I agree with the rooms towards McDonalds. It is a good idea to ask for a room facing back when you check in, we will try to comply with your request as far as possible.

In our restaurant you can enjoy every morning from 04:00 a delicious and energetic breakfast composed in collaboration with Olympiatoppen.

I welcome you back at our hotel Rica Hotel Gardermoen!

Siv Jonassen
Front Office & Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hi to every traveler that looking to stay near Gardemoen Airport in Oslo! I was in Oslo just for a night and i would like to tell you about the worse hotel I ever stayed in! I am living in Spain in the city of the hotels, Benidorm. I have plenty friends that own hotels and worked there most of their life and I never heard of anything like this! When I arrived at the most boring and looking very cheap wouldn't call it a hotel, maybe a hostal i got to the reception to pay first and the woman that worked there was very nice and because of my card been to worn out for a reason ( i think) that I love shopping to much and trying not to carry a cash with me all the time for reason of living in Benidorm, I propose to the receptionist that I give her a cash that I will need later and when I settled down in a room I get another card for her so she can charge me then, she agreed to that, it's was very nice thing to do because I was so tired of the traveling, i had to be at Alicante airport at 5 am, then 4 hour flight and every thing else, i just wanted to take my heels off and wear something more comfortable.
While I was getting a change, checking a room, by the way, the room it's very low standard. The receptionists are changed the shifts and my boy friend went to the reception and ask this big blond lady if we can have our cash back and that we will pay her ammidiatly with the bank card as I agree with another women that was working earlier. The answer was very strong NO and that I had to come back in the morning for her to charge me on the card. I have to leave the hostal at about 6am and the last thing i want to do its to deal with all that That early. get ready, get dressed and get out! After that I felt robbed, honestly to say! We left more cash then the room costed, just to be nice! I know that she have not got any right to hold my money. I am the costumer and I know that is my choice if I want to pay with the a card or a cash. This women was very rood and if i was the owner of this place i would think twice if i want to employ her, her behavior make the hotel loose clients . I'm Russian nationality and I expect the service to be done properly. I stayed in many hotels around the world and never experiend nothing like this! So the point of all of this: BE CAREFULL in RICA HOTEL Gardemoen. And another thing if you are smoker it's no balconys or any thing so every time you want your friend a ciggarette you have to forget about that one. Nothing to do in the area, nothing to do in the hotel and the restaurant which again I wouldn't call a restaurant that more looks like a cafe opens at 6 pm. No lunch, but it's not a problem because you always can get your healthy meal at McDonalds, right next to the hostal, and I mean it's no more then 30 metter from the hostal and 24 hours, and you get the cars driving all the time, feels like they drive it through your room! Thanks for reading and if your are still decided to stay here really good luck to you and make sure that the things I experience, won't happend to you! It's never again from us!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vera G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotel, General Manager at Scandic Gardermoen, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello Vera G.

I m so sad that you got this experience at our hotel. It s a company policy that we need a credit card for authorization and payment of the room, before we rent it out. We can also have a cash deposit if the guest don´t have a card. The hotel whit staff and me are wery sorry that you didn`t like how our hotel looks, and your feedback will be presented too the owners of the hotel.

The staff of Rica Hotel Gardermoen will use your feed back, to get better in our daily work here at the hotel. We thank you for your feedback that`s the only way, that we can do better, and to get more satisfied guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

If you need somewhere to sleep close to the airport, Rica Hotel Gardemoen is NOT the place you want to stay. Rooms are allright, but it seriously needs an update. And there is nothing to do in this area if your not a huge fan of Mcdonalds. My experience with the service is bad, but that is only one persons fault. The one that checked us in was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKommedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotel, Manager at Scandic Gardermoen, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Dear SKommedal,

I am sad to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

I do hope you would consider to stay with us in the future, If you do so please contact me directly and I will do my very best to ensure you will have a pleasant stay.

Best regards,

Joel Andersson
joel.andersson@rica.no
Conference Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is a popular conference hotel near the airport. Convenient if you need to stay overnight for an early flight. However be warned: There is absolutely nothing to do at this place, so minimize the time you spend here. The hotel is located in an intersection, and not even a walk in nice surroundings seems possible. Also you will not want to eat here. They cater to large groups of conference pariticipants and the food tastes really bland.
The rooms are okay, could do with some renovation. Those of them which faces the parking area near the reception should be avoided - noise from people who go outside to smoke - some of them in party mood with loud voices.
A few minutes to the airport with shuttle S22. Ticket Nok 70 can be bought at the bus

Room Tip: The rooms which faces the parking area near the reception should be avoided - You will need to have...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a very good airport hotel. The rooms are quite ok and needs upgrades but still very nice. Good beds with big pillows. The restaurant is very good and the service is excellent. The shuttle take you to the airport or the train station in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotel, Front Office Manager at Scandic Gardermoen, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello Jørgen!

Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay and a good night sleep in our hotel! All our beds were new in 2013, Rica Hotels is committed to do our best to make you sleep well with us. We are now offering a pillow menu in all our rooms. With five different pillow options we want you to choose the pillow that fits you best.

I welcome you back to our hotel the next time you are visiting Gardermoen!

Best regards
Siv Jonassen
Front Office & Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was literally in Oslo overnight so decided to stay close to the airport. The airport shuttle bus runs every 30 mins and this hotel is one of its stops. I booked online direct with the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. Staff explained the services available. Breakfast was excellent, so many choices both hot and cold. Very impressed. The room was comfortable, love the heated floor in the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. Maybe ask for a room on the top floor as I could hear people walking around upstairs, but for one night, it was not an issue. On checkout, I was offered the opportunity to buy my shuttle bus ticket from the hotel and charge it to my bill, very convenient. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redjazz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicaHotel, Front Office Manager at Scandic Gardermoen, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your review, that is of great value for us and for future travelers! I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay, a good night sleep and good breakfast at our hotel!

As a comment the shutlebus is driving every 15 minute weekdays and every 30 minutes weekend. Please have a look at the schedule:

http://www.nettbuss.no/rutetilbud/flybuss/shuttle-gardermoen-osl#close

I welcome you back to our hotel!

Best regards
Siv Jonassen
Front Office and Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gardermoen hotels
3.5 mi away
Scandic Oslo Airport
Scandic Oslo Airport
#4 of 14 in Gardermoen
689 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel RunWay
Comfort Hotel RunWay
#1 of 14 in Gardermoen
1,136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Oslo Airport Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo Airport, Gardermoen Hotel
3.4 mi away
Gardermoen Airport Hotel
Gardermoen Airport Hotel
#8 of 14 in Gardermoen
322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gardermoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gardermoen

Address: Jessheimvegen 467, Gardermoen 2060, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Gardermoens)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Gardermoen
Price Range: $84 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Gardermoen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Gardermoen is a central, practical, sensible meeting place. It is only 7 minutes from the airport by car or bus, easily accessible from the E6 motorway.For our staying guests and conference guests the hotel offers free parking outside the hotel. There is a shuttle bus which goes to and from the airport ( children under the age of 16 years is free ). Scandic Gardermoen is a full-service hotel, which has taken into account the need for comfort sought after both by families with children and business travellers.The brightly decorated rooms at Scandic Gardermoen have private bathrooms with a shower. All with flat-screen TVs, free Wi-Fi, work desk and trouser press. Guests can work out in the gym. Meals are available at the hotel restaurant, which has an open fireplace. Drinks are available in the bar, with both indoor and outdoor seating. Oslo city centre is a 35-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gardermoen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardermoen Rica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing