We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed only one night and honestly have no complaints. The hotel is clean, reception was warm and helpful. The room was a typical Quality Hotel chain room and fine for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was plentiful and satisfying served in a large quiet room to wake up with a god cup of coffee. Overall we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2TravelingTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Sogndal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 324 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Clean, quiet rooms with good sleep quality. Friendly and informative reception staff. A big drawback was the inflexibility of the restaurant service. I traveled with a large group (ap. 60 - 70 people) who were working unto 21:30 in the evening, making it back to the hotel by 22:10 - 22:20. The Italian restaurant on the premises, the "Pergola", still chose to rigidly follow their own times of service, closing the kitchen for a la carte service at 22:00 sharp, and for pizza service at 22:30. Thus many in our group living in the hotel of which the restaurant use the premises of did not make final order. AND the restaurant owners loosed out on a significant chunk of revenue. They were also informed early in the afternoon (15:00) by members of our party that in all likelihood many people would look for something to eat soon after 22:00. On a Friday night.

One can only assume that the restaurant was not interested in earning more money that evening, even when a large group of people were ready to spend a lot of money. In my opinion, the management ought to have been flexible enough to keep the kitchen open to at least 22:30. AND have made MUCH MORE money themselves. As for the food itself: Perfectly ok, I have no qualms returning. Within opening hours.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dag E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlend L, Leder  at Quality Hotel Sogndal, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed for one night with 50 friends from Lillestrøm. We had a good dinner in the restaurant, served by some kind locals. The room (311) was modern and nice, although the view from the room was quite dull. I slept well, and the breakfast was rich and good. The hotel was centrally located, as everything in Sogndal is within five minutes. I can recommend a walk to Fedjeåsen (3 km uphill in appx. hours) for a panorama view of the village combined with a good workout.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not so good hotel, but quite affordable, considering the country.

The hotel interior was very nice and welcoming, but the rooms were much worst than that .... Stainds on the floor, old bathroom equipment, not so nice beds ...

The Breakfast and specialy the Italian Restaurant and bar were perfect !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nunoc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The staff is wonderfull, but the room were dirty.
The bathroom is old and small. No pressure in the shower.
The breakfast is also very good with a fine selection!
We tried the restaurant, Dr. Hagen in the night! The food was very good and the service from the portugueses guys were EXCELENT.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapuchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel is superb value - located so close to Sognefjord with worldwide chain standards and great prices (in pricey Norway...). It is very easy to find and looks very modern and nice. Rooms are not big, but comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very good with a variety of foods.

The only issue was the heat - the windows are very nice (panoramic windows that allow you to enjoy the view) but open merely to a crack, and the central heating was on in mid August! it was 12 degress C outside! staff were quite helpless in regards to this situation, and we had to struggle with our sleep all night.

In general, if it wasn't for the heat, I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is ok for one night.Small rooms. A real little bad room.The room we had a location close to the noise Kitchen ventilation.The food was very poor from quality.The food had nothing to do with the norwegian kitchen.I would not recomend this Hotel.There are alot better places to stay in Sogndal

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sogndal Municipality
0.1 mi away
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
Best Western Laegreid Hotell
#2 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
107 reviews
17.0 mi away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
7.0 mi away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
Hofslund Fjord Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
94 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balestrand
831 reviews
18.9 mi away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Sogndal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Sogndal

Address: Gravensteinsgata 5, 6856, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Sogndal Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sogndal Municipality
Price Range: $201 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Sogndal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the centre of Sogndal, only a two minute walk to the Sognefjord. We can offer 115 rooms (of these 3 suites and 6 junior suites), a big business center, three restaurants, bar and free parking for our guests. Sogndal is the perfect starting point for mountain and fjord activities. There are two downhill ski areas close by within a 20 minutes drive. The hotel is located 300 m from the Bergen express boat, it is near to the bus station and only 18 km from the airport. Welcome to Quality Hotel Sogndal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Sogndal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal Norway/Western Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing