We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Saga
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perfetctly okay hotel, nice rooms, with a pretty good size for one person. Probably a bit narrow for two people in a standard DBL. VERY nice staff, and a good breakfast buffet. Good, quiet location. Nice exercise facilities.
My biggest issue with this hotel, is that I had to keep the water running for AT LEAST 5 minutes, before I got hot water in the shower! This was every day, for FOUR DAYS! The other people I was travelling with, experienced the same thing.
There was also a lot of dust in the room, especially on the hair dryer, for some reason..
I stayed on the 5th floor, wich has a lot of smoking rooms. For a non smoker, this was not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a non smoking floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    43
    27
    10
    0
See reviews for
4
19
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is a bit like an old lady... showing some wrinkles, but still going strong. I stayed at the hotel perhaps a dozen times. I especially like the friendly staff are.Central location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper_Stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I really stayed here in june last year, but that option was not available for me to choose. I stayed her solo as I was attending a course in Haugesund. I stayed for 2 nights. The staff greated me very nicely and helped me any way they could. The room was clean and well kept, as was the rest of the hotel. And the beds were great, cant remember sleeping that well anywhere else. I had an excellent view to the water. The only downside I can think of is that it was quite som noise at night, but thtas what you get for a good location. You could see that the hotel kept the original style from when it was buildt, but I found that cozy. The breakfast was great and I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: View to the water. 3rd floor or up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viccy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here one night because I had a one day treatment at the local hospital and it was very important to have a good night's sleep. Our room was separated from the lift by one room and still we could hear noise from the old-fashioned elevator. We checked in around 18:00 and could hear it would be a problem right away and called the front desk to change, but no other rooms were available. We were woken up several times until 12:30 and then again starting at 04:45. Breakfast was just ok. Our room faced a brick building which may have been a school. Location was good for us because it is close to the hospital.

Room Tip: several rooms away from lift, front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

I was booked into this hotel when I was in town for a job interview. I really liked the hotel. The staff were so nice and the place had a great atmosphere.

I stayed in a single room on the top floor. The room had a great view of the main shopping street and down to the sea. The room could have been in better condition but it was clean and had everything I needed. They also provide (or provided at least) free wi-fi access.

As for location, the hotel is right in the middle of Haugesund so everything you could need is within a few minutes' walk.

I would recommend that anyone stays here although the other hotel in the chain (the Rica Marit) is right down on the water and looks really nice. My guess is that it's more expensive though.

  • Liked — The staff and the view.
  • Disliked — The room could have been in better condition but this wouldn't put me off.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank david1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

We decided to book a deluxe-room at this hotel, and payed NOK 1.860 for one night. The deluxe-room was a huge room (altogether ca 50 sq.m.) with large windows, carpet on the floor, sofa and two chairs, conference-table for eight people and a desk. The bedroom was separated from the large room, but had no windows. It seems to me that this room normally is used in connection to the conference-section, which was very close to the room - e.g. for group-meetings. The luxury-part of the deluxe-room consisted of more space than in a ordinary room. We didn't sleep well, due to the lack of fresh air, and the heat of the bedroom (but the bed itself was good). The bathroom was nice-looking, but small. Luxury-part consisted of some vanity-stuff on the shelf. The shower seemed to have an annoying water-saving-device on it - something that shouldn't be necessary in this part of the world. The breakfast was good. All in all, a disappointing stay, mainly due to the lack of value for money. We had expected more for this price and for the luxury-tag they had put on the room - at least we would want a bedroom with a window or with air-conditioning.

  • Liked — Good bed.
  • Disliked — Bedroom with no window, poor value for money.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2006

We stayed at the Rica Saga in Haugesund on June 9 & 10, 2006. We couldn't find any reviews on the hotel so weren't expecting much. The staff was so friendly and the room was very nice. It had hardwood floors and a great glass shower and heated bathroom floors. The staff was so helpful and answered all of our questions. The continental breakfast was very good--had lots of variety.

The hotel was in a nice location---only a block or two away from the harbor and right in the downtown shopping area. We did a lot of our souvenir shopping there---it had a very small town atmosphere with lots of people in the shops on a Saturday morning.

We had a rental car and drove from Oslo to Haugesund in one day. A most harrowing experience on very winding, narrow roads. I would not recommend putting on so many miles in one day. We are used to freeway driving in the U.S. so didn't know it would take so long. But what a beautiful drive----Norway is awesome!!!

We visited long lost relatives in nearby Etne. It was a trip we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haugesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Haugesund
Scandic Haugesund
#2 of 8 in Haugesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#6 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Banken
2.2 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Saga

Property: Thon Hotel Saga
Address: Skippergata 11, Haugesund 5527, Norway (Formerly Rica Saga Hotel Haugesund)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Saga 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thon Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing