We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in a "city" but only 20 min from the Helsinki-Vantaa airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Vantaa
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel is nicely located in the heart of Tikkurila, Vantaa. Next to Tikkurila railwaystation with good connection to north and south. There's also bus connection to Helsinki-Vantaa airport and big (on Finnish standars) shopping centre Jumbo with waterpark Flamingo, about every 10 to 20 minutes from the bus station.

This is good choice for families who want to visit Linnanmäki amusement park, Heureka the Finnish Science Center, go shopping, go to waterpark and stay near the airport.

Heureka, is across the street, and it's good place for smaller and bigger children. Also adults can find many amusing things to do there. All Tikkurila shops and restaurants are near the hotel. Also the hotel has restaurants and a pub.

For families with children, who want to visit Linnanmäki amusement park in Helsinki trains from Tikkurila to Pasila in every 10 minutes, where further connections to Linnanmäki, or you can also walk.

Standard rooms and good breakfast. There are also finnish sauna.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadhlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 267 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2010

For these rate you definitely can find a better option.
The rooms of this hotel should be renovated, it gives an impression of 2* hotel's room. I believe it was clean enough, but I felt very uncomfortable.
The breakfast was quite okay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogdan_ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Nice and friedly staff, food was exellent, and it was nice to eat in a clean restorant.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pellervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Where do I begin? Well, rude staff, addressing everyone in a harsh manner.

The rooms are worst than some you would find in a 2 star hotel in Egypt, with showers running with no plate down on the tiles.

Prices are absurd.

The food is absolutely atrocious. I ate in the Spanish restaurant, and they charged me 3€ for 4 olives. I mean really, 4 olives. The food was unedible. The "marinated" fish was nothing other than sardines from the can, with spine, eggs, brine and all attached. Hideous.

The Sokos in Pori, where I was last night, is just as bad.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattdedasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Cheap hotel, good quality. Choose a room at the second floor - they are way better compared with those on upper floors. Hotel is very close to a train station (15 minutes to Helsinki center). Good breakfast. The Spanish restaurant is good, but not great and as everything in Finland - expensive. Free wireless Internet (good speed). The hotel's pub is like the most interesting local attraction for the local people - bar, karaoke, billiards, darts, black jack. I've enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank cuvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

stayed here for only one night after attending friends wedding in Jyvaskla. Hotel staff were very helpful and we were upgraded to suite which was really grand and spacious. the room offerer a great view of the city centre and wish we had been there for longer. Breakfast restaurant was quite chaotic and busy in the morning and lots of tables needing cleared. breakfast was as expected, classic continental but plenty to choose from. would stay again if visiting Helsinki again, very expensive city but really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgeback74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed here for the Ankkarock Festival (again) this time for a full week. We arrived late on and found the nightclub, bar and live music in full swing at the hotel. The check in was very good and the staff were more that helpful as my friend is a smoker and I am not we got given a room with a balconay with no extra charge. When arriving in he room we found it to be spotless clean with plenty of towels in the bathroom.

The breakfast as always was superb and extra food being brought out when things were running low. There was always plenty of fresh coffee, juice and fruit avilable aswell as cold meats, cheeses, salads and cerials.

Around the hotel there was a nice shopping area and also the Heureka centre which was literally a stones throw away from the hotel which is well worth a visit to see and costs 15 euros but there is plenty to in there.

The hotel restaurant (Seville) is very good too and is worth a visit if you do not fancy venturing outside the hotel.

The only downside I have about this hotel is that it is a way out of the city it is fantastic for the Ankkaorck festival but if you want to see the city I suggest that you find some where central in Helsinki.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplebird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vantaa hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
2.5 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
3.1 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
2.6 mi away
Airport Hotel Pilotti
Airport Hotel Pilotti
#10 of 11 in Vantaa
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa

Address: Hertaksentie 2, Vantaa 01300, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range: $134 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vantaa Sokos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing