We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice airport hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Stavanger Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Stavanger Airport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Located right at the airport, the Rica was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were decent size, clean, comfortable beds(only complaint would be to have lighter bedcovers, as the one quilt was far too hot). And the nicest touch was the heated floor tiles in the bathroom.
Breakfast was good, with nice selection and friendly staff.
Stayed three nights on business, would defiantly return...

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TiredTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    170
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
78
30
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night over Easter, as we had an early flight to catch the next morning.

The staff upon check in were extremely courteous and helpful, as were the staff in the bar - they offered to help us carry our drinks up to our room!

The room itself was ultra-clean, with nice decor. The window opened fully, allowing us to let in some fresh air. The room was quiet and we had no disturbances at all through the night and slept right until the alarm went off.

Breakfast: absolutely outstanding. The offering/choice surpassed that of a lot of 5* hotels. It was just a shame that we didn't have time to enjoy it at our leisure.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in/around the Stavanger area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALF0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Arranged a conference here in February. We received the best service from every person who were at work that week-end. The rooms are nice and the windows are soundproofed, so no problem with noise from the neighbouring airport. It is not a luxury hotel, but a clean, new modern business hotel.

A good tip if comming here by car, is to take advantage of their parking offer. Otherwise, you'll be paying big bucks for your car while staying at the hotel. You should not be using your creditcard while entering the parking lot, but just grab the ticket and pay 100 NOK per night in the reception and this will be cheaper than ordinary cost for parking at the airport.

We enjoyed dinner here on two occasions and the food was super good. The only minus was that they charged for the water that was put out on the tables (and usually in Norway, when they put what seems ordinary tap water out on the table, it's free).

During the conference, nothing was to much trouble. We felt very well taken care of and when it is due for us to be hosting the conference again, we'll be sure to host it at Rica Airport if they still can match the prices og service provided this time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Rica hotel for 2 nights in May 2012 and had a great experience.

Positives:

- A stone's throw from the airport (2 min walk), which makes it handy for late arrivals / early departures.
- They also have a check-in counter at the hotel, so you don't have to walk all the way to the airport, or do it online.
- The buses to the city depart right outside the hotel. Take the green Kolombus bus as it's cheaper than the airport bus. We didn't know this at the time, so weren't able to take full advantage of this.
- Great, clean, spacious rooms. We were initially put into a room, where the bathroom had a really weird smell. So, we complained to the front desk and within a few minutes, they upgraded us to a bigger room.
- Staff are great and very helpful. I had to make an urgent call to our Bank in London and the girl at the front desk (forgot to take her name) asked me to come downstairs and use the main reception phone so that I wouldn't have to pay the exorbitant fees from my room.
- Breakfast was fantastic - great spread! We also had free wifi, so overall it was good value for money.

Negatives:

The only negative if I had to be picky is the location. But it was ideal for us because we had a very late arrival.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stavanger airport is not Changi Singapore or Munich, so I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was two minutes walk from the airport itself. It has a pleasant lobby area, very spacious with a nice bar, and on top a restaurant which I could not try. The rooms are typical for Norway (don't expect luxury hotels anywhere in Norway): useful and to the point. But the hotel was clean, and I could have a good meeting there with my staff waiting for the flight out. The bar staff was really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very good hotel, near Sola airport. I got a good impression of the hotel, the personal in the reception was very kind and helpfull. Big rooms with all you need, comfortable beds, internet, desk and chairs. Is near the airport and if you want to go to Stavanger centrum, is just to take a bus right outside the door. The breakfast i so wonderfull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
223 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a great Hotel if you are going to Sola or spending the night before a flight.
The rooms are big, with nice beds and no sounds. In the resturant you get good food served by a very service minded staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sola Municipality
0.6 mi away
Quality Airport Hotel Stavanger
Quality Airport Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 5 in Sola Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sola Strand Hotel
Sola Strand Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sola Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Air
Clarion Hotel Air
#2 of 5 in Sola Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stavanger Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stavanger Airport

Property: Scandic Stavanger Airport
Address: Flyplassvegen 226, 4055, Norway (Formerly Rica Airport Hotel Stavanger)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Sola Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sola Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stavanger Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Stavanger Airport is conveniently located just steps from the arrival hall of the airport which gives it a unique location. The hotel is also just a short distance from the Solastranden beach, Sola Golf Club, Flyhistorisk Aviation museum, Sola Kulturhus cultural centre and the opportunity for outdoor activities all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Stavanger Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Stavanger Airport Norway/Rogaland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing