We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Christmas meal.”

The Lighthouse Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in Capel le Ferne, 3 miles east of Folkestone, The Lighthouse Inn sits on top of the famous White Cliffs of Dover and offers striking sea views. The hotel offers free parking and Free Wi-Fi in public areas.The rooms at The Lighthouse are decorated using a mix of neutral shades and a vibrant accent wall. They are all equipped with an en suite bathroom, a TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms feature sea views.The hotel also has an on-site restaurant and takeaway, which specialises in English dishes. There is a varied menu to choose from.The hotel is less than 8 miles from the Folkestone Eurotunnel Terminal, which uses the Channel Tunnel to reach Coquelles in France. Folkestone Central Rail Station is only a 10-minute drive from the hotel and the Dover Ferry Terminal is 5 miles away.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I would like to thank everyone at the lighthouse inn for a fantastic 3 course Christmas lunch. Myself and my family are very overwhelmed but the food, great chef food was amazing. The staff at the lighthouse house are a credit! We will be back next year for Christmas thank you all so much you made our day! Much love mrs smith.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    26
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place is great but the food was terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The place is great but the food was terrible.
I was having the salmon on a bed of rocket salad. The fish was fresh from the fridge out of the packaging. But the rocket salad was either jello or rotten and has turned in to proper black slimy spots.
Asking for the manager I have said:
1: Is this rocket salad something you would like ti see on your plate?
2: Would you eat something of it?
The offer of a free desert was another mistake. It was industrial super long lasting bannofee pie with perfect texture and artificial flavors but certainly not made to be digested by a human being.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunnar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a great place in a beautiful part of England!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I enjoyed my time at the Lighthouse Inn pub so much that it really was one of the best meals I've ever had in a restaurant! Steven runs the pub, and he is fabulous! He's friendly and helpful, and happy to discuss which ale or lager will go best with your meal. He's a great conversationalist in general, and the whole place has a friendly feel. Steven's mum Mair is very welcoming and warm, and will often be trailed by the adorable four-legged, low-to-the-ground and playful Dexter. Mair's husband, Peter, is another great conversationalist and quite interested in hearing about English Channel swims or whatever you've been doing in their gorgeous area. I've had two meals here now, a dinner and a "brunch", and both have been great. The Inn looks lovely, and I'd be glad to tell people to come stay at the Inn as well as dine and drink here, given the whole family running the place is wonderful. If you're lucky, you will also meet Simone, the best bar woman in the area. She hails from nearby Folkstone, and is a center of all knowledge for that town. My friend who swam the English Channel had her best pre-swim meal EVER at this pub the night before her swim, which started at 3:30 AM. Come here if you are in the area! It's right across the street - and a narrow street at that -- from the water. They have a table to sit at over there as well, and outdoor seating all around the pub. Oh, and they have the BEST, strongest WiFi in the area. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Fantastic place food was very tasty views are amazing will be going back staff are good looking also very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great pub, fab views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The most fantastic views of the channel and France while sipping on a G and T. Friendly staff, god basic pub food and attractive decor inside. Bouncy castle in the garden for kids. On quiet road so no passing traffic. Definitely worth another visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Inn Restaurant also viewed

Capel-le-Ferne, Kent
Capel-le-Ferne, Kent
 

Been to The Lighthouse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing