We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Alta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thon Hotel Alta
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here 1 night, awaiting my flight. Rooms are clean, bathroom is nice, Internet is free. Beds are a bit too small. There is no bar in the hotel. You have to go to the pizzeria next doors. Very friendly staff

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Wim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 342 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very convenient for a trip to Alta

1. Location
- Heart of Alta downtown
- Most of winter experiences (northern lights hunt, dog sled, etc.) leave from Rica hotel nearby (2-min walk)
- Next to the local mall, which has a very decent offer for winter/ thermal clothes
- 1-min away from Alta public swimming pool which is really big and gorgeous for such a small city. Great to spend 3-4 hours in the afternoon

2. Room
- Nothing to write home about, very standard 3stars room, with few amenities but real double beds, which is rare in Norway/ Scandinavia!

3. Breakfast
- Served in the Pizzeria, nothing fancy, but decent choice to start the day

4. Free wifi, much appreciated

Staff not very knowledgeable about the surroundings, tourist experience around (no concierge team), so get prepared beforehand.

Room Tip: Rooms 501/401/301/201 should have an extra window as they are in the corner of the building
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jeremy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn A, Manager at Thon Hotel Alta, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Jeremy

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the all the comments.
Regarding the knowledge of the staff we greatly appreciate the feedback and will strive to get better at this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

my husband and i just returned from our norway honeymoon and thon alta was one of our 6 hotel stays.

i was pleasantly surprised with our visit.

customer service - helped greatly with all questions
-- helped w/airport transport
-- got to check in early, on the spot
-- wake up service - is on their tv. we were initially confused w/this and told them we didn't get our wake up call (since we requested via phone we expected a wake up via phone. because we had an early flight to catch, we also set up a wake up call on their tv system too). instead of being defensive or immediately saying we were in the wrong, they helped explain that all wake up calls were via their tv.
-- helped greatly w/a payment issue.
we reserved rooms via expedia and we were charged upon booking. they didn't know this and charged us again upon check out. they immediately looked into the issues and apologized and owned the issue. they couldn't fix the issue on the spot but once we arrived back from our honeymoon, we checked our credit card statement, our charge and credit were both listed.

cleanliness - no complaints!

food/beverages - loved their nespresso right near the elevators. they come in handy when you're waiting for taxis or make you feel welcomed when you just arrive. their breakfast had plenty of options but based on prior reviews we did not try their pizza.

when i'm in alta next, i'm def staying at thon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miltonsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The stay was nearly was perfect for me. Lovely and spacious rooms, and friendly staff.
The breakfast was ok, but the breakfast room was dark and confusing.
It is a pity that the hotel does not have a restaurant except for a pizzaplace.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruckner70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am a frequent traveller, and was quite surprised by the very nice experience in Alta, Northern Norway. Friendly staff, clean room, and a very good bed. The breakfast offered a broad selection of breakfast "items", and there was something for everyone!! I can truly recommed it !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there in september 2012. The hotelpeople are nice. The room was perfect.
The hotel does not have parkingplaces.
The restaurant is a a pepper-pizza. The food is poor. Music verry loud. The staff is bad.
We advise not to eat in the hotel(pizzeria)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islafjordur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed thee in August and were surprised how nice it was. The room isn't very big but very well organised. The kitchenette inside the closet was a nice idea and included everythimg needed to prepare a good mill including a micriwave and a coffee machine. The view from the window was nice too. The fact that we could get to the supermarket without going outside the hotel was helpful too. Breakfast was very good as well. Thou it is a bit expenssive it was good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alta hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
12.5 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altafjord Gjestegaard & Spa
2.6 mi away
CampAlta AS
CampAlta AS
#4 of 8 in Alta
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Alta

Address: Labyrinten 6, Alta 9510, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: $141 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Alta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Alta is a new and modern hotel located in the city center, close to Alta Airport and the right next to the busstation. The hotel has large and bright rooms with nice views over the city center or Altafjord. Some of the rooms have a kitchenette where you can cook simple meals and it is also possible to upgrade to mini suites. A short distance from the hotel you will find AMFI Alta, a large shopping centre as well as restaurants, bars and other cultural sights. We also have indoor access to Nordlysbadet, an indoor swimmingcomplex with spa and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing