We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful especially on a rainy day

We visited Manofossen the day we attempted to hike up Kjerag but were unable to, due to bad... read more

Reviewed August 9, 2022
Rama R
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Popular and dramatic waterfall

An amazing waterfall, especially after rainy days, an hour's driving from Sandnes. (Add 15 minutes... read more

Reviewed April 11, 2020
tore_ok
,
Sandnes, Norway
Read all 44 reviews
  
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
31
12
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterfall chain meters norway min hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 44 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

About 45 mins each way all the way, or just 20 minutes if the waterfall is all you came for. The steep climb has hand rails everywhere so it is quite easy, yet feels like an adventure, especially for the kids. Bring 30 nok cash for the parking.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank fegu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

It was a very nice walk/climb up to the waterfall that does not require specific hiking experience. A set of good shoes and an oke phisical condition makes it achievable by most people. This hike trail was not so crowded and once above the waterfall in the valley you will experience the tranquility of nature. Although my son an I only had a couple of hours there were a number of people with tents that stayed the night. It is defenitelly a good place for camping.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 58gertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I live in Sirevåg Norway. I had not visited Månafossen. The norwegian nature is familiar for me. This waterfall is beautiful. I walked up to Månafossen in heavy rain. The ground was slippery, but thanks to the chain it is an easy walk. This trip is not recommended for people with handicap. Dont stop by Månafossen, but go for the entire trip to Mån.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Ole-Johan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

This is a beautiful area, and a place to visit for many. But note that it is pretty steep to walk up there, so make sure you are in shape to do it ;-)
Coming up to the waterfall, we just sat there for an hour enjoying the view. Superb!
After that we walked up to the old farm ("støl" in Norwegian), which is also a very nice place next to the river leading to the waterfall.
Absolutely I recommend you to visit this place.
But, if you are taking with you young (and enthusiastic) kids, make sure to keep an eye on them and let them understand the dangers. There are no fences, and it would be a long fall...

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank HenningHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 20, 2015

Traveled from Stavanger to Maanafossen. The drive up is nice. Lots of nice scenery to see along the way. You need to be there early, because there's a limited parking space. And they will be taken quickly. The hike up was a bit hard, but I managed it. When I arrived at the destination, the view was fantastic. We had a nice view over the falls and surroundings. I was a little tired when i finally got back to the parking.. Only thing to complain about was the toilets. This was the open type, so it smelled bad. This was the general opinion of the tourists. Don't forget the camera and video for this trip. And also have a pair of good shoes. It can be a bit slippery if the ground is wet.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Bjørn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews