We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Vantaa
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a business trip. The first impression was positive, friendly staff and the hotel is very big for a relative small town.
The reception informed me about their Mexican restaurant, but they also gave me a map where I could find other places for dinner.
The room was clean but a bit 80ish. A squeegee to use after a shower did the job, but is not what I expected in a hotel of this price range.
The hotel has some facilities if you don't want to go out and stay in the hotel, like a karaoke bar where the DJ is singing on stage, a bit out of tune :-) and it conflicts with the rock music of the bar where you can play several (payable) games.
The hotel has a sauna and a well equipped fitness area.

In the morning you have breakfast in the discotheque, so if you feel very fit in the morning, let's dance!

Room Tip: Although the hotels has a karaoke and a rock bar, I couldn't hear it in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DirkChristiaens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 268 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Location of the hotel is good. Few steps to railway station to go to Helsinki or north and bus stop to airport. Buffet breakfast is good. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable but soundproofing is not good.
Hotel has a well known and very popular "discoclubrestaurant", Tulisuudelma, which is straight from eighties. Hotel and its discoclub is called "the biggest inland cruise ship".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnteroFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel couple of times before because of my employer made the reservation. Previously it hasn't been very good, but it seems that this hotel has done some kind of facelift. I stayed friday-Sunday and service was good, even the food (which was average or a bit below average) was served quickly. This was major improvement. Service came with smile. And something has happened to restaurants because music didn't disturb sleep anymore.
After this experience I actually might consider recommending this hotel. And the location right next to railway station is excellent. One can come right out of the train with all luggage and step in to hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrrtsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Good hotel for business or if you are just in need of a place to stay between flights or trains.
Just two minutes walk to the trainstation and you'll get to the Vantaa airport by bus nr 61 or Taxi (about 20euros).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osteraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The first impression I got was one of space. I'd just moved here from the Holiday Inn Airport, which I found rather cramped. Here there were wide corridors, extensive spaces outside the lift doors with armchairs and sofas. The room had 2 single beds, but room to move around in. Check-in was a breeze. There was a fault with the WiFi, but the reception staff got onto the company to get the new password within minutes.

I stayed 3 nights. On my 2nd night, Matti Nykänen was playing downstairs and that was a gas. I was on the fourth floor and certainly didn't hear the music in my room - I had to go to bed before the party finished.

There's not a huge amount to do in Tikkurila, but the station has fast frequent trains to Helsinki. I went to the science museum. And just by the bridge over to the museum there's a fantastic cafe on the river. And there are plenty of acceptable restaurants in the town centre.

I liked the breakfast which had some traditional Finnish food. And they offered something different every day such as a speciality cheese or pate. I must say that the breakfast room is badly in need of renovation - it's rather dark and gloomy. But that's only for an hour a day when you're there.

The 61 bus goes straight to the airport from the stop at the station 30 yards away.

I enjoyed my stay in this good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 549JohnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Was booked there by organizers, and arrived at 8 PM. Hotel is close to the airport and that was about the most positive thing about the hotel. When I arrived the glassdoor was broken, and that could of course happen anywere, but it was quite symbolic for this hotel. Well I needed something to eat after arrival, and went to the hotel restaurant which turned out to be a really poor mexican style restaurant. The bar was kind of old school nightclub. The next morning there was only cold water in the shower etc.
I´m a frequent Helsinki traveller, and use to stay in the city enter, which I will definately also do in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rask46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have stayed twice in this hotel, both times in a superior room on the upper floors and had no problems sleeping. I have stayed only during the week, though, so can’t say anything about the noise from the night club on weekends, but I don’t think the noise would be an issue on the upper floors. You should just ask for a quiet room when checking in.

Both of the rooms I’ve stayed in were nice and modernly furnished with spacious and clean bathroom. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the bathroom floor does get wet after taking a shower, which can be quite annoying. I think the rooms have been renovated recently as the color of the floor carpet didn’t seem to match anything else in the room, just wondering why they haven’t changed that as well. There are rooms with parquet floor, which you can choose when booking.

The rooms were not very big, just enough space for two separate beds, an armchair and a writing desk with a chair. There was, however, quite a lot of space to hang your clothes and there was also an iron with an ironing board hidden in the cupboard with the mini bar. There are coffee and tea making facilities in the superior room (I’m not sure if they’re included in the standard rooms as well) and you can also find complimentary cookies and water bottles on the desk. On my last visit I had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the railway station, which was nice, even though the view isn’t that great.

The breakfast is served in the restaurant on the 2nd floor and it´s the usual Sokos Hotels quality. There are plenty of choices from cold to warm dishes, so you’ll get your stomach full for sure. It gets quite crowded, so you better go there early in order to find a free table.

The main reason why I chose this hotel was the convenient location. I was attending a class at a nearby education center and was arriving by train, so the location was unbeatable. As the railway station is practically next door to the hotel, it’s very easy to travel to Helsinki. And if you need to get to the airport, just take the bus #61 that stops in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vantaa hotels
3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
3.2 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
2.5 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
3.1 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
2.8 mi away
Cumulus Airport
Cumulus Airport
#6 of 11 in Vantaa
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa

Address: Hertaksentie 2, Vantaa 01300, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range: $136 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vantaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vantaa Sokos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing