We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next to train station, expensive but considered reasonable for an expensive town like geilo.”
Review of Ro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ro Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“next to train station, expensive but considered reasonable for an expensive town like geilo.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

we booked this hotel as a stopover for a night instead of taking a 6 to 7hour train ride to oslo. The hotel right next to the rail station. Our room was facing the ski mountains instead of the track. There were only 3 rooms occupied. We can still hear a slight noise but it was ok. The hotel is quite clean although there were dusts on some areas that were not used. Doesnt bother us since we only stayed a night. The guy who maintain the counter was really nice. Breakfast was included in the price and had some spreads of hams, cheeses, juices, cereals and bread. There is a bakery next to it and coop supermarket just opposite to the left. Generally ok. Just a little pricey for something not worth as much.by the way there is no lifts in this old building and rooms are from level 3 to 5.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We arrived here in the rain and heard about the Oslo bombings as we walked in the door so our feelings about the hotel were probably influenced by this. The host was charming and the room was spotless but the hotel was spartan at best and very tired looking. A most depressing place given the circumstances. This wasn't helped by a terrible dinner - the one option was meatballs and the other diners were as depressing as the setting. Breakfast was much better. Although it was adequate, we would probably choose to pay a bit more for another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Ro Hotel is special: central but quiet location, close to all attractions, great and easy-access ski resort, good rooms, wonderful three-course-dinner included in the Ro Kro and a make-your-own-sandwich option for lunch. If you want a great stay and do not want to spend a fortune this is an excellent and cozy choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MunichMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kismetkate
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

small family run hotel, clean bright rooms, nice view of slopes , warm with good showers. generous hearty home cooked food, excellent value. its on the train line but we hardly noticed noise. i would recommend this as value for money

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kismetkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The entrance is not very inspiring but the hotel is nice and the common areas such as the restaurant and cafeteria are cozy.
Room are small but clean and well mantained. Good mattresses.
The dinner was included in the price (very reasonable for geilo) and was delicious and very genuine.
Even the fruit salad was freshly cut.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed nearly a week in skiing high-season and got a very good deal. As other reviewers have mentioned, the make-your-own packed lunch option is fine- you make sandwiches using the ingredients on the breakfast buffet, and breakfast is very generous and tasty. Dinner in the dining room was very pleasant, relaxing (there is a log-effect fire) and the quality of the food very good. Note there are no options for the evening meal, you get what is on offer (although the very kind waiter always allowed our son to choose an ice-cream from the fridge instead of the scheduled dessert :-)) The rooms were comfortable, pleasantly decorated if simple, and our son loved the bunk arrangement- his bed was a pull-down bunk over the top of our double, which was fine. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was fine, serviceable, clean and shower was nice and hot! Perfect after the cold outdoors.
The train noise, as noted previously, was not an issue; I heard one pass the first night then ceased to notice it, and I am a light sleeper.
All the rooms seemed quite well soundproofed as we did not hear noise from any other guests (perhaps as everyone was fast asleep after a day out in the snow??)
The owner was pleasant if unexpansive; all in all for the price we were very pleasantly surprised, and found it convenient for the town and skiing. It is even possible to walk across the frozen lake in winter to get to the main Geilolia ski station from the hotel (takes about 20 mins walking along a path on the lake). Would have no reservations about recommending this as a simple, inexpensive option in Geilo.

  • Liked — Nice views, hearty food, packed lunches, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I agree with all previous posters, that this is a charming hotel just beside the train station, inexpensive, clean and quiet. Not very good if you have to carry heavy bags as there is no lift.

There is a very good restaurant across the road from the hotel, you can't miss it. The ever so serious waiter recommended the reindeer fillet on account that it was 'excellent', feeling slightly nervous I ordered it and he was correct!

Stay in Geilo for a quick pit stop in summer or skiing in winter, a small town, charming and relaxing.

  • Liked — Good value and good restaurant opposite
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Baby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geilo hotels
0.2 mi away
Geilo Hotel
Geilo Hotel
#3 of 13 in Geilo
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#5 of 13 in Geilo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#6 of 13 in Geilo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ro Hotel

Property: Ro Hotel
Address: Geilovegen 55-57, Geilo 3581, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ro Hotel Geilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing