We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Hotel Pilotti
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Vantaa
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked the hotel as I had just half a day and one night in Helsinki before my connecting flight, and thought of checking in close to the airport. The positives were free airport transfer (or taxi fare in case their coach was not operational at that hour), proximity to the airport (10 mins) and reasonable breakfast. Also the staff at the front desk is very helpful and friendly. However the rooms and the washrooms are amazingly small. It is impossible to take bath in the washroom if you are tall and of reasonable built. I would recommend it only if you have to be close to the airport and are travelling alone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 364 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

My reasons to book this hotel was the proximity of the airport, and the adjusted rate. In these sense, perfect. Even, from the airport to the hotel, they pay the taxi. To go to the center of Helsinki, by bus, is quite a long trip (40m). Please, take attention of the stop of the hotel, because you must return (driver and people on the bus, doesn't know the hotel,.. ), and is a bit hidden. After bus, I needed a taxi to catch the hotel. Reception, just correct (short explanations). The problem is the very small room (for 2 people and 2 suitcases), and the smallest bathroom in my life. Good breakfast, with nice fried eggs.. Return to the airport, with shuttle bus, on the dot ! If you have enough time: take the bus, and enjoy a couple of hours walking in the heart of the warm (May) Helsinki... or drinking a refreshment in the large square close to the train station.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms have the same problem: the small size, and no special view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llampec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

An ok hotel close to the airport. The hotel has a schuttle service, believe it only operates rush hour...

My room was very small, and sound from the corridor was a bit annoying. Breakfast was ok.

Staff were friendly.

There were no restaurants etc close by (short walking distance)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is located near shopping center "Jumbo", and have free shuttle bus to airport a few times/ hour depending what the clock is (about 10min ride). Customers staying over night has free transport availeble 24hrs/day, but if not only shuttle bus/ local buses (stop running 02 and starts again 05). Parking is free for guests up to two weeks. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small and bathrooms are very small. The room was clean, equipped with tv, phone, minibar, hairdryer. Wi-Fi is free. Sauna is available for guests of an evening. There is also "early" breakfast starting at 04.00, which was ok.
In our room was a "sewer" smell and no aircon.
This hotel is ok for overnight stay for waiting your flight to go, if you want to see Helsinki or stay longer take a different hotel with better location. From this hotel it takes at least 45min to Helsinki center by bus.
This in not the best airport hotel, but if you need place to stay for one night it is ok, when price is right - check out also offers from other hotels. In our stay - we pay 91€ for two persons with breakfast and car park for week. Airport parking starts app. 40€/week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel was the worst experience ever had. Thanks God, I stayed there only for a night (actually after midnight). The room smells, while windows seem like living in a basement.

But the most ridiculous thing in this “hotel” is the bathroom. It is more or less than 1m2 !!! and in order to reach the wash basin you actually have to jump over the toilet. Not to mention that to have a shower you actually touch everywhere.

The bus shuttle runs only few hours (after 17:00 up to 02:00 am). For all the other hours you have to call a taxi or take the local bus in order to reach the airport.

I paid 110 Euros for a night and I regret it a lot. This thing needs extensive renovation in order to be considered as at least a descent hotel.

There are many hotels around airport. I suggest to forget this "hotel" ans seek for something else.

Room Tip: Avoid this "hotel".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christiana_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petteri T, Front Office Manager at Airport Hotel Pilotti, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear "Christiana_G",

thank you for your visit to our hotel and sharing your feedback with regards to your latest stay.

Let me start by apologizing we haven't been able to meet with your expectations. The bathrooms in our guest rooms are originally designed to be compact to maximize the space in the room itself. We are currently undergoing a thorough renovation of the hotel which has included eg. new flooring, paintings and renewal of electronic devices in the rooms. In addition, we are also determined to update our bathrooms in the future as well.

Despite your disappointment I wish that we may have a new chance in the future to serve you better and accordingly be able to welcome you again to BEST WESTERN Airport Hotel Pilotti.

Kind regards,

Petteri Turunen
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Airport Hotel Pilotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Perfect to stay over if on a long lay over. Staff nice, friendly and helpful. A good breakfast and reasonable prize. Shuttle is available only from 5pm to 2am. Else one could use the bus No. 519 to airport right outside the Hotel. Clean Linnen and comfy beds though bathroom is smaller than that of an air plane.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indirakah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was on a business trip in Scandinavia and then I needed an hotel close to the airport. The position is ok, good bus and quick arrival but then... Small room, bathroom almost not existing, impossible to take a shower without flooding the room. And not cheap at all. I will try another one next time

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vantaa
0.6 mi away
Airport Hotel Bonus Inn
2.2 mi away
Hilton Helsinki Airport
0.8 mi away
Cumulus Resort Airport Congress Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumulus Airport
Cumulus Airport
#6 of 11 in Vantaa
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Helsinki-Vantaa Airport
0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Hotel Pilotti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Hotel Pilotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Pilotti

Address: Veromaentie 1, Vantaa 01510, Finland
Location: Finland > Uusimaa > Vantaa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Vantaa
Price Range: $102 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Pilotti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Airport Hotel Pilotti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing