We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had to make a short visit to Helsinki for a meeting and leave early the next morning, so i booked a room at Glo Helsinki Airport. The check in was alright, but when i got to the room i discovered it didn't have a window. I asked if they had any rooms with windows, but the answer was no. I felt trapped, and very uncomfortable. The bed was ok and the room looked alright, but it's hard to sleep when you hear everything happening outside your room. The breakfast was terrible and all in all I felt like I payed way too much. I will never revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EivindL807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    197
    87
    26
    16
See reviews for
70
126
56
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terzo d'Aquileia, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The location is great, inside the airport. But rooms are very small and no windows. I felt unconfortable. With a small difference in price u can go to the Hilton airport which is another story in terms of room space, bed, quality and receptionist's kindness.
Let me tell you the breakfast was avarage. I will not come back again. Pity because I enjoied so much the Glo downtown Helsinki

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manwholivedinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

After 20 hours flying arriving at this hotel was like finding an oasis after crossing the dessert. It is clean, comfortable and quiet. Exactly what was needed. The staff was helpful and friendly (and possibly even understandingly sympathetic to weary travelers.) Keep in mind the rooms are 'internal' and have no windows and are very small. So, I wouldn't stay here when my objective is to enjoy Helsinki, but to refresh after a flight it is perfect.

Room Tip: Book the sauna -- that was the icing on the cake of my stay. You couldn't find a more appropriat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsala, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had been travelling for 4 hours from Joensuu to Tikkurila to get a bus to Helsinki Vantaa airport. During our journey we thought that we were too tired to sleep on a chair in the airport. We had to wait for our next flight that was at 7.50 the following day. So we checked the net and we found that there was Glo Hotel in the airport.So we arrived, we did our fast check-in with no people in the airport and at 11.30 pm we went to the hotel.It was very clean and the room had all the necessary items:tv,music,press table to iron the clothes, tea, coffee, chocolate, shower, what is needed. We had a short rest till 5 am. The room was really silent and the bed soft and comfortable. It's true, it does not have windows, but if you have to sleep, you don't really need them. We also had the chance to choose our breakfast among five different restaurants. It is not a place to spend a holiday, but it's perfect if you have an early flight. The receptionist was also really polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loredana925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel was a good airport stay, however rooms without any window took some getting used to. Room itself was good and modern - except for the rather old bathroom. Staff was exceptionally friendly - nice contrast to many other, esp. airport hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Carsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Glo was a pleasant experience to us on our way to abroad. The hotel room was nice and quiet although it was situated just in the airport. The bed was very nice and we slept there very good. The room does not have windows, but it wasn't a problem. The light in the hotel room was pleasant. I liked this hotel and I will book the room from this hotel always when I am going to holidays via Helsinki airport. I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very conveniently located on the lowest level of the airport. Rooms, despite having no windows, are clean and comfortable although rather small. Bathrooms are fine, although a little dirty around the edges. Buffet breakfast was superb, offering a large range of both hot and cold options. We was given a late checkout of 14:00 pm free of charge, which again was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vantaa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
1.5 mi away
Cumulus Resort Airport Congress Center
1.5 mi away
Cumulus Airport
Cumulus Airport
#6 of 10 in Vantaa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa

Property: GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa
Address: Helsinki-Vantaan lentoasema | Terminal 2, Vantaa 01530, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How does it sound to continue your trip refreshed and after a good rest? GLO Hotel Airport is the only hotel inside the actual airport building. It is located in terminal 2’s service floor, and from there you can also access the terminal 1 by foot along inside walkway in two minutes. So whether you are travelling on an early flight or waiting in between your flights, this is definitely the best place to relax while waiting. We have just expanded the hotel and we can now offer 76 functional and modern rooms for travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Gateway Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing