We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Hotell”
Review of Thon Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Saga
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy Hotell”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is very central. close to the nightclubs and the shopping streets. The breakfast was very good and the hotell is very quiet and clean. On Thursdays they serve "Komla".. a Norwegian dish. This is very good here. so the resturant gets a big + from me!
The rooms are big and cosy, and the bathroom is very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    28
    10
    1
See reviews for
4
22
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying at Hotel Saga in Haugesund was very nice. It is situated in the middle of town, close to ecerything. The personnel is very kind and serviceminded, it was like coming to the family, a warm atmosphere. The rooms were clean, but they need to be painted. Some of the furniture was from the hotel was new in the 1950ies. An excellent breakfast was served, and again the personnel was very pleasant and professional.
I can recommend this hotel, not because of the high standard, but because of the friendliness and service, and of course the breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stopped for two nights in march for a business trip. Rooms nice, clean and comfortable but not for the claustrophobic. In general the staff were friendly and helpful but did not have an adapter when I asked, but to be fair this was my fault for forgetting mine, however in other hotels I have known them to hold a few just for such eventualities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardB191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfetctly okay hotel, nice rooms, with a pretty good size for one person. Probably a bit narrow for two people in a standard DBL. VERY nice staff, and a good breakfast buffet. Good, quiet location. Nice exercise facilities.
My biggest issue with this hotel, is that I had to keep the water running for AT LEAST 5 minutes, before I got hot water in the shower! This was every day, for FOUR DAYS! The other people I was travelling with, experienced the same thing.
There was also a lot of dust in the room, especially on the hair dryer, for some reason..
I stayed on the 5th floor, wich has a lot of smoking rooms. For a non smoker, this was not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a non smoking floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is a bit like an old lady... showing some wrinkles, but still going strong. I stayed at the hotel perhaps a dozen times. I especially like the friendly staff are.Central location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I really stayed here in june last year, but that option was not available for me to choose. I stayed her solo as I was attending a course in Haugesund. I stayed for 2 nights. The staff greated me very nicely and helped me any way they could. The room was clean and well kept, as was the rest of the hotel. And the beds were great, cant remember sleeping that well anywhere else. I had an excellent view to the water. The only downside I can think of is that it was quite som noise at night, but thtas what you get for a good location. You could see that the hotel kept the original style from when it was buildt, but I found that cozy. The breakfast was great and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: View to the water. 3rd floor or up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viccy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here one night because I had a one day treatment at the local hospital and it was very important to have a good night's sleep. Our room was separated from the lift by one room and still we could hear noise from the old-fashioned elevator. We checked in around 18:00 and could hear it would be a problem right away and called the front desk to change, but no other rooms were available. We were woken up several times until 12:30 and then again starting at 04:45. Breakfast was just ok. Our room faced a brick building which may have been a school. Location was good for us because it is close to the hospital.

Room Tip: several rooms away from lift, front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haugesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
0.2 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#5 of 8 in Haugesund
68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
4.9 mi away
Park Inn Haugesund Airport
Park Inn Haugesund Airport
#1 of 2 in Avaldsnes
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Saga

Property: Thon Hotel Saga
Address: Skippergata 11, Haugesund 5527, Norway (Formerly Rica Saga Hotel Haugesund)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Saga 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing