We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool Place to Visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We did not actually stay in this hotel but visited it during the day. The ice carvings etc. were out of this world. It was unbelievable what they had made from ice and to drink Vodka from an Ice Glass. You would need to be very brave to stay overnight because of the extreme cold but it would be grat to say you had done it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GusHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 175 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I was lucky em ought to visit the Igloo Hotel whilst cruising on the Saga Sapphire. It was the most magnificent and beautiful experience, one not to be missed and something I hope to do again next year. Alta is the prettiest place, it is like a beautiful Christmas card so beautiful as to almost be surreal. Norway is glorious and so are the people, a wonderful time!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farthing8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We ddn't stay at the Igloo Hotel but only visited to have a look round, which they are very happy for you to do. It is rebuilt every year and each year a different theme is chosen for the ice sculptures which are just amazing. You can get married in the Ice Chapel and even stay in the bridal suite. There is an ice bar and we were served a blue warming liquer in ice glasses. There are many rooms to stay in on the "ice" side of the hotel, but also a proper hotel and an award winning restaurant. Perhaps we will get back there one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannie2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I didn't know where we were staying and going (a taxi driver almost spoiled but luckily his English wasn't good enough).
The hotel was amazing and the stuff so friendly and very helpful.
Hotel wasn't busy and we had a lot of space and time for relaxing, enjoying the ice hotel, drinks, sauna and Jacuzzi.
Also we had dogsledding and snowmobile activities.
A lot of fun and very well organized.
Food was delicious and you got all that you need the ice room that was an incredible experience.
Is not an hotel where you go back often but I suggest to do it and if you got a chance to avoid a cruise is better as you got more space and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Franc01981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Whilst on a Cruise we independently booked a table for 4 at the hotel on 19th March 2014.

The Ice hotel itself was very impressive although we did not envy those, from our cruise ship, who had booked to stay the night. There are no toilet facilities in the Ice hotel itself so you have to brave the cold walk to the main building in -20 deg to use a toilet in the night.

As we were independent, we, unlike the cruise passengers who were dining at the same time, had the choice of the a la carte menu and chose a fish soup which although very nice was served lukewarm. Thinking this was the norm, we did not complain. However after we had eaten it the manager informed us that it should have been hot and apologised profusely.
For main course we chose two fish dishes and two reindeer steaks. The fish was excellent but the potatoes served for us to share were absolutely COLD ! The manager whisked the plates away quickly and apologised yet again. Then came the reindeer which was served just warm. It was returned and came back after it had been reheated in my opinion, together with hot potatoes.
This wasn't the service we expected considering the reviews we had read and the prices they charge. The manager did compensate to an extent by giving us a free plate of cheese and some after dinner liqueurs. He also took off the cost of two starter meals from our bill. However, he had originally promised not to charge for the reindeer main courses. His excuse was that the chef was not on duty. The kitchen was staffed by 3 young people who came out to greet the cruise passengers after their set meals which were obviously prepared previously by the chef the day before.
All wasn't lost however, when we were leaving the hotel to get our taxi, we were delighted to see the northern lights above us for about 15 minutes.
p.s. my wife and I who ate the reindeer were both sick the following day !

Room Tip: Do not stay overnight if you have a weak bladder. Stay in Alta, visit the hotel for £15 ea. A taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This really is a once in a lifetime experience. I’m going to be honest if you are looking for luxury and comfort then don’t do it, you will end up sleeping in most of your clothes and you will have to make the trek in the early hours to the toilet, no on-suite here. If you are looking for an experience that you will talk about with a grin for many years to come, then this is the hotel for you. The friendly staff will make you most welcome and help you enjoy a great the experience. Our evening meal was superb prepared by a team of young and very skilled chefs. Breakfast was a feast of all things goods. During our stay the staff alerted us to the start of the northern lights, they then guided us to the best observation point and provide us with torches for our personal safety. It’s not cheap, but you only live once, go do it and make your grandchildren jealous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Not cheap but worth every penny. We stayed the night and were so well looked after. Magnificent food and a great experience including the northern lights. I couldn't believe that all on our cruise didn't want to stay- they missed a real treat,

Room Tip: You can pay extra for the bridal suites - each with a nice four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alta hotels
7.1 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
528 reviews
7.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
340 reviews
6.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
5.4 mi away
Holmen Husky Lodge
Holmen Husky Lodge
#2 of 8 in Alta
37 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel

Address: Sorrisniva 20, Alta 9518, Norway (Formerly Alta Friluftspark)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range: $501 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE OVERNIGHT EXPERIENCE - THE IGLOO HOTEL. Feel the silence in the hotel made of snow and ice. See the sculptures and have an ice drink in the ice bar. Feel the contrast between staying in the cold, while the cozy sleeping bag keeps you nice and warm during the whole night! Experience the silence and serenity surrounding you. Every year the Igloo Hotel has a new unique theme from the Arctic part of the world. Woolen underwear is recommended for the night. While staying at the snow- and ice hotel you can experience the nature around, relax in a warm atmosphere in the living room and enjoy a dinner in our great (warm) restaurant. Sorrisniva restaurant serve á la carte menu based on local food and traditions. A table is reserved for you when staying the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing