We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A warm welcome from out hosts on arrival...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Smedsvik B and B

Smedsvik overlooking Ålfjorden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smedsvik overlooking Ålfjorden
Bedroom with view to fjord Another bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Smedsvik overlooking Ålfjorden
Bedroom with view to fjord
Another bedroom
Sitting area and bedroom
Bathroom
Sauna
By the boathouse, great photography opportunities
Bringing in a catch
A nook in Smedsvik's garden to contemplate, enjoy a drink or just unwind.
Autumn colours behnd the red garden shed
Autumn colours along the cliff
Neighbours across the bay
Sunset from house
Autumn colours
Cooling off after a strenuous walk!
Fishing from the rocks
House and garden
Garden views
The 'Stamp' overlooking Ålfjorden
Through the cherry blossom
Birdlife
Walks abound throughout the year. In the mountains, by the sea, along rivers, historical or....
Resting place found, during a walk, in the mountains.
Fresh and free in Ålfjorden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Haugesund, Rogaland, Western Norway

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Joanna_mc...
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome from out hosts on arrival, comfortable accommodation in a stunning location.”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a very beautiful location and a great base to discover this part of Norway. Easy access to the fjord for swimming and boating. We enjoyed two stunning sunsets, breakfast and supper beside the water. Everything that you need for a great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2017
Thankyou Joanna for your very kind comments. I really enjoyed meeting you all and I do hope you had a really unforgettable time in Norway.
Cheers Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OregonGir...
Eugene Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding BnB on Norwegian fjord”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We needed accommodations near Olen, Norway, to visit relatives and found this ideal home where Jenny and Leif rent their downstairs - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, sitting room - idea for our party of two couples in our late 60s and early 70s. We were welcomed as family and enjoyed delicious breakfasts and comfortable private accommodations. Jenny was traveling so Lief took care of us - and we enjoyed many long conversations about Norwegian customs and culture. Lief helped us with travel plans plus gave us great suggestions for hikes in the immediate area. The setting for this house was spectacular, overlooking the fjord. We totally recommend this to anybody wanting a true Norwegian experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thankyou so much Molly, I know Leif throughly enjoyed having you to stay and certainly enjoyed your company. I am also so pleased to hear you were happy with the suggestions he made. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity of meeting up with you on your side of the world next time. Safe travels. Cheers Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenche1
Stavanger
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Best experience one could ever wish for! Super evening meal, fantastic hosts and a lovely, super comfortable bed with fabulous crisp linnens and great breakfast. Absolute heaven! One could not wish for more,.... but there is more,...and a lot more! Smedsvik's B&B has fantastic, breathtaking gardens and grounds. The location, just by the sea, is to die for and the opertunity to enjoy the waters are plentyful. In addition, the tranqullety and beauty of the place and it's surrondings are nothing but breathtaking. Highly recommended to anyone. Look out Jenny and Leif, we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you Wenche, how nice of you and we so enjoyed having time to catch up, at last, certainly will not be the last time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina S
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday of a lifetime.”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say...

Here is your typical all positive review.
Almost to good to be true, but very true indeed. :-)

- The place to have the holiday of a lifetime.
- Jenny and Leif are good company.
- Jenny is a great cook.
- The place is so very very clean.
- All the comfort you need.
- It's nice and quiet.
- Directly on the fjord.
- Super nice garden.
- Beautiful environment.
And so on, and so on...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the above.
Liked least: Non of the above.
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gengi2
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best part of a brilliant trip to Norway”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Smedsvik B&B truly is a Norwegian paradise! Jenny and Leif have a beautiful modern house that fits harmoniously into their stunning Fjord fronted property surrounded by a beautiful garden that blends back into the forest it borders. Their B&B rooms are very comfortable and clean, like a home away from home (except theirs has an added bonus of a Sauna!). The rooms also have a separate entrance to the from outside so you almost feel like you are in a separate house.
Jenny and Leif were really welcoming and are lovely hosts that we were lucky enough to share delicious evening meals with, cooked by Jenny.
Norway is so rich in history and Jenny and Leif know their area and its history very well, including the land their B&B is on. It was really great to hear the history of Smedsvik and see traces of that history still visible all over their property. We also asked for recommendations on what is good to see/do in the area and Jenny gave us different ideas of day trips we could do from their B&B depending on how active we wanted to be. We followed her recommendations and had a really great day getting off the beaten track and seeing parts of Norway that we most likely wouldn't have seen if we'd stuck to the normal guide book. Without getting lost!
Staying at Smedsvik was definitely the highlight of our Scandinavian trip made all the more special by our fun hosts, Jenny and Leif, and the stunning setting of their house. I will definitely be heading back to Smedsvik B&B and would definitely recommend staying there to anyone planning a trip to Norway. I just can't rave enough about Smedsvik!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our amazing hosts, the stunning setting, house and garden, delicious food, beautiful area of Norway
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L M
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise in Norway!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Jenny and Leif run an enchanting B&B located in the picture perfect, tranquil area of Utbjoa. Smedsvik is like a "home away from home". It is a large home with the lower level dedicated to the B&B, with your own private entry. The rooms are very clean and comfortably appointed without clutter. The beds are roomy and so comfortable and the large bathroom has a wonderful rain shower and sauna. The stunning property, located on the waterfront of Alfjorden, has beautiful, serene gardens and the crown jewel...the sunsets over the fjord, which we enjoyed over a glass of wine with Jenny and Leif. Staying at Smedsvik is like visiting dear friends. Jenny and Leif are an integral part of the experience. We can't thank them enough for the hospitality and friendship. We can highly recommend that anyone young or young at heart stay at Smedsvik and we are so excited to have found an ideal place to return again! They are both are so gracious and warm, and gave us the kind of personal attention that is very rare in a B&B...not only in Norway, but in any we have stayed in throughout our travels. We could not have asked for more...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jenny & Leif and their amazing paradise and proximity to beautiful locations
Liked least: Absolutely nothing...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Thankyou so much for your kind words, we are still missing your happy laughter!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing