We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Ice Wedding was a dream come true. Made even better by Jorn Losvar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Our Wedding in the Sorrisniva ice igloo was the most magical experience. It almost seemed like we were in a dream for the 5 days we were there, truly a different world.
True its cold but take the right equipment and you will be fine.
On our first day we met up with Jorn Losvar our photographer. I have to mention that Jorn
helped make the whole experience even more magical. He was such a nice guy. On the first morning he took us to the nearby lake for some trial photographs before the big day. I had no problem showing my love to my wife in front of him, he was so easy to be around.
On our big day we the service went perfect, my wife and I getting married in the ice igloo along with just the preist and Jorn and his wife snapping shots away all around us. Our evening meal at the ice igloo was Reindeer and Elk! It was one of the most divine meals i have ever tasted.
The next day we went on Snow mobliles over the snow capped hills for miles and miles and Dog sledding at night over the frozen river. Wow!
The costs of a Wedding in the Sorrisniva is not cheap and you also need to be lucky to get married there as it can only marry 13 couples a year (to date) following some law. But let me tell you, it was worth every penny. Our memories of this place are pricless and have been frozen in time by Jorn Losvar's amazing pictures, some of which he has put on his website. http://www.losvar.no
We will "definatly" be going back to Alta sometime maybe on an anniverary within the next few years and would like to meet up with jorn and his wife again.
Next time though we hope to catch the northern lights!
Nick and Claire.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicko808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 183 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

We got married here and had the wedding suite that night. Treated like royalty in every way the staff and chef made it a very special day. The ice chapel and the carvings are breathtaking.Snowmobiling and husky sledging was brilliant and organized by them. We can thoroughly recommended it as its what dreams are made of and you can live a dream.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elsa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Away from the "city" of Alta, this remote hotel is in an idyllic environment and much attention is paid to the fine details to make your stay here exquisite. The dinner was excellent, and I had a solid 8 hours of great sleep in the reindeer sheets and blanket. With clear skies, you also have a pretty good chance of seeing the Aurora Borealis if you just walk to the back of the sleeping area. Granted, it is quite pricey, but then again, everything is in Norway.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DiegoCaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is a great little ice hotel with a chapel two suites and lots of smaller standard rooms, the real highlight is the bar and the main hall which contains most of the carvings.

The hotel takes on a local theme each year which all of the carvings are then based around.

Unlike the very commercial IceHotel in Sweden, at this smaller cousin the art is still the main driving force and the hotel uses plenty of different coloured lights instead of just cold blue and white.

Well worth a visit if you are in Alta even if you can’t afford to spend the night.

The onsite restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced offering equally impressive architecture in wood.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TWMC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My dream to go to the Artic regions came true,to actually get married in an Ice Chapel was Fantastic,to sleep in a Ice hotel "Wow" I had to keep pinching myself was this real.
If you have a dream no matter what it is,it will come true. The hotel,staff,and everything about it was very much worth more than money.
The Reception was excellent,as for my cake it was Norwegian it brought tears to my eyes.
I hope to go back one day,I'll dream again that I do,and lets see!. So what are you waiting for "Go for it"

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LeedsMonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We have just returned from our holiday in Norway, which we finished at the Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel in Alta. We felt very priviliged to have been able to sleep inside this excellent piece of art! The hotel was much larger than we had imagined and even though we had seen it on tv and had seen some pictures on the web, in reality it is such a breathtaking experience...

We had the whole place to ourselves, which was actually rather nice. Outside it was really cold (minus 25 degrees C) but even though it was tremendously cold, we did dare to go outside into the hot tub, which was great fun!

We had the very best dinner in Norway, and Johnny made us a superb menu! Also the buffetbreakfast was wonderful and up to 5 star standard!

On the whole, it was really special to sleep the three of us in sleeping bags on reindeer skins... an experience of a lifetime. It's a lot of money - we know - but absolutely worth it for 1 night!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HollandDutchcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

It is a very special experience to sleep in an ice hotel. We also got the opportunity to enjpy the Aurora Borealis fom the jacuzzi (after arguing with the hotel owner, and we found that a little bit troublesome). Food was great, but not out of the extraordinary. This trip must be combined with a snow mobile ride in the mountains (the hotel provides everything here).

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MervynDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alta hotels
7.1 mi away
Scandic Alta
Scandic Alta
#2 of 5 in Alta
548 reviews
7 mi away
Thon Hotel Alta
Thon Hotel Alta
#1 of 5 in Alta
343 reviews
6.9 mi away
Thon Hotel Vica Alta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Ongajok Mountain Lodge
5.3 mi away
Holmen Husky Lodge
Holmen Husky Lodge
#2 of 8 in Alta
41 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gargia Fjellstue
Gargia Fjellstue
#1 of 4 in Alta
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel

Address: Sorrisniva 20, Alta 9518, Norway (Formerly Alta Friluftspark)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Alta Municipality > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Alta
Price Range: $499 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIQUE OVERNIGHT EXPERIENCE - THE IGLOO HOTEL. Feel the silence in the hotel made of snow and ice. See the sculptures and have an ice drink in the ice bar. Feel the contrast between staying in the cold, while the cozy sleeping bag keeps you nice and warm during the whole night! Experience the silence and serenity surrounding you. Every year the Igloo Hotel has a new unique theme from the Arctic part of the world. Woolen underwear is recommended for the night. While staying at the snow- and ice hotel you can experience the nature around, relax in a warm atmosphere in the living room and enjoy a dinner in our great (warm) restaurant. Sorrisniva restaurant serve á la carte menu based on local food and traditions. A table is reserved for you when staying the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sorrisniva Igloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing