We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to Remember”

Battle of Britain Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$528.64*
and up
Themed Half-Day Tour of Folkestone, Battle of Britain Memorial and White Cliffs...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Memorial to the men of the Battle of Britain alongside a modern interpretation centre that brings to life the victory 'the Few' achieved over the Luftwaffe in 1940. A place of quiet pilgrimage coupled with a high-tech and interactive visitor centre - plus fantastic views over The Channel from our first-floor cafe. Shop and coach parking.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great to Remember”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A lovely well laid out place.
Has an exact copy of a Hurricane and Spitfire. As well as a large remembrance stone with various statues
Quiet and serene.
They are building a new Multi Media facility at present. Hopefully it will open next year.

Its Free but make sure you give a donation they need it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    119
    23
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Remembrance”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I'd planned to visit the Battle of Britain Memorial for some time and was glad to finally get to visit it.
Parking: Very good. I'd recommend getting there early if an event is on as it isn't a massive car park and I'd expect it would fill up quite fast on an event-day.

Refreshments: Simple and limited but we'd not gone there for food; the coffee though was welcome.

Things to Do: There is one thing and one thing only you should expect 'To Do' at the Memorial and that is to Remember those who served and fought for our freedom.
There are full-sized models of a Hurricane and Spitfire to view and, of course, the lists of the Fallen.
There is also the view from the cliff tops across the Channel to soak up.

Overall: Simple, dignified and well worth a visit; also the Gents' toilet has some terrific Spitfire ale posters with very non-PC titles.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
719 reviews
456 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited this memorial for the second time as last time the shop wasn't open. We wanted to visit again to see what it was like. The memorial is undergoing great renovation at the moment as they build their new visitors centre. Hopefully this will open in 2015 and we will return to visit it then.

The monuments are the same and still very moving to look at. Especially nice to see all the poppy wreaths around the memorial wall with it being nearly Remembrance Day. There are great views of Dover and the white cliffs from the edge of the cliffs here, but take care on a windy day!

The shop is small with a selection of souvenirs from the memorial. There is also a small cafe inside where you can buy drinks and snacks. The staff here are very pleasant - so friendly and chatty and were pleased to tell us all about the new visitors centre opening in the future.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Makes you think”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was a bit of a chance visit really but what a lucky chance.As ex RAF but in 1951 it brought back memories when I saw the names displayed and the cliffs over which they fought their dog fights.To be able to contribute in some small way to help keep this going was a priviledge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was a chance visit and we saw the sign on the road out of Dover and decided to see what was here.
A very moving tribute, space to walk around and remember how much my generation owes the one before. Stunning views of the coast and how open it is, one can only imagine what "Hellfire Corner" was like.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirella_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battle of Britain Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Battle of Britain Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing