We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Charles & De

Charles & De
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Sandnes
Price range: $14 - $92
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mathuset Charles & De opened its doors in 2005. The name tells of exquisite taste and the importance of good cooperation. Teamwork & Passion is the secret to a good working environment. If you visit us often, you know that we like to renew the concept periodically. We like challenges and loves to dream up new and improved ideas. The menus changes 5 times a year. It gives us the opportunity to focus on the best seasonal ingredients and prepare them according to etiquette when they are at their best. Our values ​​are reflected in what we serve. We are concerned with honesty and purity - pure flavors, pure ingredients, clean employees and clean kitchen. We believe in transparency. We are popular, but snobs with cigars are of course also welcome with us.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Busy and understaffed. The food was ok, the wine recommandation downright silly so we had beer instead. Toilets not checked/cleaned for hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vegard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    46
    39
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty upscale kitchen”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Owner Charles Tjessem won the Bocuse d'Or some years ago, in other words he is one of the finest chefs in the world. This restaurant is run according to his standards, training young and aspiring people to provide excellent food with top service. The restaurant is not really luxurious, but if you are interested in food and wine, it is one of the best in the region.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFPPFKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent lutefisk”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went there with my wife and sister just before Christmas because we knew they had lutefisk on the menu that day. To appreciate this fish you really need to be Norwegian. I have never met a non-Norwegian who actually likes it. But here it was excellent. My wife had the homemade hamburger as she is a little skeptical to lutefisk. The burger was also first class and the recommended wine fitted the bill nicely.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inger088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Noruega
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Managers must be helpful”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Even I have a bad experience but I could eat I would give 2 stars. If I could not eat at all I must mark one circle just, right? That's pretty much the case.
I couldn't even eat a toast.

I came to the restaurant, no one received me, and so I went straight to the women in charge. She seemed in charge because she wasn't wearing the uniform like the other girls, and look way much older, but not wiser. She keeps a severe authoritarian perform, but she also was bad skilled for end solutions like one had to happen before my eyes.
One of the youngster waitresses came to talk to her after I made my question to her (- what are the specials of the day?). She couldn't answer me, but she tried to help one of her new employees (2 mistakes in one, two unskilled performers, I must say). When she let me waiting instead answer me, I noticed the plate that dominated the entire picture was hard to swallow. Some client refused to eat the food. For sure, the pasta they tried to serve was too cooked, the whole thing looked like a red porridge.

After she sends away the little waitress, she turns to me without any smile, or sound, she CAST the paper menu. I took a look in all the dishes and the prices. Absurdly (!!!) they were the highest prices for a café place. It is more expensive them night dinners in the big cities. Wake up! There's no moon outside, nor attractive scene view, the food looked awful and worst, the manager is impolite as a primate.
Soon I realized that, I hear:
- Are you made your mind?
- Sure. – I answered, turned my back & went away from this pan demon coffee bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flaviaviland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Expencive but good food from one of the best cooks in Norway. The menu could have some more options, but in all a place to go for special occasions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stein Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles & De also viewed

Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Charles & De? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing