We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highland Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$143
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ro Hotel(Geilo)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
33
42
30
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
42
30
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelfamily roombakeryjacuzzilibraryinterior
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 133 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Not a bad hotel but the rooms could have been better, a little more aesthetically pleasing. The view of unending greenery from the room was very pleasing. Supermarket around the corner is an added plus!

Cons
Be prepared to carry your luggage down a narrow spiral staircase if you're put up in the basement rooms.
Dint care much for the 3 course meal.

Stayed in June 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neha_Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having read other reviews, I was expecting a little of this and a little of that. At least the location everyone seems to agree is very good.

What I can't understand is that some were not happy with the 3 course fixed dinner. It was absolutely fabulous! Local food like, the fish and the meat, berries etc. We loved it! Dinner service too was top. I think uor waiter was Polish og maybe Lithuanian, great guy.

Breakfast was so and so. A bit messy, cold interior, not a lot to choose from, ran out of stuff. It gave you a feel of being in a cafe in the ski slope and not in the breakfast restaurant in a decent hotel.

The huge bar area, with huge chairs and sofas, fireplace, gigantic tv was very nice. we spend a lot of time there, reading, playing cards enjoying the view. Good drinks in the bar, but quite pricey.

Our room was newly renovated, but the cleaning was not good. In addition 3 of the lamps didn't function, the phone didn't work and a few other things. It was on the ground floor without any view what so ever. Comfy beds.

To wrap it up - mostly we were happy. The service was good all over. Some details could improve, but we would not hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. 3 friends sharing a suite. Room was fine for our requirements but the amazing part of our stay was the quality of our set three course dinner each night. Each course produced by the Latvian chef was a delight both on the eyes and the pallet. In addition the waiters and reception staff were charming - always helpful and obliging. Amazingly our bill ended up at just over £100 per person per night which included half board and a bottle of wine each night. The public areas - particularly the lounge and reception area are really nicely furnished with lots of lovely seating areas to relax in. The only negative point I would make is that the tiles in the beautiful pool and hot tub area were extremely slippery when wet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A hotel with lovely design and central location. Something unfinished in the rooms, but the staff was quick to fix up the deficiencies. It goes free skibus from the hotel. It could have been a little bigger selection for breakfast, but it tasted good. The food in the restaurant tasted great! Bathingresort was also good. Excellent for those with small children. I will come back to this Hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gøril B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for a week in association with a yearly trip to Geilo which my company arranges.
Unortunatley it did not live up to its name.

When first entering the reception area it gives a feeling of luxury. The hotel reception area looks rather nice and so does the bar area, it has obviously been put a lot of money into this, in order to make it stylish and modern.

Unfortunatley this is just a fasade, the hotel prentends to be something it is not. It seems like a top class hotel, but unfortunatley they are far from it. The reason for this is the unwelcoming staff (they seemed often cranky/tired of their job). The food was terrible, way off standard. The stake's was overcooked (and ruined), the fish was destroyed and the choclate mousse was turned into choclate sauce...unfortunatley the breakast was not even close to match the impression the hotel puts on.

The rooms is average, and quite okay. Anyways, this is not the place you will be spending the most amount of time.

A final tip would be; It is now use spending a lot of money on appereance when the kitchen and the staff is far away from matching it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews