We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday in a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pettenasco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The room was perfect and overlooked the beautiful Lake Orta. From the moment of our arrival the staff were so helpful and welcoming.. The food was superb and the restaurant staff very professional. This was probably one of the best hotels in our experience - we hope to be back again next year!

Room Tip: Make certain the room is lakeside (not roadside), and ideally with balcony. The balcony with our roo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 515 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for five nights in June.We had a balcony room which had a lovely view over the lake.
We felt the room decor was slightly dated but was clean and the bed very comfortable indeed.
We were unable to get any English channels on the t v but this was not a real problem..
The food was excellent as were all the staff who were very helpful at all times.Bar prices were also quite reasonable as well.
The outdoor swimming pool was also excellent and kept clean
All in all we had a good stay but we would recommend a room overlooking the lake rather than the road at the rear of the hotel

Room Tip: Lake view room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at the Giardinetto. I admit to being a star snob so was very wary going to a three star hotel. What you don't get is fluffy bathrobes, slippers , gym etc but what you do get is a very friendly relaxed holiday. The bedroom was spotless and the best bathroom I have ever had, it looked new and a shower and hair drier that worked. The air conditioning was very good, beds comfy large balcony very good for a per dinner drink looking at the wonderful scenery.. Food was different but tasty, you can have half board or a la carte, we tried both and was very satisfied. Breakfast was typical Italian with meats, cheeses , fruit etc and wonderful coffee. If you can afford it a lake view room is a must the views are simply stunning. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The lake was great for swimming and warm! I think you need a car if you want to see some of the sights as the hotel is not really in walking distance of other towns but you can get the ferry which makes a nice change to driving. All in all a very good holiday and I do feel this hotel should be four star. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Have a lake view on the roadside could be noisy and no sun in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was the last 2 days of a 2 1/2 week long trip in Italy. We chose it by the wonderful reviews and its proximity to Malpensa Airport. The balcony and lovely lake view from our room was wonderful. The large bed was very comfortable. There were no luggage racks in the room, but we managed. The bath tub was too high and slippery for comfort, which was a negative for us. Our main disappointment was the restaurant. We had the a la carte menu, but most of the choices were not that appealing, and the items chosen were not that good. We love and appreciate good food and have had many excellent meals all over Italy, but this restaurant was the worst of the trip. The second night we were there, service was extremely slow due to a large party. We chose not to eat elsewhere because of the inconvenience and limited parking at the hotel. The "buffet" breakfast could have been better presented. I was very disappointed not to have a nice cappuccino my last days in Italy. The machine-made one was not appealing to me.

Room Tip: A lake-view room is a necessity!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a second floor overlooking Lago D'Orta, and it was gorgeous. Clean comfortable rooms, wonderful food, and a great staff. Loved having a wonderful restaurant right there on the property. It was a little difficult to find, but worth the windy road up the hillside.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nanci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights here in this excellent hotel and restaurant. The location is outstanding, particularly if you get a room with lake views and balcony. We had a standard double and our balcony was on slight corner of the building, so we had excellent views across the lake. Lago d'Orta is probably one of the least developed of the Italian lakes and this makes it much more restful. Our room was very clean but perhaps a little dated. The restaurant has wonderful views across the lake and the food is excellent. We had booked B&B thinking we might use the restaurant or perhaps try some neighbouring places. This proved to be a mistake, alternative restaurants required a drive. So we had to fall back on the a la carte menu which while very good was quite limited and not cheap. They do offer a half board rate, but that table d'hote menu does not appear to be available generally. We had a car and were able to explore not just Orta but also Maggiore as well and made it into Switzerland (Locarno) as well. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Lake view a must
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew200644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lake Orta is a gem, the setting is a tourist delight. We have brought several groups of visitors to enjoy the experience. This time we discovered the Giardinetto. Its location is perfect, right on the lake but on a wide bay a little ways from the island of San Giulio; it provides a more relaxing vista than the town does.
The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Ours had a roomy balcony where we spent considerable time. After dinner I was torn between snuggling under the comfortable duvet for a long night sleep or saying out and drinking the restful night scenery.
We had reserved a table for dinner - a good thing since the place filled up completely even though we were there midweek. The food and service were excellent and the setting incredible: we ate under a canvas canopy with live vines intertwined overhead, right at the lake's edge.
The whole experience was a treat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minusorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pettenasco
0.9 mi away
Hotel L'Approdo
Hotel L'Approdo
#2 of 5 in Pettenasco
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel San Rocco
Hotel San Rocco
#5 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
524 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#2 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Crespi
Villa Crespi
#1 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
925 reviews
2.0 mi away
Santa Caterina
Santa Caterina
#8 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bocciolo
Hotel Bocciolo
#3 of 11 in Orta San Giulio
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto

Address: Via Provinciale 1, 28028, Pettenasco, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Pettenasco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pettenasco
Price Range: $110 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three star superior Hotel Giardinetto has been within the Primatesta family since Luciano Primatesta founded it as an Inn in 1930. Its continuous evolution has made it a point of reference for the hospitality industry on Lake Orta, as well as further afield. The hotel lies directly on the beautiful shores of the romantic lake in an oasis of nature, it's the ideal destination for relaxation and enjoying the surroundings. It has all the standards of a modern hotel, but with its own charm, a breathtakingly view and the thoroughly romantic environment of the lake. The hotel has very comfortable rooms, an outdoor pool (for those who don't wish to swim in the lake) along with a little private beach. The restaurant with its unique terraces directly on the water, has become famous for its regional and creative cuisine as well as for its wine cellar with over 450 Italian, French and International labels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Giardinetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ristorante Giardinetto Hotel
Ristorante Giardinetto Pettenasco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing