We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed Alta and Bårstua!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baarstua Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Alta B&B and Inns
Verona, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We enjoyed Alta and Bårstua!”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Bårstua; it was warm, quiet, very clean, with private bathroom and kitchen with all the cooking facilities.

We asked to the owner if he can pick up us at the airport when we arrived (at 11 p.m.) but he couldn't..anyway it was close to the airport, and we took a taxi (10 minutes, 12 € ca.).
It's close to Alta Sentrum (where you can find supermarkets and some places to eat); it is also not far from the Rock carvings (about 5 km: we went by foot following the cycle path...but there is also a bus that can take you there).
There are a lot of nice walks in Alta, most of wich near the guesthouse! (i.e. Komsa Toppen, from where you can see the beautiful Altafjorden)

On the third day we had to return to the airport for pick up the car at the car rental, and we went by foot (30 min trough the wood).

We definitely enjoyed Alta and our stay at Bårstua!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2aba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst riding 1400km from the Arctic Circle to North Cape. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owners who went out of their way to help us out (we needed some secure storage for bikes and to do some washing for example). The room was immaculately clean with good facilities including toilet, shower and kitchenette which we used for dinner and breakfast. Location is good and within a few minutes walk of the town centre. This was also the first place we stayed which had tea and coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi was useful too and allowed me to write this review. Overall this is a fantastic place to stay at a very reasonable price (we've stayed in a lot worse which were much more expensive). Highly recommended and we would definitely use the place again if we ever came back this way. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadic-Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We drove 322km from Tromso to Alta (we skipped the ferry, shd have taken that) and the guesthouse was the ideal place to rest our ourselves. The place is conveniently located off the main road. Furnishing was modern and the room was spacious for our big luggage and backpacks. Lot of carpark space for our car just beside the building so that we don't have to carry our heavy bags too far. The room has all the amenities with a kitchen area and its own toilet. In Norway hotels come with toilet, but cabins in campsites doesn't. Everything was great, the room, the bed, the decor and of course free internet which city people like us can't stay too long away from the internet.

The owners were friendly people who just live in the next building. A drive to town centre takes about 5mins. We use Alta as a base to visit Nordkapp in the same day. An affordable accommodation, with good cleaniness and standard comprable or may even be higher that hotels in Alta. And you get a kitchen like a motel to cook your favourite dishes.

Room Tip: Just email and ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragusa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

With regret, we only spent one night at this bed & breakfast, but once there we would have stayed more than one night. The house is easily reachable, five minute driving from Alta airport, just on the borders of the main street crossing Alta. The owner welcomed us and was very very kind. There is a big parking lot, so if you have a car you can park freely and without paying extra. The rooms are located in a building apart from the building where the owner lives, the owner's house lies in front, so if you need help there's a ringing bell so you can call. We took our rooms, have a bit relax after more than 24 hours of travel from Sicily, then the owners suggested us to have a thirty minutes climbing on the Komsatoppen a hill dominating the fjord of Alta and where we enjoyed the twilight at 1.00 AM. Back to the rooms, they are well equipped with television, wireless internet and you can serve for yourself coffee and tea because there is a mini kitchen. Bathroom and shower are in the room, the shower is closed with two plexiglas transparent doors so anybody in the bathroom can look at you while having a shower, these doors seem very fragile and have to pay attention because they can bump on the sink and crash! There's no shower plate and you flood the bathroom!
In the room you find 2 easy chairs, a little wooden table and furniture and at last a big modern table where you can have your breakfast. The rooms are quite big and large.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Myrdingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alta hotels
0.8 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
12.6 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
76 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baarstua Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baarstua Guesthouse

Property: Baarstua Guesthouse
Address: Kongleveien 2A, Alta 9510, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alta
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing