We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitewater rafting in Eidfjord: amazing”

Flat Earth Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: FlatEarth Adventures offers a wide range of daily activities during the summer season. Choose between: Stunning Sea kayaking on the fjord, challenging White Water kayaking, exiting Fun-rafting or adrenalin kickin' White Water jump. FlatEarth Adventures also offers spectacular full day glacier trips incl. Ice climbing in the crevasses. Professional instructors and equipment. We also offer multi activity packages incl. Hike or via Ferrata to Trolltunga in Tyssedal. Rental of kayaks, canoes and bikes. Winter activities on request for VIP groups. Mini expeditions on Hardangervidda including snow kiting.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent an exhilarating 2 hours white water rafting down the rapids that lead from Voringfoss to Eidfjord lake. Excellent instruction from the Finnish guide.We went down the river twice and laughed all the way down, after hitting every large rock in the river and getting stuck quite a few times. Then finished with a dip in Eidfjord lake.
Although the brochure does say suitable for children from 7, I'm not sure that I would take any child under 10, especially if they are small as there will be a greater chance of them falling out of the raft. There are only 3 people max in each raft and therefore everyone has to work quite hard to steer and power the raft down the rapids. And if you are over 40, it's quite hard on the old knees!

Thank Neurone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlatEarth_Adventures, Manager at Flat Earth Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your reply and feedback!

Age is a very difficult guideline, factors as weather, water level and physical shape will in the end
determine if one of our younger visitors can join or not.

Great to hear that you all had a good time, and we hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sea kayaking"
in 7 reviews
"glacier trip"
in 6 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 4 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 6 reviews
"guide michael"
in 2 reviews
"activity"
in 4 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"equipment"
in 4 reviews
"river"
in 5 reviews
"whitewater"
in 2 reviews
"jane"
in 2 reviews
"kayakers"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"participants"
in 2 reviews
"weather"
in 4 reviews
"camera"
in 2 reviews
Filter

57 - 61 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

This morning i went to Fatearth in Eidfjord to book my 9 year old son and myself on a kayaking tor of the fjords. Their brochure says the tour is good for children 7years and up. The man we spoke with told us no. Children have to be 10. The said I was wrong about the brochure. He then went to speak to a woman, who i assume was the owner and they discussed in norwegian. All i understood was NO. There was never anything said about other options of things to do or 'we are sorry, we know this must be disappointing'.

I then went back late in the afternoon to show them the brochure, the woman, who is indeed the owner first said that the man in the morning did not believe that my son was 9. I had my son's passport on me and offered to prove that I was not a liar. Then she said No, the group taking the trip that day was too andvanced and she 'she trusts the judgement of her guides'. It was never explained what 'judgement' that was. She was rude and obvious happy not to have us as custumers. I must admit, after being treated so disrespectfully, i am happy to not give them my money. i suggest others do the same. There are hundreds of appreciative business owners in the fjord country who deserve your business.

4  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I cant believe I waited until my 50's to experience Kayaking!
We booked this experience online with Thomson spirit, I have to admit I was a little nervous, when we met on the quayside I thought we would be the oldest there....but no the age was mixed!
Our group was led by Kiril Prochorov who won a silver medal at the 2012 Olympics....no pressure then!! He was very clear with safety instructions, use of paddle and immediately put us all at ease, once we were in the water we kayaked a few metres then made a 'platform' we kept stopping to do this at various stages to re group, the scenery was breath taking and although it rained for most of our time on the water it didn't spoil the experience, Kiril gave us the history of Geiranger and its people.
This is a fantastic way to see the Fjord and get back to nature , the paddling was quite physical but sharing means you can take turns for a rest! the water is very deep but you are that busy concentrating on paddling and taking in the views you don't notice.
Sander Cruiming & Edwin Cornelissen were close by in a safety boat if we needed them, this was the highlight of our holiday my hubby filmed the experience on his 'go-pro' camera so will be available on their website soon.

3  Thank Shazbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane f, Owner at Flat Earth Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Yes - kayaking in Eidfjord is truly amazing ! Thank you for sharing Your experience,
jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane f, General Manager at Flat Earth Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flat Earth Adventures also viewed

Eidfjord Municipality, Hardanger
Eidfjord Municipality, Hardanger
 
Eidfjord Municipality, Hardanger
Eidfjord Municipality, Hardanger
 

Been to Flat Earth Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing