We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kronen Gaard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kronen Gaard Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sandnes
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a historic hotel, which was built in the late 1800's. But the room has all the amenities and good wifi. I had a single room, which was a bit small, but was comfortable. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was good, but the dinner was a little overpriced (but this is Norway, so that is expected).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPatel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
32
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Me and my family came to the hotel very late and there was nobody at the reception so we were a little bit confused, but that was the only negative detail during our stay. The hotel is very separated and the whole area looks pretty with these wooden houses all over.

We had two spacious rooms, very nice and clean and well-designed. There is a big bathroom and cozy atmosphere so we felt like home even for one night.
What I especially liked about the room was the opened windows so there was a fresh air.

The breakfast was also perfect, the scrambled eggs were the best I ever tried!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This family hotel is a very special accomodation with friendly and helpful people. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are large enough for longer stay. The location is perfect for Preikestolen, Lysefjord and Stavanger. We were looking forward to the a-la-carte restaurant but unfortunately they had the summer buffet the whole stay (3 dinners). Breakfast was complete and tasty though.

Room Tip: rooms next to the patio are not so quiet on summer evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico2014001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a very special hotel - one of the historic hotels in Norway. The buildings are situated around a courtyard and the garden is very beautiful. The breakfast is included in the good price and everything is freshly made and very tasty . Homemade jam ,perfectly cooked eggs and bacon from the local butcher - we enjoyed a great breakfast outside in the lovely glasshouse in the garden. We attended a birthday dinner one of the evenings we stayed there , and it was a magnificent three course meal. The kitchen staff is excellent. BUT : The hotel is situated 6 km from Sandnes city and because of poor off.transportation, the guests have to bring their own car or go by taxi. I think that, and the condition of the room , is the cause why this hotel only has 3,5 stars. The beds in the room were very good,the bathroom was nice BUT the room had no wardrobe ,closet or coat/dress hangers. We had to ask for some in the reception and hang our clothes on the mirror in the room. This was a great pity, because all in all - we had a great stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Difficult, because we didn´t see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We're checked in to this hotel in Sandnes to go and see the Preikestolen. It was a very nice and cosy countryside hotel with good view of the beauty of Norway. The service was also good. The interior is nice and peaceful. The only reason am not giving a 5 star is because the room we stayed at was a little smelly of old and dank.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeopoldBloom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Kronen Gaard hotel is located in Sandnes near Stavanger. The hotel is on the main road 13 just outside the village. Sandnes center is rougly 3 KM and can be savely reached walking. Stavanger center 18 KM by car. The beaches are about 25 KM away, and Pulpit rock attraction takes about an hour to drive there including a ferry crossing.

We had a room in the Anneks building were the basement was converted to 2 rooms. It was old, but the shower functioned good, the double bed slept well, and wifi internet reception was great. Plus car park was close by.

Downside, the building is a wood construction so we could here the upstairs neighbour walking around. Same for the neighbours on the same level as us, when in the hallway or talking in their room was noticable. However, price was quite low (roughly 3000 kr for five nights including breakfast for the two of us).
Also, the TV channels were not that many but fortunately the Norwagian channels keep original English language for their bought programs and use subtitles so you can understand what is happening as a tourist.

Breakfast is in the main building. on some days gigantic groups come in, but then they add an extra table on which the same food is offered twice so you do not need to wait in long queues.
Similar with coffee and tea which get extra cans, plus the groups eat their breakfast in a separate room so you can always find a normal seat and ready table.
Breakfast is offered from 7 to 10.

Dinner in summer is monday to friday a buffet and weekend a la cart. We did not try any dinner facilities as our outside activities brought us back late every day.

In the reception area is a internet computer with printer attached you are free to use.

We made a reservation through the Book Norway website, and the reception needed our voucher from that, so be sure to bring it with you if you use a booking site.

Last remark, in the Sandnes city center next to the train station parking lot is a tourist information hiding, but they offer a lot to do in the region.

Room Tip: Room quality seems linked to price. Upgrade can be requested for 200 kr at reception desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swhnld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is nice an cosy, the rooms are confortable an dinner and Breakfast were good with good product in good quantities. The grey are was more on the service side. Employees seem to be sad and not motivated and this generate a sort of heavy atmosphere. They were no people for 10 minutes at the recepttion desk to welcome us, and the check out was very slow as well. Obviously as ofter in Norway the price for dinner was quite expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erthiry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandnes
1.7 mi away
GamlaVaerket Hotel
GamlaVaerket Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sandnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Sandnes
Thon Hotel Sandnes
#7 of 8 in Sandnes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
19.8 mi away
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
Byrkjedalstunet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Byrkjedal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Residence
7.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sola Strand Hotel
Sola Strand Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sola Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronen Gaard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronen Gaard Hotel

Property: Kronen Gaard Hotel
Address: Lutsiveien 70, Sandnes 4309, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Sandnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sandnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kronen Gaard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kronen Gaard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing