We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday in Amblegaard !”
Review of Amblegaard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sogndal Municipality
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amblegaard
Haifa, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday in Amblegaard !”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I have spent a wonderful week at Amblegaard in Mid June 2014 ! Hestehagen, the smallest of the farm cottages was an excellent lodge with rustic character and fabulous views over the Amla bay and further toward Sognefjord ! It was a great location, less than an hour drive to several attractions, enabling us drive one day on Aurlandsvegen (the "snow road"), to reach the view point Stegastein overlooking the Aurland fjord and then have for a couple of afternoon hours the world heritage cruise on the Naeroyfjorden from Gudvangen to Flam. For another day we had a magnificent experience of guided walk - 2 hours - on the glacier at Nigardsbreen, a third day drive on the romantic road along the southern shore of beautiful Luterfjord (Ornes to Skjolden) and on a fourth day visit to another beautiful fjord, Fjaerlandfjorden and to the book town at Mundal ! We've spent very nice time at Kaupanger, the town adjacent to Amblegaard, visiting its famous stave church, having pleasant walks along Amla bay and on the hills overlooking it and sitting in Knaken Cafe near the church having one of their tasty dishes! We had our grocery shopping made in a big supermarket in Kaupanger, less than 3 km drive from the farm. Whatever the program we had, it was great to get back, each afternoon, to Hestehagen, have our dinner with its magical views and relax with a glass of beer or wine !
In addition to all these remarks, Mette was an excellent hostess, always with smile and good will. When we mentioned that the bedroom was not enough dark at night (mid June nights) she was so kind to solve the problem on the next day by setting rolling black curtains ! We would like to spend more time at this wonderful place and hope to do so one day! For those who are planning to enjoy Fjord Norway it is most recommended !

Room Tip: Hestehagen cottage is perfect for couples or even small families (up to 4), secluded on the one hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basheer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have just returned from a great trip to Amblegaard. We stayed in one of the lovely houses for a week. The location is absolutely stunning and we loved spending the nights enjoying a glass of wine on our terrace. My husband had a great time on the fjord with the kayaks. We enjoyed eating the fresh eggs and lettuces from the farm each day with our meals. We had an amazing stay, the owners couldn't have been more helpful. It was a great place to recharge and serve as a base for our travels to Flåm and Jostedalsbreen but what we enjoyed most was exploring the little area around the house.

Room Tip: All of the houses have amazing views and the area is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our Australian family of five stayed in the cottage called Svalestova for one week in June 2013 and it was fabulous. Simple, comfortable, clean, very well equipped accommodation in a stunning location, run by friendly people. It is extremely well located. There is so much wonderful hiking, driving and boating to be done in the area, a lovely cafe near the stave church and a historic folk museum nearby that is really interesting for children. We would come back in a heartbeat and wished we'd stayed for longer. We had to go to the woodshed to access wifi, but the owners knew this was an issue and told us they would soon provide it to each cottage. There is no clothes dryer or microwave. We highly recommend Amblegaard at Kaupanger.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusannahT2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at Amble last winter with a couple of friends. The house we stayed in was both cosy and well-furnished. Large living room, high quality bath room and nice beds. The kitchen was supplied with more or less everything we needed. The furniture was antique in a positive meaning!

The scenery is astonishing. The view is fantastic and the tranquility a blessing. The Sogndal area must be considered as a hidden gem for nature lovers. Really great stay at the beautiful Amble farm!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuffBeer6pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sogndal Municipality
6.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#3 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
313 reviews
23.4 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
6.5 mi away
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
801 reviews
13.9 mi away
Torvis Hotel
Torvis Hotel
#49 of 54 in Sogn og Fjordane
17 reviews
8.6 mi away
Laerdal Hotel
Laerdal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Laerdal Municipality
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amblegaard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amblegaard

Property: Amblegaard
Address: Oevre Amla 14, 6854, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Sogndal Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can choose between 7 different and traditional houses/ cottages on our farm. All houses lay freely in the nature, without near neighbours. There is beautiful view from all of them to the Sognefjord, glacier and mountains. The houses are all restored during the last years. They are comfortably furnished with a mix of Norwegian farm antiques and new furniture. The houses have beds for 4 – 12 persons.As our guests you are free to use the “glories” of the farm: There are boats laying by our quay in the Sognefjord. On the estate there are lakes, where you can catch trout. As our guest you do not have to pay fishing licence. By one of the lakes is our old mountain farm, which is at your disposal. 40 kilometres of private forestry roads bring you up to 600 metres height over the Sognefjord, with beautiful view and huge hiking areas.We usually rent out the houses for at least one week, but shorter stays are possible on request. The prices depend on which part of the year you want to stay here, and which house you choose. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amblegaard Norway/Western Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing