We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pettenasco
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in October 2013 ,food great ,location a bit away from it though great views of the lake ,rooms ok but cool/cold ,why don't they renew bathroom toiletries when you stay more than one night ? Service mixed and not as friendly as other Italian hotels we used . You really need a car to stay here.

AC ,Edinburgh

Room Tip: lake view away from main road recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    182
    53
    19
    6
See reviews for
86
301
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay, found out family run, but all thanks to daughter, lovely lady, nothing to much, for her, lessons could be learnt, lovely room, Same for breakfast, definitely for hospitality, our thanks to you madam for a lovely stay

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank junerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had read all the reviews, for a long time, for this hotel most of them telling it as it was. What didn't come across though was that in most cases, if not all, the reviews for the food were for the a la carte menu. We 'put all our eggs in one basket' and booked for two weeks. It is true to say that the hotel is in a beautiful spot and is very clean throughout, with very kind helpful staff. The table d'hote menu we found to be very disappointing. Some things on the menu were good such as the entree and soup but the main course never was enough for anyone over twelve or under seventy,with only one vegetable served and only potatoes once. The dessert was very below par. I was assured that they could accommodate a coeliac diet and to be fair they did buy some cereal and rice cakes and biscuits but there was never a dessert I could eat in the two weeks which could have been creme caramel, meringues or fruit and cream to mention but a few.We had paid a lot of money for a superior room for two weeks as we have done in other hotels in Italy and were truly disappointed in their menu. They had a very strange table plan situation in that if you hadn't booked a superior room then you weren't shown to a table by the windows where there was a superb view. We had, as mentioned, a superior room but I felt the system to be very unfair there. With a little tweaking this hotel could surely get four stars but they certainly need a more enthusiastic chef to meet the family's aspirations.

Room Tip: Only consider a lakeside room as many are overlooking a busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErylWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a great hotel with plenty of character. That sometimes means that things don't run as they would in a chain hotel but it's really not a problem. The staff are friendly and the rooms a decent size and clean.

While the hotel is comfortable in its 3 star shoes, the restaurant tries to be more. And it doesn't really work. Of the 6 courses we had for dinner, 3 were a let down. Three setting however, is top class as is the service, as long as you don't mind being spun the odd tourist tale.

Lake Orta is a lot quieter than her sister lakes so having your own car is recommended.

Overall, a really good hotel that makes it easy to have an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
292 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived on a very rainy day which limited our experiences in the region. We were surprised when our luggage was taken to our room without asking us if we wanted this done. We intended to take it ourselves. We stayed in for dinner because of the weather, and had a great meal. We ordered the catch of the day and had never had a whole fish covered in salt. What an experience. It was delicious when it was skinned and served to us. The wine list was extensive and fairly priced. My fish carpaccio appetizer was delicious, and another new experience. My husband had the sardine pasta and expected to have whole sardines rather than cut up ones, but liked it. We wanted to walk down to the sunbathing patio and pool area after dinner and were very surprised the paths are not lighted-- you need a flashlight or you can fall. We also didn't realize when your room has a balcony in Italy, non smoking excludes the balcony. The room next to us was occupied by a cigar smoker and he smoked late into the night so our sleep was nearly ruined because we prefer sleeping with an open door because we never know if the air conditioning filter is clean. In a small property it is often a problem. Breakfast was good. Be careful at night with the step to get up to the bathroom. There is a light to turn on going up on the stair, but in the dark going back to bed be sure to remember the stair so you don't trip. If you like conditioner for your hair after you bathe, you need to bring your own. Also, it is a combo bathtub / shower with a very high step into the bathtub with no safety railing to hold onto so be very careful. My husband had to help me figure out how to work the shower as the prior guests used the jacuzzi/tub and it seemed difficult to convert back to a shower. We got it done, but laughed as we struggled.

Room Tip: Absolutely be on the water side away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

On the shore of Lago d'Orta, probably the most pleasant of the Italian lakes, you will find a definitely pleasant family-run hotel. Very helpful staff.The ferries accross the lake stop at the hotel. The restaurant is great and very good value for money too. A light-lunch option might make it less of a challenge to the waist-line. Good wines. We loved to lounge by the pool and/or the lake. Pool is good. Personally, I prefer the crystal-clear lake for swimming. One should go for the lakeside (superior) rooms. This is a nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karel_ouendag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My Wife & I have stayed at the "Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto", many times since staying there on our Honeymoon some 40 years ago! The Owners, the "Primatesta Family", Caterina & Oreste, have become our very good friends! This sublime Hotel is truly wonderful, - we cannot fault it in any way! Over the years it has become simply better & better! The perfect location overlooking the beautiful & unspoilt Lake Orta, (Lago D'Orta), is stunning! The standard of accommodation is really excellent. A range of accommodation is offered. The Food & 'a la carte' menu is just perfect!.....Particularly when enjoyed in the Giardinetto's 'open-air' restaurant's exquisite facility/ gazebo overlooking Lake Orta. 'Local' produce & dishes are 'second-to-none'; the 'Wine List' is just incredible with several hundred wines to choose from! We have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending this Hotel to discerning prospective travellers! The Hotel staff are terrific - nothing is too much trouble, my Wife & I have experienced their kindness! Location of hotel is just right for touring around this fantastic scenic area of Italia!
Written by: Guy & Olwyn Beresford-Linnell, 01/09/2013.

Room Tip: We recommend that you ask for a room 'with lake view'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeresfordLinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pettenasco
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Approdo
Hotel L'Approdo
#2 of 5 in Pettenasco
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Rocco Hotel
San Rocco Hotel
#4 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
838 reviews
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#6 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
206 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
Fontaine Bleue Hotel
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto

Property: Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Address: Via Provinciale 1, 28028, Pettenasco, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Pettenasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pettenasco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star superior Hotel Giardinetto has been within the Primatesta family since Luciano Primatesta founded it as an Inn in 1930. Its continuous evolution has made it a point of reference for the hospitality industry on Lake Orta, as well as further afield. The hotel lies directly on the beautiful shores of the romantic lake in an oasis of nature, it's the ideal destination for relaxation and enjoying the surroundings. It has all the standards of a modern hotel, but with its own charm, a breathtakingly view and the thoroughly romantic environment of the lake. The hotel has very comfortable rooms, an outdoor pool (for those who don't wish to swim in the lake) along with a little private beach. The restaurant with its unique terraces directly on the water, has become famous for its regional and creative cuisine as well as for its wine cellar with over 450 Italian, French and International labels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Giardinetto Hotel
Ristorante Giardinetto Pettenasco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing