We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norway my my”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Norway my my”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel is situated directly on the Fjord, hotel is beautiful and rustical, but with a modern inside look. Room in which we stayed was very big, also the bed was enough for at least three people. In the night when you go to sleep, you can hear the waterfalls humming outside. But, other than the location and the fjord there isn't much to do. After 9 o clock the village is literally dead, and so there is nothing to except go to sleep, or to drink some over priced norwegian drinks. But if you're looking for a place thats isolated and from the civilization, this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terror-MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your reply. It is true that the village is quiet and anyone looking for a varied and busy nightlife, might be better off looking at some of the larger cities. There are however several places where people go to enjoy their time, the hotel bar is one of them. But obvisouly the amount of people out and about will much depend on what day of the week it is. During the summer-months it is usually busier; however Eidfjord never loses it's village charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    76
    55
    28
    6
See reviews for
54
130
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for just one night, during our summer tour in Norway. The hotel has a great view over the fjord, BUT don't take it for granted. What I am trying to say is that the huge cruise ships which sail night and day to Eidfjord in summer months, dock in front of the hotel and block the entire view. So, if you pay the price for a fjord-looking room you may end up watching ..a ship and nothing more. The hotel is well built, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable but (as it happens with the majority of hotels in Norway) it is overpriced for what it offers. To be fair, there is a good breakfast and a good (and expensive) dinner buffet, but we found out the room service to be really poor. When we needed a hairdryer (there wasn't in the standard room equipment !) and I phoned to the reception to send us one, they told me that they have noone to send and I should go myself down and take it. There was noone to carry our baggage, not a single computer for the clients, no safebox and generally the staff was not willing and friendly. And all these from a hotel with a daily price of 215 euros !!! You can really find a better value for money hotel in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as we would like. I do notice that your review is a couple of years old, and I believe many of the elements you are mentioning have been rectified. To start with a computer for the guests. We do have a computer available to use for free by all our guests, it is located in the reception area. There is also free wifi available to all our guests. It is true that we do not have hairdryers in the rooms. We do have them for loan at reception (obviously at no cost) and we will always be able to come to your room with one should you call and ask. I am sorry to hear you experienced something else. Eidfjord is one of the cruiseports of Norway and we do have several cruiseships coming in during the summer months. I have yet to experience any staying over night. They usually arrive in the morning and leave in the evening. Obviously the experience of the cruiseships are different from person to person. we have quite a few guests who specifially ask whether there is arriving any cruis ships, because the sight of them arriving and departing are quite spectacular. Also, there are many activites available in and around Eidfjord that are only offered directly from the village when the cruise ships are in. I do suggest to anyone not wanting to have their stay while the cruiseships are in, to ask about this while making a booking. The cruise ships are booked in well in advance and we are able to tell you when booking whether your chosen day will have a cruise ship visiting as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eu, France
Level Contributor
175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

It is the best hotel in town... well it's the only hotel in town ;) Hotel is located on the Fjord. The tourist office is about 100 meters away. The dinner A la Carte was realy very good. Didn't like the lobby, no minibar, bar wasn't open either. Had to ask the staff in the lobby for a beer and tea. They don't have a guest computer and will send you to the tourist office where they have 2 (you will have to pay).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I see your review has been posted a few years back, and there has been some changes since then. First of all, we do now offer free wifi to all our inhouse guests, and we do also have a computer available in the lobby free of charge to all our guests. It is true that we do not have a minibar available in the rooms; however we have all types of snacks and drinks available for purchase in the reception. If you are a guest staying at the hotel, there is free tea and coffee available all day in the restaurant, and the reception also sells speciality coffees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

We picked this hotel because of its position, but that's all it has going for it. There's nothing of Quality beyond that. Senior staff were unfriendly, generally ignored us, non-existent at breakfast. Young staff on Reception were good. 2nd night, at 11pm I had to call reception to complain about noise of loud music. She said that the bar was open, musicians in, and it would finish at 3am. No sleep after that. The rooms weren't soundproof anyway - she told me to close my windows - you could hear everything from neighbours and our door constantly banged when others opened theirs. Breakfast is limited, but okay. Rooms were overheated, so we had windows and door open. Hotel has no facilities within it, as others along the fjords seem to.. however, there's a lovely cafe and pensione at Vik Pensjonat which we used for lunch and early dinner, staff are friendly and welcoming, and I'd suggest that to anyone rather than (No) Quality for too much money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constanttraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. To hear that you have experiences the staff to be less than corteous, is especially tough to hear as we pride ourselves at always offering the best possible guest service. The staff should always be there to help and assist, at breakfast and at nighttime no matter what. I see the review is quite old, and none of the staff present during your visit is here today.

If you are worried about extra noise it is always wise to ask for a quiet room regardless of where you are staying. We always make sure that anyone asking for this gets a room as far away from the bar as possible. We are aware that there might be some level of noise coming from the bar when it is open; however we are promt at turning down sound and asking guests to move inside if we recieve any complaints.

I do hope you give us a chance to redeem ourselves another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

I stayed at Quality Hotel & Resort Vøringsfoss in August 2007 - and I must say I absolutely loved this hotel. The hotel is beautifully situated in Eidfjord, right by the Hardangerfjord. The hotel's name - Vøringsfoss - sort of implies that the hotel is situated by the Vøringsfoss waterfalls, but you'll have to drive 20 km or so up through the Måbø valley to get to the waterfalls.

We had booked a standard double room - but the room we got was huge, quite a bit bigger than the other standard rooms so we must have got an upgrade. Our *very* spacious room had two wonderfully comfy beds, a work desk - and a seating area (sofa, two chairs and table) by the big windows, with lovely views of the fjord. Our room (#421, I think) was on the top floor, and the view was excellent - ask for a room on the upper floors if you want a great view. WiFi is available throughout the hotel, free of charge, and the connection was fast and reliable - pick up an access code from the reception. The entire hotel is non-smoking.

The buffet breakfast was very good - as in most Scandinavian hotels in this price range. A decent selection of breads, crispbreads and crackers, cereals, yogurt, fruits, cheese, cold meat, eggs - and of course an opportunity to try some Norwegian specialties such as kaviar and brunost - brown cheese.

Quality Hotel & Resort Vøringsfoss is pricey - expect to pay around 1500 NOK for a double room in the main tourist season - but I'd say it's worth it. The location is beautiful, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and our room was simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back at another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

It doesn't get much more picturesque than this. The hotel looks stunning as you approach it along the fjord. We really enjoyed our stay here - ensure you ask for a room overlooking the fjord - you'll get it and it won't cost any extra! The Voringfoss waterfall is v disappointing, but would fully recommend a visit to the power station - actually v interesting. Also make the drive up to the farm via the tunnel. Actual farm was disappointing, but the tunnel was great for novelty value, and great views - you can see the hotel.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Lack of swimming pool/sauna.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouby Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your very nice review. It does usually cost extra for the upgrade to the rooms overlooking the fjord, but we do offer special deals on upgrades on check-in. However, if you would like to guarantee to have a room overlooking the fjord, you are best reserving this already when booking. Obviously we do offer free upgrades occasionally, especially when we have Nordic Choice Club guests with silver, gold and platinum cards visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
557 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 716 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

This was a stunning hotel. Our first impression was faultless; the hotel was on the waters edge. We stayed for two nights. Our room (No 319) was massive with as much space as you would need. It had a small private balcony with unbeatable views down Eidfjorden and the surrounding mountains. It was a magical view at all times of the day. It was especially nice watching the sun creep up over the mountains.
The bathroom was comfortable and well equipped. The room had good air circulation which was important during the summer and the curtains were double thickness so our sleep was not interrupted by evening twilight (until 11.00pm).
The breakfast room again had great views and plenty of space and had a very good selection on offer. We had lunch here one day and it was fantastic and well priced for Norway.
One of the highlights was the staff. This was one of the only hotels on the trip where they asked how our stay had been. This common courtesy was a refreshing change and showed that the hotel cared about more than just the bottom line. It made our stay that much more pleasant.

  • Liked — Peaceful location, outstanding view, friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie S, General Manager at Quality Hotel Voeringfoss, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and it is important to us to know that everyone leaves their visit feeling appreciated and well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eidfjord Municipality
0.2 mi away
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel
#1 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
119 reviews
8.6 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#2 of 2 in Ulvik
58 reviews
15.5 mi away
Utne Hotel
Utne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Utne
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Fossli Hotel
Fossli Hotel
#3 of 3 in Eidfjord Municipality
76 reviews
17.5 mi away
Finse 1222
Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
142 reviews
24.8 mi away
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaurant
Store Ringheim Hotell og Restaur...
#1 of 7 in Voss Municipality
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Voeringfoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Voeringfoss

Property: Quality Hotel Voeringfoss
Address: Ostangvegen 20, 5783, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Hardanger > Eidfjord Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Eidfjord Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Voeringfoss 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Voringsfoss lies like a pearl in the grandiose surrounding nature.Situated completely on the edge of the water by the deep blue Hardangerfjorden with the nature reserve Hardangervidda as its nearest neighbour, this hotel offers close contact with nature. The hotel has been running since 1889 and can offer a historic and balancing atmosphere in natural surroundings. Only 4.5 hours from Oslo and 2 hours from Bergen, it is not far to get to a unique hotel experience. The amazing nature outside the hotel is supplemened by the personal service and calming atmosphere you find inside our walls. Lobby, reception, restaurant and bar were completely renovated in March 2017. Let yourself be inspired and amazed by an unsurpassed wilderness from the many bright and spacious rooms in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Voeringfoss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Eidfjord
Quality Hotel Eidfjord
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss Norway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing