We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a convenient hotel for an early flight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level Contributor
412 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Still a convenient hotel for an early flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is our second stay at Holiday Inn. We wanted to stay here again, because we liked their restaurant and the hotel is still near to the airport. We had a dinner at the evening at Bistro Fiore and the dishes were tasty as always. The room was nice, but shower still flood over the whole bathroom

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear leffex,

thank you for staying with us for the second time. I'm very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our restaurant services also during your latest stay. I have forwarded your kind comments to our restaurant personnel and I'm sure it's well received.

We wish you warmly welcome again to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    278
    210
    35
    17
See reviews for
58
132
109
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We didn't expect much from this airport hotel and took it because we had early-morning flight to catch.
Pros:
-clean
-close to airport and has efficient free shuttle system
-very close to jumbo shopping mall (5 min walking) to catch some meals or late shopping

Cons:
-small rooms
-quite annoying shower (with curtain that doesn't prevent the water from coming all over the bathroom floor)
-long bus ride to Helsinki center

Good for one night if you have late night/early morning flight

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ybgy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear ybgy y,

thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have documented the pros and cons you have mentioned in your review. I hope that we are able to exceed your expectations next time.

I hope to see you soon again in Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!

With best regards,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Helsinki Vantaa Airport for 1 night on a business trip. Hotel was very nice but the room was a little small but comfortable. Hotel nice & tidy and all staff friendly & hospitable. Food in the restaurant was excellent.
The hotel is ideally located for the airport, being only 10 mins away. Access to Helsinki City centre is easy and is a 20 min car journey away.
Hopefully I will be coming back as I may be working near to the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Redleyther,

Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation needs and writing a review of your recent stay. I’m really glad that you found our staff to be friendly and hospitable. Your comments regarding the excellent food are also greatly appreciated by our restaurant personnel.

Thank you once again for your kind comments, we look forward to the opportunity of looking after you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed one night in March, arriving after a late flight. Check-in was very efficient, room was perfectly OK, bar was open (with a wide range of drinks and football on the TV) and breakfast was excellent. Location is 5 min drive from the airport. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear TWinster13,

thank you for staying with us and leaving a 4 star review of your stay, it's highly appreciated by our personnel. I wish you warmly welcome again to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Little things matter. When you hop on the free hotel shuttle bus at Vantaa airport (Platform 11, immediately outside the arrivals door in terminal 2), the Holiday Inn is the first stop. That may save you 10 or 15 minutes - nice if you're tired after long journey.

I've stayed at the other airport hotels in the area (although, not at the GLO hotel which is actually INSIDE the airport). The Holiday Inn is a bit more expensive, but I think it's worth it. The most important thing: BEDS. The bed in my single room was VERY comfortable, with 4 very large down pillows. The front desk staff was smiling and friendly. There's men's and women's SAUNAS on the 2nd floor (between the two main wings) but they're only open in the evenings, after 5 p.m. I didn't eat in the restaurant, which, like everything in Helsinki is almost insanely overpriced - it wasn't open when I arrived at 11 p.m. But it looked nice.

Although the hotel offers a selection of sandwiches and other "snack" food 24 hours, what I suggest is that you stop by the Alepa grocery store at the airport instead. The store, which is very well stocked with all manner of food and drink, including fresh fruits, beer, wine, etc. It's right next to Starbucks, just to the left as you exit the international customs/immigration area. The selection here is MUCH bigger than any of the hotels offer, and the prices, while not cheap, are cheaper than what the hotels will charge.

Back to the hotel - my room, a standard single, was quite small, but very well appointed. You can open a WINDOW to the fresh air outside - and if you're a "polar bear" like me, you'll really appreciate that.

High-speed internet is included at no charge (as well it should be everywhere).

I come through Helsinki often, and this is now my preferred hotel at the airport.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the sauna, ask for something on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reispr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear reispr,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m very pleased to hear that our beds as well as our smiling and helpful staff made you feel comfortable during your recent stay. These are some of the key areas we are especially delighted to be remembered among our guests. It is unfortunate, though, that you weren’t able to enjoy our restaurant services this time as it was closed at 11 p.m. on your arrival day. I hope that you are able to enjoy also our restaurant services during your next visit.

I wish you warmly welcome again to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!

With best regards,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We selected this property for a quick one night stay-over to catch an early morning flight the next day. Fully satisfied with stay, service and staff.

As most have said getting to the property from airport is easy. Busses run to this hotel and 4 others every 20 minutes. Checkin was smooth and front desk staff was very friendly and eager to assist in any way.

King room was very comfortable and TV offered 3 English speaking stations. Internet connection was included and worked well. As others have mentioned the bathroom setup is a bit strange where when showering the majority of the bathroom floor gets wet. Sort of understand this design is done, but would think they could have a better pitch for the water to drain quicker. Not a drawback, but wasted towels by putting them on the floor.

Would not let this affect my selection of this property in the future.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I’m especially pleased to know that you found our staff friendly and eager to assist you. This kind of feedback is highly motivating to our personnel and helps us to keep up the great level of our service.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you soon back in Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport!

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here just one night before an early flight in March 2014. For the convenience of the location the airport Hilton cannot be beaten but Holiday Inn makes an effort - like the other off airport hotels as well. There is a shuttle bus running every 20 minutes from the airport to the hotels and back. Just make sure you pick the right shuttle, as there are at least 3 shuttles going either to hotels or to the remote parking lots. It is clearly marked, though we wittnessed some passengers who were not sure which one to pick. Takes about 10 minutes to reach.
We had a twin (would have preferred a double but it was not offered and we did not ask). Smallish room with quite narrow beds (typical for Finland), a desk, armchair, tv, good wifi, and a bathroom with a shower having just a curtain - which made the floor flood. That was the only complaint. We had a couple of drinks at the bar downstairs but did not eat. Neither did we had breakfast - which costs ridiculous 17 euros per person - but chose to have something at the airport instead.
Anyways for a one night stay it was all right, and I have no doubts to either recommend or return myself to this hotel. But I still prefer Hilton. There is a clear difference with these two brands - convenience wise as well as price wise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReijoYonemoto, General Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mari6,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied your stay with us. However, I regret that we could not quite meet your expectations regarding the shower experience. Rest assured that your comments have been noted and will be documented for our future improvements.

I do hope we will have the honor to have you as our guest again in Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport.

Sincerely,
Reijo Yonemoto
General Manager
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vantaa hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Resort Airport Congress Center
0.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
1.6 mi away
GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Airport
Cumulus Airport
#6 of 10 in Vantaa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Address: Raelssitie 2, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel is the best value for money to stay near the Helsinki Airport (HEL) in Vantaa. Our free shuttle bus takes you in 5 minutes from door to door from and to the airport! Located just 25 minutes from the Helsinki City Centre, with ample parking space, the hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. All rooms have been renovated during 2009 and are equipped with a fully fitted bathroom, satellite and pay TV, mini-bar and air conditioning. High Speed Internet and WiFi are accessible in the entire building for free of charge. Spacious Executive rooms are equipped with separate dressing room and are also designed for families with children. Meet and relax at the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport! The hotel offers meeting and breakout rooms, all with daylight, free internet access and first class equipment. Please contact the hotel directly for a tailor-made meeting package Restaurant Bistro Fiore offers a variety of taste full Finnish and European dishes. Bar Fiore is great place for you to relax after a long flight or hard day. The hotel forms a part of the Aviapolis Business District. Helsinki Fair Centre and Hartwall Arena 15 mins drive. Keilaniemi business park 25 mins. We look forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport Hotel Vantaa
Helsinki Holiday Inn
Vantaa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing