We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Strand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gjovik
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had an overnight stay at this hotel and was really pleased with the service from checking to visiting the spa to checking out. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean as was all the communal areas at the hotel. All staff were very friendly especially the guy on reception when we checked in late on Friday evening. The only slight down side to this visit if you can call it a down side is that the staff who were clearing the tables at breakfast time were a little slow at keeping all the tables clear but I have to say in their defence the hotel was extremely busy. Even though the hotel was so busy all the staff were very friendly and pleasant from the kitchen staff who kept the food topped up at all times (the food was excellent by the way) to the reception staff. My husband and I will definitely be staying at the hotel again when we are next in Gjovik and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Gail,

Thank you for your lovely comments and remarks. We really appreciate you taking the time to write these lines about your stay with us.

We hope that your travels back to UK went smoothly, and want to welcome you back later.

Best regards,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 378 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in central Gjovik, which isn't hard, but it was nice with great facilities, including sauna, spa, gym, cinema and food options. Staff were friendly and mostly helpful, considering the amount of people staying at the time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good for room, they hotel join with cinema, so little bit crowded in loby if afternoon.. becareful with your belonging.. the breakfast is average..not many choice.. location near the bus station.. nothing to do if you plan for holiday..better go to lillehamer more interesting.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bagus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Bagus S,

Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you think that there are nothing to do in our little town. There are several sights that might be interesting, I hope that you tried to talk either to the reception, or the touristoffice. What do you like on a breakfast buffét?

Best regards,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The first desk agent we had was not helpful at all she seemed more interested in pushing us along. I decided it was too close to her time to leave. The rooms were okay not great the priice for the rooms was okay not great. The area was great. The extreme down side is no parking available at the hotel. Seemed odd that we had to pay for parking at the municiple lot across the street each day. 140 NOK and had to remember to pay and display each day. Most quality hotels either have parking attached or available or validate parking. It seemed strange and uninviting to me being from the USA and the fact that Norway HAS plenty of space for parking that parking would not be included with the hotel pricing. The lack of free parking is not mentioned at all on the web site you only find out when you get there so if you had budgeted your vacation closely and you had stayed 7 days you would need to have an extra 980 NOK available or around 200 extra US dollars. Other than that The people were nice and 5 STARS to the TOURIST office they really made our vacation special.

Room Tip: Not above restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Scott,

Thanks for your review. Sorry that the front office did not welcom you the correct manner nor informed you about the free parking just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We got three parking options and they should inform about them all. I will forward your compliments of the tourist office.

Best regards,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the place to be in Gjovik. Not a lot happens in Gjovik, generally speaking, but if you want some life, you will find some here. That is not to say that this is a noisy place, far from it, but there are lots of things to do and it is very conveniently placed for the town of Gjovik if you seek more.

The hotel is only a short walk from the train station, is modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast restaurant is very good, and is very much a 'help yourself' affair. You seat yourself and you serve yourself. The steakhouse restaurant that is kind of attached was very nice. We tried the pizza buffet at the nearby pizza place to save money - not recommended.

The room was comfortable, stylish and mostly clean, but there were a few stains on some of the furniture and curtains. The bed was clean however, and very beautifully designed with mood lighting.

We used the spa and found it very relaxing. Make sure you book your spa experience through the hotel reception as the spa is a separate business and is not included in the price of the hotel stay - by booking through the reception you get a big discount.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tween31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for a great review, we are really happy that you had a great stay. Hope to see you back :)

Best regards,
Ådne Skurdal
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here during a conference, and it was a good experience. Rooms were big, and had nice decor, and huge beds. Everything was very clean.

The conference facilities was also good, bright rooms, equipped with projectors and comfortable chairs. I also appreciated that i could eat as much ice cream as i wanted during breaks.

The restaurant had very good food, and is recommended.

The hotel also has a spa, but I did not visit, but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here as it was the only hotel in the area which came up when I tried to book online from the UK.
The Hotel is modern and has a Spa which I never used,it also has a cinema complex attached to it.The room I had overlooked the river which was quite noisy as there was a thaw in the weather at the time of my visit.The rooms are spacious and comfortable with all you need for a pleasant stay.There is a restaurant/steakhouse connected to the hotel with along with a pizzeria,so it caters for most tastes.
The breakfast was well presented and offered a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjovik
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
12.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
10.7 mi away
Honne Hotell og Konferansesenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
12.8 mi away
Scandic Ringsaker
Scandic Ringsaker
#1 of 1 in Furnes
210 reviews
23.5 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Address: Strandgata 15 | Entrance elvegt, Gjovik 2815, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Gjovik Municipality > Gjovik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gjovik
Price Range: $157 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing