We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faberg
Certificate of Excellence
Lillehammer, Norway
1 review
“Fun with cabins”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had excellent time here, because every day you can have a new cabin:) move in and then the next day they call you and you can move to another cabin:) fun, fun, fun:)
(its something to do ith bad booking program they are using, answer was like that)

But at least we got free dinner and breakfest:)

and you can change your bed sheets every time, when you move around:)

And no wifi in area, only in hotel reception:( its sad because we were working near and after the day just relax and use internet but its not possible in cabins;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meelis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, General Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Meelis89,
thank you for your comments following your recent visit to our Resort. Once again we will apologize for having to move you during your stay with us. This was far from ideal and it was very unfortunate that this did happen. We are gratful that you take it with such great humour and that the goodwill gesture of a complimentary dinner and breakfast in our restaurant was well received.

Our Resort is spread out over a large area and up until now we have not been able to offer WiFi in any of our cabins. I am delighted to tell you that we in the very near future is upgrading our systems and will then be able to offer WiFi in the hotel and in our cabins.

We do hope you will have an opportunity to visit again and that the next visit will be more relaxing with less moves.

Kind regards,

Bent Cato Danielsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    207
    85
    28
    13
See reviews for
377
46
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I took a weekend trip with my family of five to experience the magic of Hundefossen Vinterparken. We were very happy with the location and facilities of the hotel, and all of us loved the experience! We have already recommended the stay to families that we know. We are planning a stay in the summer to experience Hundefossen familiepark in another season :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrzej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, General Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Andrzej,
Thank you for your very kind words and for your recommendations! It is always nice to hear the team have managed to create such a great visit for our guests.

We have received great comments on the Winter Park and the visitor experience at our resort, and we are gratful that you have taken the time to give us such nice feedback!

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future and we will work extra hard to try to live up to your expectations yet again.

Kind regards,

Bent Cato Danielsen
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We used Hunderfossen resort during a skiing weekend in the nearby Hafjell skiing resort.
The shuttlebus arrangement worked perfectly, the cabin was in good condition, with a fireplace, and over all i can recommend Hunderfossen as a very good place to stay when visiting the Øyer/Hunderfossen/Hafjell area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asbjørn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, General Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Asbjørn,
thank you for your kind words following you and your friends visit to Hunderfossen. We are delighted to see that it was an enjoyable stay and that your skiing holiday was a success!

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back to our resort in the near future!

Kind regards,

Bent Cato Danielsen
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I would highly recommend a stay at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort. The service at the hotel was excellent and made our trip to Hunderfossen a great memory for both kids, parents and grandparents.
This was our 4th stay here, and we're definetely coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, General Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Linda,
thank you so much for your kind words following your recent visit to our resort here at Hunderfossen! We are of course delighted to see that we once again managed to live up to your expectations.

We are looking forward to offer a warm welcome to kids, parents and grandparents on your next visit to our resort.

Kind regards,

Bent Cato Danielsen
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Booked a hut for two persons for the weekend. The hut was spacious and everything worked. The cleaning and maintenance however was terrible. All windows and the bathroom was ridden with black mold. The cutlery and kitchenware was filthy and had to be cleaned before use, and there were a chunk of gum on the bed post (everybody have to pay mandatory cleaning, 320,- NOK). We went back from our weekend, both with headache and stuffed nose, typical problem when you have mold around you apparently. Regret that we didn't complain to the staff...

Room Tip: Check if there is mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Steffen H,
thank you for your review and let me offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations nor our standards. The cabin should not be presented to you in the way you described and this is a clear breach on our standards. It is sad to see that you did not report this during your stay since we could have rectified this or moved you to another cabin. Please contact me directly via telephone or email (hotell@hunderfossen.no) so we can come to an arrangement to regain your trust in us as a resort.

Once again, our sincere apologies. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future to create some more lasting and positive memories.

Kind regards,

Bent C Danielsen
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Except for the location (walking distance to the amusement park), there's really not much positive about this resort. The standard is low, the prices are blood sucking, the restaurant is expensive, and you have trains running right outside your window, making noise all night long. The room felt dirty, and the towels smelled. Unless the location is the only thing that matters to you, this hotel can not be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilsga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, General Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear "nilsga",
thank you for taking the time reviewing us following your stay with us. We are of course sad to see that you did not get the same positive experience that the big majority of our guests who visits us gets.

We do frequently compare our prices with similar resorts in the region and nationally, to ensure that our prices remains competitive. Evening meals starts from Kr 85 on our "Småretter" menu and goes up to our main offering, our evening buffet.

Hunderfossen have the advantage of offering our own trainstation on the Resort something that makes travelling here very easy if you choose this mode of transportation. How ever, in a very quiet setting this can of course be intrusive the few times a train is passing, especially if you are a light sleeper.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Resort in the future and on that occassion we might be able to create more lasting and positive memories of Hunderfossen.

Have a continued great summer!

Kind regards,

BC Danielsen
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this exceptionally child-friendly hotel. Our goal for the trip was (as I assume is the case for most of the guests here) a couple of days in Hunderfossen Familiepark. The hotel organizes activities for the kids every day; games, painting classes, disco and film screening.

There’s also a “swan sea” with paddle boats and a mini golf course at the hotel premises. It’s just a short walk from the family park and an even shorter one from “Barnas Gård”, which has lots of different animals for the children to feed and pet. The hotel is also just a couple of minutes’ walk from the Hunderfossen train stop, so it’s easily accessible even if you travel without a car.

The included breakfast is a nice buffet, bonus points from the kids for including pan cakes in the breakfast as well as the dinner buffet. The dinner buffet had most of the classics and some child friendly extras. Even picky eaters will find something to enjoy here. All though the quality of the food is all right, I think it was a tad pricey.

We stayed in a family room which was just about big enough. The room was nice and clean, but a bit worn down. Definitely not classy og high-end, but it has a rustic charm to it. Nice enough to stay a couple of nights with the kids, but not the place you go if you’re trying to impress the girl of your dreams. Come to think of it, if you even consider this hotel as a good place to court a lady you’re either A) in over your head og B) exceptionally family-oriented. In case of B): I hope your chosen woman is as well. If not, see A).

And returning the point: Hunderfossen Hotel & Resort is a good choice when you’re travelling with children (and in my opinion a bad choice if you’re not). Our stay was pleasant and the kids were happy. And when they’re happy – so are we!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Hunderfossen, General Manager at Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear "Stian T",
thank you for taking the time to review us after you recent stay with us. We are of course delighted to see that you and your familiy had a pleasant stay with us.

You are right, during the summer we do go into overdrive in creating an enjoyable and playful experience for the kids especially, and during this time of the year our customers are mainly families with children. During other times of the year we focus on other areas and try to create an atmosphere with experiences for other market groups. You can say that we create experiences for kids at all ages in and around the Resort, using the environment we are in offering skiing, bobsleigh, biking, climbing, conferences, family events, snow hotel, ice cathedral and weddings and much, much more.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, with or without the little ones. In the mean time, thank you once again for your kind words and have a great summer!

Kind regards,

BC Danielsen
Hotelldirektør
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faberg
7.2 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
280 reviews
7.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
7.3 mi away
HI Lillehammer -Stasjonen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Meetingpoint Hafjell Hotel & Resort
Meetingpoint Hafjell Hotel & Res...
#1 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
421 reviews
7.2 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
293 reviews
7.0 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort

Property: Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Address: Fossekrovegen 71, Faberg, Lillehammer 2625, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer > Faberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just north of Lillehammer, close to the mountain and Hafjell Ski Resort you will find the beautiful and adventurous Hunderfossen. In natural and calm surroundings you will find activities and experiences - an adventure in the summertime as well as in wintertime. The hotel is situated only 400 m from Hunderfossen Family park and Winter park, 14 km from Lillehammer and 3 km from Hafjell.The hotel has 40 rooms and is characterized by a pleasant atmosphere and old tradition, representing the best of local building culture. The rooms are tastefully decorated, and you can also order practical family rooms and disabled rooms. All rooms offers WiFi, en-suite shower and wc, TV and minibar. At the hotel you will find a cosy lobby with fireplace, bar and restaurant. Situated in the midst of great outdoor recreational facilities, it is good to know that you can relax in our sauna after a busy day outside. The resort also offers self catering cabins and apartments with the additional benefit of the close proximity to the hotel and the services offered there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort Norway/Faberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing