We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hovden Fjellstoge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hovden Fjellstoge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hovden B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great food, large servings, good service, great for families with kids.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msimonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed in a room at Hovden Fjellstoge, not a cabin. It's located a couple of kilometers outside the centre of Hovden and the room was average and contained what you need - not much more. No TV for instance (situated in a common room).
No problem for me as meeting people is a better option.
The service was really excellent and the staff at the reception, in the kitchen and in the dining room did whatever they could to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-Torill B, Manager at Hovden Fjellstoge, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback - it is highly apreciated.
We hope to see you back at Fjellstoga next time you visit Hovden.

Best Regards,
Ann-Torill Briksdal
Hostess, Hovden Fjellstoge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have been visiting Hovden Fjellstoge twice the last six months, and I enjoyed every minute. This time I stayed in a cabin with some of my friends. We went downhill skiing during the day, and in the afternoon we also went crosscountry skiing. I really appreciate that we could put on the skis right outside the cabin and just start walking.

We chose to eat all our meals at Fjellstoga. The food and wine was great, and the service excellent. There was nothing fancy about it, but a nice and relaxed atmosphere.

On my first visit here I came with som friends and kids. This was in the fall and the colours outside was beautiful. We had some really nice walks, and went up to Hovdenut and enjoyed the great view. We spent several hours at Hovden Badeland & Spa, and everybody had a great time in the pool, jacuzzi and water slides.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SollenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

I Just came back from a stay at Hovden Fjellstoge, and it was a really good experience. It is reasonably priced, and we got so much more than what we payed for. We stayed in a cabin, and it was clean and well equipped. The staff was always smiling and willing to help. The food was good!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjeldabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

The staff was very helpful when i had some questions by mail before vi arrived.
When we arrived, we were met by a smiling staff who helped us to get a meal from the kitchen. Oscar, the chef, really makes food that tastes good, this evening a spicy chicken soup. The next day i had raindeer and it tasted delicious.
We stayed for a weekend. All the time the staff were smiling, always eager to help, always offering a little more than i expected. They offered us to keep the room longer on sunday so we could take a shower after skiing, before we hit the road home :-)
We slept in a "Fjellrom" with a large bunkbed and its own bathroom. The rooms were "old-fashion" cabin style in a very nice way. They also offer cabins.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janerikSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hovden
22.6 mi away
Haukeliseter Fjellstue
Haukeliseter Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Vinje Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
22.5 mi away
Dalen Hotel
Dalen Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hovdestoylen Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hovden Hoyfjellsenter & Hyttepark
15.8 mi away
Haukeli Hotel
Haukeli Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haukeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
21.4 mi away
Groven Camping & Hyttegrend
Groven Camping & Hyttegrend
#1 of 11 in Vinje Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hovden Fjellstoge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hovden Fjellstoge

Property: Hovden Fjellstoge
Address: Setesdalsvegen 4401, Hovden 4755, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Bykle Municipality > Hovden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hovden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hovden Fjellstoge is located at the top of Hovden in the Setesdal Valley, 2,7 km from the village next to the Vidmyr nature reserve and the river Otra. Accommodation is provided in comfortable rooms or cabins. We take pride in serving homemade food inspired by local traditions. During summer there is easy access to the mountain, and several marked summer routes. Other summer favorites include fishing, golf and mountain biking. In the winter season cross-country skiing is available right by Fjellstoga, and alpine skiing is just minutes away with complimentary ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hovden Fjellstoge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing