We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close To Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Close To Airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is a ten minute taxi drive from the airport ( be aware that taxi drivers do not like short trips). Arrived late and were given free sandwiches as the kitchen was closed. Check in was smooth and professional. The room was quite large and very clean. Breakfast was free with quite a large selection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    282
    214
    35
    18
See reviews for
58
135
110
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This airport is not very close to the airport or anything else really, there is a shuttle bus from the airport but you can be waiting a while for it.

The rooms are basic but functional, Wifi is complimentary which is at least a plus.

On the first morning of my stay I awoke to find no hot water in my room, I contacted the hotel reception and they tried to tell me this was a problem effecting the whole town which I find hard to believe.

On return to my room in the evening there was still no hot water and no my TV began switching itself on and off. A promise to look into this never materailised and when I complained on the 3rd day I was finally changed to another room. They made a big deal out of giving me an exec room as an upgrade even though as a platinum member they should have given me one to start with.

The service in the restaurant was fine but the menu is poor in terms of variety and very expensive.

This is not a terrible hotel but not a good one either and not up to Holiday Inn's usual standards (which aren't that high to begin with).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Darkheart,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We will address the maters with the respective departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve again in the future.

Sincerely,


Myrna M
Case Manager
IHGCar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vantaa hotels

Windsor,Ontario,
Level Contributor
437 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is, perhaps, the most basic and primitive "Holiday Inn" we've ever stumbled upon. Check in was fine, business-like, pleasant and basic. Restaurant menu is strange, service passable, food passable, menu selection standard.
Rooms are small to very small and functional--sort of large closets for a single night's stay en route to somewhere more appealing. Of course, the shower is primitive--reminds one of some inexpensive Greek Island basic accommodation--almost impossible to shower without leaving watr on the walls, floor, toilet, toilet paper and most everywhere else. Be a great outdoor shower but for allegedly civilised country this is perhaps what one expects in a Russuan Banja..
The Hotel is not really near anything so don't plan on wandering about shopping. Also noted that the parking lot was a location for at least two drug deals. in between shuttles to the airport.

Room Tip: There may be a good room but have no idea where in this "Holiday inn".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear NamutKwu,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations and I regret you were not fully satisfied with the condition of the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best
service experience possible.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Check-in was friendly and efficient and I was advised of a complimentary upgrade to an executive room - very nice! Sadly it was not comparable with any other Holiday Inn executive room I've stayed in so I suspect this may be a little misleading to some.

I had an evening meal in the restaurant (very strange layout downstairs, particularly the bar and smoking room) and was served by numerous staff. The meal was pleasant (pasta), staff friendly and efficient, although service a little slow (considering there were 10-15 guests there and maybe 5 staff). Room service not available, I ventured to a nearby shopping centre and tried three restaurants there instead. Better atmosphere to be fair so if staying here I'd suggest doing this.

The rooms were OK and clean but nothing special and very basic. You'd feel cheated if you paid for an exec room.

A good value hotel: comfortable, clean and functional but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighPlainsDrifter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Easy to get there from airport with free shuttle bus. Small rooms. Bathroom looks like the one you have on the ferry goin between Sweden and Finland. Shower put water all over the small bathroom floor. Fills it purpose for one night stay but not a place to stay long time.
Internet was working perfect and no noise from airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ull-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had to layover in Helsinki on our way home to US from Copenhagen, free shuttle,only 10 min but heard no noise at night . Decent restaurant and excellent included breakfast. Small room but confortable bed . Terrible shower.....went everywhere, CNN on TV and other English channels.Fine for a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardener46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Shuttle bus from airport every 20 minutes, free, it takes 5-10 minutes, station in terminal 1 is at the right end (as you exit).
You may reach Helsinki via bus + train, or directly by bus (611, 612 - at about 20 minutes interval during week-days, directly to central rail station in Helsinki).
Shopping mall and entertainment center (swimming pool, mini-golf, bowling, cinemas) within walking distance from hotel.
Clean, excellent service, very good breakfast; mind though that restaurant only opens 17:30. Rooms are rather small, go for the executive if you can afford it, I believe it's worth the money difference.
Good impression overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are twice as large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vantaa hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
0.8 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Resort Airport Congress Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Helsinki Airport
1.6 mi away
GLO Hotel Airport Vantaa
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Airport
Cumulus Airport
#6 of 10 in Vantaa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
Address: Raelssitie 2, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel is the best value for money to stay near the Helsinki Airport (HEL) in Vantaa. Our free shuttle bus takes you in 5 minutes from door to door from and to the airport! Located just 25 minutes from the Helsinki City Centre, with ample parking space, the hotel is a great choice for business and leisure travelers. All rooms have been renovated during 2009 and are equipped with a fully fitted bathroom, satellite and pay TV, mini-bar and air conditioning. High Speed Internet and WiFi are accessible in the entire building for free of charge. Spacious Executive rooms are equipped with separate dressing room and are also designed for families with children. Meet and relax at the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport! The hotel offers meeting and breakout rooms, all with daylight, free internet access and first class equipment. Please contact the hotel directly for a tailor-made meeting package Restaurant Bistro Fiore offers a variety of taste full Finnish and European dishes. Bar Fiore is great place for you to relax after a long flight or hard day. The hotel forms a part of the Aviapolis Business District. Helsinki Fair Centre and Hartwall Arena 15 mins drive. Keilaniemi business park 25 mins. We look forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport Hotel Vantaa
Helsinki Holiday Inn
Vantaa Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing