We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service”
Review of Charles & De

Charles & De
Ranked #17 of 70 Restaurants in Sandnes
Price range: $14 - $94
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mathuset Charles & De opened its doors in 2005. The name tells of exquisite taste and the importance of good cooperation. Teamwork & Passion is the secret to a good working environment. If you visit us often, you know that we like to renew the concept periodically. We like challenges and loves to dream up new and improved ideas. The menus changes 5 times a year. It gives us the opportunity to focus on the best seasonal ingredients and prepare them according to etiquette when they are at their best. Our values ​​are reflected in what we serve. We are concerned with honesty and purity - pure flavors, pure ingredients, clean employees and clean kitchen. We believe in transparency. We are popular, but snobs with cigars are of course also welcome with us.
Sandnes, Rogaland, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food great service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The family went there for dinner and we had a wonderful experience. The food is so wellprepared, the meal so well composed and the waiters are so nice and competent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    39
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Is Charles biting over too much?”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Charles & De used to be good, but now it is, well, average. It seems Charles himself is no longer very interested in the place. He is busy in many other places, so he may be too busy?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good taste, but where is the value for money?”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I tried the "Summer Burger" and got a small (about 100-150gram) burger with some overcooked potatoes. If I pay kr 199,- I expect more than this. I think this resturant knows better. I would recommend it for the TASTE, but if you are looking for a plate with enough food on it, go somewhere else. This is a review for the burger, I do not know the other dishes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OishiiFooood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You must try Atlantic cod :-)”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Unfortunately I discovered Charles og de, a bit late at my stay in Sandnes.
But I did get a chance to taste the cod in this restaurant. And I can highly recomend Atlantic cod with; bacon, spring vegetables, puré of potatoes & tomato salsa. When you taste it, you will forget about the price. Its worth it!
Charles Tjessem (the owner) was titled World Champion in 2003. Tjessem has also been the Manager of Gastronomisk Institutt in Stavanger and the Captain of the Norwegian National Team of Chefs. Need I say more.. :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norwegiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lunch venue”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice place if you're in Sandes and you're passing. I haven't been here on an evening so can't comment on that but the food is nice for lunch

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank curlytopcellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles & De also viewed

Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
Sandnes, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Charles & De? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing