We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MV Marco Polo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“MV Marco Polo”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Returned from Northern Lights cruise on 28th Feb.
Stunning trip with Lights "performing for 4 consecutive nights - simply magaical.
Ship is on the small side as compared to P&O, Carnival, etc., but still very nice.
Some attention to detail was missing - frayed table linen for example.
Entertainment crew worked very hard and deserve applauding - great shows.
Two of the guest appearances were a tad sad, but ......
Can recommend this ship.

Room Tip: As with previous reviews, the outside cabins are larger than inside, also coming with two double war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barhud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    26
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
97
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Well I wasn't encouraged to sleep over, even tho' the bridal suite did look inviting! Alas I wasn't a bride! Nonetheless the hotel is a work of genius in my opinion and something not to be missed if you journey to Alta. Everything is ice absolutely everything with the exception of reindeer skins hopefully which would keep one warm throughout the long cold night! The wedding chapel is delightful and the ice sculptures I was informed adopt a different 'theme' each year when the new ice hotel is built following it's spring time melt! This year's theme was fairy tales. Lovely and well worth the visit

Room Tip: They are all below freezing difficult to choose but for space it's got to be the bridal room
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank WingedPegasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I cannot fault the way this hotel has been built and what the 2 owner/brothers have done to make it such a memorable experience. The staff were all exceptional, service excellent and the head chef cooks to die for. The evening dinner I could not fault .Ok , the bottle of Prosecco was £45 .....but all alcohol is expensive in Norway. You can go in the Ice Bar for after dinner drinks ...a 'blue igloo' will cost you 50 nok each. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice
We also took the evening snow mobile safari ......dont be put off just because it is in the dark as driving with headlights on through the trees was just as good as the daytime safari we took in Tromso ....and you may even see the Northern Lights at the same time.
You cant keep your clothes/luggage in your 'ice bedroom' as they would be as stiff as boards by morning ....but all this side of things is taken care of for you and you only sleep in the ice hotel section as you are wrapped up in Arctic sleeping bags and your thermals !
There are very modern showers (communal mens / ladies) , sauna and even an outside hot tub
This hotel is undoubtedly an experience that I am so glad I to have had and can highly recommend it especially as a last night to stay before returning home

Room Tip: All rooms are identical apart from a Bridal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Coming all the way from Australia for a European winter, it certainly was a nervous time when we arrived at the ice hotel not knowing how the night would go.
We were welcomed by very friendly staff and then the chef discussed the dinner menu with us.
The meal was absolutely fantastic and the chef is certainly of the highest standard! We had a great dinner and a few drinks then prepared ourselves for bed.
We got 2 sleeping bags each and we were so warm that we actually got hot and had to take some layers off!
The igloo hotel is such an amazing experience and something we will certainly remember for a long time.
Breakfast was nice and there was plenty to choose from.
I highly recommend having this experience at least once in your life as you won't regret it!! Just save your pennies or pay for a package including dinner as it was not for a traveller on a budget but is definitely worth that little bit extra.

We also did the snowmobile safari which was so much fun with a very friendly guide...if u are a bit nervous or unsure, there is no need to be as its really easy and u will have a ball.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ph0ebep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Staying at the Igloo Hotel added to my trip of a lifetime...the hosts at the hotel were wonderful and knew we'd be apprehensive about staying in minus 20 degrees all night long...and they helped us get our very warm sleeping bags and guided us on what to do. Be sure to go to the bathroom BEFORE you go to bed, as getting up at night is very cold...since the bathrooms are in the main lodge attached to the hotel. This is worth a trip to Alta...and you MUST eat Johnny's food in the restaurant! Be sure to note, they do not take American Express...

Room Tip: if you are a couple, be sure to ask for a double, or you will have twin ice beds separated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We first visited in the morning when we went to Sorrisniva for a snow mobile safari (this was fantastic fun and our guide was lovely). The hotel was just amazing when we saw it in daylight and in the evening even better. The meal was a huge surprise as we didn't expect such a high standard with many courses. What we received was basically a Michelin star restaurant experience in stunningly peaceful and relaxing surroundings. This part of the visit is not marketed enough.
The warm part of the hotel is very close to the cold part so you can easily come and go as you please, but you don't want to get up during the night as once you get inside the sleeping bags it's not too easy to get out. You don't need too many clothes, just thermal underwear as the bags can cope with temperatures as low as -30oC and you get an extra bag to put on top too. The rooms are very small and cosy and the best moment for me was in the morning when I walked into the main area of the hotel with all it's carvings and lights - it was serene and beautiful and with only three couples staying it felt like we had the hotel privately hired. This is a must visit and the cost is worth the meal alone if it is included as part of your "Norway" package.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelqueen104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
378 reviews
362 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

By coincidence we arrived for the little opening cocktail party on Jan 15th which was a pleasant way to visit the hotel. The freshly-finished igloo rooms and sculptures were of an amazing high quality and beauty. The restaurant is good for Norwegian standards. Service at reception was very friendly. The only negative part was a run-in with the owner when we tried to park our car in the back of the hotel, for lack of knowledge of Norwegian we couldn't read a sign that probably says something like employee parking only. We forgive him because the stress to finish the hotel on that day must have been enormous. Although we couldn't stay for the night, this place would be my recommendation out of the three Icehotels ... if you really, really want to do such a whacky, touristy, expensive thing once in your life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alta hotels
7.1 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
463 reviews
7.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
292 reviews
6.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
5.4 mi away
Holmen Husky Lodge
Holmen Husky Lodge
#2 of 7 in Alta
28 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Alta
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel

Property: Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
Address: Sorrisniva 20, Alta 9518, Norway (Formerly Alta Friluftspark)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE OVERNIGHT EXPERIENCE - THE IGLOO HOTEL. Feel the silence in the hotel made of snow and ice. See the sculptures and have an ice drink in the ice bar. Feel the contrast between staying in the cold, while the cozy sleeping bag keeps you nice and warm during the whole night! Experience the silence and serenity surrounding you. Every year the Igloo Hotel has a new unique theme from the Arctic part of the world. Woolen underwear is recommended for the night. While staying at the snow- and ice hotel you can experience the nature around, relax in a warm atmosphere in the living room and enjoy a dinner in our great (warm) restaurant. Sorrisniva restaurant serve á la carte menu based on local food and traditions. A table is reserved for you when staying the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing