We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location on Lake Orta with good food”

Ristorante Imbarcadero
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Pella
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic location on Lake Orta with good food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

A great location looking out over Lake Orta and the playground outside was perfect for kids. The food was pretty good, although a salad we ordered wasn't as fresh as it could have been. The service was also a little slow, especially considering the place wasn't full. Would definitely be happy to go again though, especially as the kids loved the playground outside. The free wifi was also a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZurichExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    121
    20
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A surprise in a sleepy little lakeside town”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were staying across the lake in Orta San Giulio and took a boat across for a group dinner. The restaurant is beautiful, and as you might get from its name, right on the lake in the marina area. It is modern, sleek, and stylish. There was a slightly off-putting smell, for me at least - seemed like a cleaning product odor. The food was very good - it was a prearranged menu, of stuffed squid (outstanding), seafood risotto (pretty good), and chocolate cake (also quite good). We had to beat a thunderstorm back across the lake (the downside of boat travel) but that just added to the experience - in retrospect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best side of the lake”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been eating at Imbarcadero for a few years now and seen the family team build it up into a popular and well-known local restaurant. Fresh fish, particularly the grigliata and the vongole, are excellent and the also do a good weekday two course deal as a previous review mentioned. This attracts the local business community as well as a few tourists, so great people-watching. The setting is spectacular, less crowded than Orta, with views across the lake and village in both directions. Gianni is charming, very lively and keeps a close eye on service standards but weekends can get very busy so worth booking ahead. We've eaten our best local meals here and would strongly recommend you try it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aironeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Surprise tredy restaurant in sleepy town of Pella”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Was not a lot to see in Pella but a pleasant ferry trip across the beautiful lake. So we were quite surprised with the look of this restaurant very trendy and chic so we decided to give it a try for a light lunch. We just wanted salad, but were sold two courses off the menu of the day by the charming front of house. It was great with a couple of glasses of wine, we were surprised how full it became with very elegant Italian clients. Very god value at 30€ for two. The only problem the ferry does not run on Thursday afternoon until after 16.00 so we had to get a private boat which was only 10€ and added to the fun. Well worth the trip for a delightful lunch

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“ok for the view...forget the kitchen”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

i've been going to the lake for almost 30 years... this place is one of the most enchanting spots on the lake... they renovated with stile a few years ago... however...one shouldn't go there to have a true culinary experience... (1) one need to wait ages, even if there is no one, when it's full it's simply a nightmare (2) waitresses are nice but have no clue about food and even less about the own menu (3) some of the dishes are pretentious but quality is simply ok... (4) if you ask for a wine and it is corked... you might simply get the answer that that is the taste of the local wine!!! it is such a pity, it could be a great place ...but it is a loss of time and money

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Imbarcadero also viewed

Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
Orta San Giulio, Province of Novara
 

Been to Ristorante Imbarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing