We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Museum including a World Heritage Site”

Alta Museum - World Heritage Rock Art Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Museums in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: WORLD HERITAGE ROCK ART CENTRE - ALTA MUSEUM Experience one of Northern Europe's largest rock carving sites, inscribed on UNESCO World Heritage list. The carvings were made by hunters and gatherers, the oldest carvings are over 7000 years. The rock art park is available in the snow free period. The museum is open all year and features exhibitions on rock art in Alta and other cultural history exhibitions. Temporary exhibitions on themes such as the Northern Lights, angling and art exhibitions. Cafe with a panoramic view over the Altafjord and souvenir shop. Guided tours for groups by prior arrangement. Audioguides available in Norwegian, English, German and French.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Museum including a World Heritage Site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

One of the highlights in our trip to Finnmark, was the visit i Alta Museum and the walk along the rock carving field. It was about 3km nice walk in open air, and we could see the fantastic rock art from a long periode, between 6000 and 2000 years old. The carvings illustrate many different situations of men hunting, and animals specially reindeer and elk, birds and fishes. In the 4 uncovered felds there are more than 5000 different figures. This is a real historic document!

And later the same evening we could see the mid night sun!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kjarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    103
    31
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The stone carvings are great. I am sure you will find enough information about this on their website. The wonderful thing here is the long walk that one needs to take in the open air to see the stone carvings. Well made out paths, a breathtaking view - it is something amazing. We went with 5 children. Considering there was little else to do in Alta, we thought it might be boring for the kids. The layout and the arrangement, helped to keep the kids really active and engaged. We did not spend too much time in the interior display. Make a trip here on a sunny day and you will really love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kurtdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The displays are interesting to see but know that most of the descriptions are in Norwegian without translation. You basically have to pay to see the museum in order to see the rock art.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aleepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“really worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were really lucky because the weather was good and we were able to stay one step ahead of the German tour group. It was so worthwhile. The rock art is fantastic. The views are beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aleepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great views, great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you arrive on a dry day, this is a great spot to look at some thousands of years old rock art, complete with stunning sea views.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0hnDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Museum - World Heritage Rock Art Centre also viewed

Alta, Alta Municipality
Alta, Alta Municipality
 

Been to Alta Museum - World Heritage Rock Art Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing