We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
31
34
19
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
34
19
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews last visit train station great hotel charm reception stavanger suitcases business
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2017

I have now stayed here at two occasions, one of which only for breakfast.
The hotel (and breakfast if bought separately) is very reasonably priced for the quality you get. Add a few quid to what you would pay for a big breakfast at McDonald's, and get freshly baked bread, proper eggs & bacon and so on.
This place alone makes me look for travelling opportunities in the area.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bente A, Salgssjef at GamlaVaerket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

Dear Edward

Thank you so much for your nice review and we hope to welcoming you back shortly again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2017

We stayed a night here for New Years Eve.
The hotel has a rutiqe feel to it, with oldfashined decor and equipment. In a good way.
Our room had a large bed, capsule mahine for making coffe and nice bathroom with a huge shower.
Temperature wise I felt i it was ok, my wife was freezing. But the biggest consern is the noise level, or should I say lack of sound proofing. The walls are thin, so if your neighbour gets up early in the morning, so do you.
We were at breakfast serving during the last half hour. The fried eggs had been sitting so long that they looked rubbery. som of the cold cuts were looking like they had been sitting out way to long. Tomato beans and some sort of scrambled eggs. No bacon or sausages. The Bread was fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleTananger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bente A, Salgssjef at GamlaVaerket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017
Google Translation

Hei Ole

Takk for tilbakemelding fra oppholdet hos oss. Vi beklager selvfølgelig at eggene hadde ligget litt for lenge uten å ha blitt byttet ut. Dette tar vi med oss videre her internt og håper vi får ønske dere velkommen også ved en senere anledning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2016

First I want to thank you for a great stay and very cosy and charming hotel. I visited my friends and family for Christmas and stayed at Gamlavaerket. Staff was more then great and friendly which goes with the charm of this place. Room was very clean for each day we stayed, very friendly nice lady working in christmas time. Reception was very friendly and helpfull and breakfast was good.

Thank you for this vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23,061,950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bente A, Salgssjef at GamlaVaerket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Hi

Thank you for your nice review from your stay. We are working hard every day to offer all our guests a pleasant stay. We hope to welcoming you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016

This hotel occupies a lovely, historic building with lots of character, we had a very friendly welcome and indeed found all the staff during our stay to be helpful. The beds were comfortable and breakfast was great, there's a very cosy atmosphere in the public areas with lots of bare wood and stone, and candles, so quite romantic too.. would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0xanac14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bente A, Leder  at GamlaVaerket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Thank you do much for your review and we hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

Our two nights here were excellent. We wanted to visit Stavanger and found this gem of a place in our search. Very centrally located, with excellent rooms and a great Norwegian breakfast. Best of all were the staff, who were really very helpful. Their welcome was topped off this way. We had just checked into our room and were coming back from a short walk through the pedestrianised old town when the receptionist approached us to advise that the TV in our room was not working and would we like another room. We didn't even know of the problem. They moved us into an upgraded room with no fuss. Would highly recommend this hotel, and it is only a short 20 minute train trip along the fjord direct into the lovely Stavanger.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KeithFagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bente A, Leder  at GamlaVaerket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Dear Keith

Thank you so much for your nice review from your stay with us. We are very proud of being member of the Historic Hotels in Norway and we are trying to give you all a nice experience and personal treatment. We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews