We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always nice to be at a Rica hotel..;)”
Review of Scandic Alta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Alta
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alta
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Got a nice room, small and no view, but I am not here for sitting inside a hotel room. Excellent restaurant, very impresse over the fish meal of "Boknafesk". Not so good pancakes...
Breakfast are always wonderful at the Rica hotels, with theirs own chef who make a omelette or more for you, and a extra plus with fresh self made waffels.
Very good services and smily staff; That make my day! Thanks..;)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuideGunnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 539 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is certianly tour bus tour central. I was also part of the bus tour groups. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and quite spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a decent size, with a good shower and excellent water pressure. Once plus was the laundry machines, which though they proved a bit complicated to get working, (the directions are not as straight forward as they could be). Getting laundry done is always an issue on bus tours.

The buffet breakfast was good and the staff very helpful and friendly.. Overall a very pleasant place to stay. Its also a good location to visit the UNESCO site for the petroglyphs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNBearYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on June 30th, for a relaxing night before continuing our journey to the north cape. Unfortunately, we couldn't sleep before 3:30 am! Not because of the 24 hours of daylight but because of noisy drunk people leaving the nearby pub, and even closed the old generation windows couldn't stop the sound.
Having said that, the room was fine, the bathroom may not be from this year but it's perfectly functional and the staff was friendly and efficient.
Now your know what to expect .

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceppub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here for two nights attending a meeting held in the hotel. Comfertable room with a view, good brekfeast and lunch (we had dinner elsewere). Our meeting was in a decent room (we were only 10 attendants) with internet, projector and coffe and cake/fruit. I think they have decorated the whole hotel nicely and I'll probarbly stay here agin if in Alta. Chek out Sorrisniva just ouside Alta for a good restaurant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsBellarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I would recommend Rica for all who want to see the Northern Lights, the local Ice Hotel & North Norway, Easter is the best time I think but it fine during the summer as well.The staff at the Rica will give you very good help & advice.

Room Tip: Top floors great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gearoid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have been staying at this Hotel for several occasions, and have chosen to come back. The rooms are clean, average size and with free Internet. The staff are friendly and helpful, and eager to please. Breakfast and lunch can be recommended, I love the local specialties, especially the many different kinds of fish.
The dinners have not been that impressing, more like average or less.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Nice and new hotel centrally located in Alta. Friendly staff, spacious and light rooms with minibar, wifi and satellite tv. Underground connection to the new indoor waterpark and the gym next door (which is good when temperatures drop and you don't even have to go outside). Lobby bar with cozy athmosphere. Nice restaurant though a bit pricey. Breakfast being served here as well, and don't miss it, especially not the "morning dew" vitamin shots. Best hotel breakfast in Norway!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alta hotels
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
12.2 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
12.5 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
2.6 mi away
CampAlta AS
CampAlta AS
#4 of 8 in Alta
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Alta

Address: Loekkeveien 61, Alta 9510, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Alta)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: $105 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Alta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in central Alta - the gateway to the Finnmark region - perfect for business and leisure. Start your day with a hearty breakfast in our Restaurant Alta - a combined cafe and a la carte restaurant. We offer excellent meeting and conference facilities that can host up to 650 participants. Parking is available in our garage or just outside the hotel for guest arriving by car. We also have a sauna available on request. As a guest you always have free WiFi in your room and in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing