We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Haugesund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Haugesund
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

An OK hotel centrally located in a small sleepy town. Functional, but with absolutely no character or soul. Clean and tidy with free and fast wifi. Very friendly personell. Breakfast is also OK, but nothibg more. It has the typical style you can expect from a chain hotel, were costs are under strict control.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terje363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Terje

Thank you for your feddback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

I am sorry too see that you find our hotel without character or soul.

I am very happy to see that our personell as very freindly , we work very hard to live under our 3 values , carring, creative and casual. It is also very nice to see that you find our hotel clean and tidy.

I hope to see you again next time you are in haugesund

Best regards
Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    40
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
36
15
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was fine. I stayed here for several days on business. It is close to the waterfront and several good restaurants and pubs. As others have said, overpriced like everything in Norway. Unfortunately even parking in the basement was extra and it was necessary to purchase a new tag each day. They claim to be very green - even the room key-cards are made of wood!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

I am Happy too see that you find our hotel fine and score our service at top.

We are very proud over our Eco-freindly hotel and we work hard to becoming even more eco-freidly.

Hope too see you next time you are visiting haugesund

Best Regards
Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed at the Scandic Haugesund for several periodes, and honestly speaking; rooms are cold because heating is out of order. It is not possible to adjusting room temperature as you wish. This is a new hotel and it shall be possible to adjust actual room temperature at TV-screen, but this system is not working. Oven is cold all the time, so I always have to order a mobile el-oven to obtain a comfortable temperature. I have reported this problem to reception oraly and by writing, but I think management/hotel director don't care. Rest of the hotel is ok and friendly. I do not recommend Scandic Haugesund at cold days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsevjesugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

We apologies for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

This problem is new for us , however we want to thank you for your honest feedback and can now inform that we have contacted our supplier and the system is undergoing a full check.

Hope to se you again

Best regards
Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've just spent 3 nights in a very large room. It's the uber-scandinavian style : minimalist but still everything you need is there.(even the iron and ironing board is there hidden between the wall and the wardrobe which is itself stuck between the wall and the full length mirror) . I still don't know how they do it!!! Absolutely brilliant.
The shower is the perfect one : you don't need a doctorate in "showering" to relax after a great day out. Your room is clear and seem empty but every thing you need is there. The room was clean, you can open the window. The breakfast was superb and most of all the staff are very nice and really professional. There was this nice young chap at reception waving at me every time I entered the lobby!

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Flotmyr bus terminal and right in the heart of town. Haugesund is great and when I go back I'll go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

It makes us very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you liked Haugesund.

The staff are very happy to see that you have rated their service at topp.

It makes me very happy to see that you find our solution with ironing board brilliant

Hope to see you again soon and welcome back

Best regards

Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very standard hotel in Haugesund, Norway. Nothing special in any way, just one of those many hotels where one can spend the night. Over-priced, of course - like everything in Norway. Centrally located. Small rooms, decent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Oyvind

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

I am sorry to see that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay here in Haugesund.

We always try to give people away from home the feeling of being among freinds.

Dear Oyvind, do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is something we can do to make your stay better next time you coming to Haugesund.

Best regards
Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a nice hotel. Good value for the money. New and Clean rooms.

Room Tip: Choose the largest room, not so big a price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teigas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay and you find are rooms clean .

Hope to see you again and welcome back

Best regards

Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights around a week holiday rental in the area. Very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast included and of excellent quality with a wide range of hot and cold food. WIFI in all rooms and a complimentary PC and Printer in reception. Reception staff speak good English and very helpful. If required underground car park and street parking on meters. One of our party had a fully accessible room with wide shower access adn electrically adjustable beds. All cntral facilities in Haugesund within 10 min walk

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plowst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathias M, General Manager at Scandic Haugesund, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Scandic Haugesund

WOW.. Me and the rest of the hotel staff are very happy too see att you have rated every category at top. This means a great deal too us. Thank you.

Hope to see you and your party in the near future.

Best regards
Mathias Mansoori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haugesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Amanda
0.4 mi away
Scandic Maritim
Scandic Maritim
#4 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Banken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
Hotel Neptun Haugesund
#6 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Saga
Thon Hotel Saga
#5 of 8 in Haugesund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson BLU Hotel Haugesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Haugesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Haugesund

Property: Scandic Haugesund
Address: Kirkegata 166, Haugesund 5525, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Haugesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Haugesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Haugesund 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Haugesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing