We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket McD's”
Review of Amarillo Flamingo

Amarillo Flamingo
Ranked #27 of 119 Restaurants in Vantaa
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Vantaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Upmarket McD's”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just like McD's but with a bar ! No really, the burgers are pretty ok here with some nice dips and portions are pretty good, slow service when busy but they give you some tortilla chips and salsa to munch on so it's ok, Very popular with young Finns at the weekend evenings so be prepared to wait. A little pricey for the quality too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leroy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    55
    59
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Basic Amarillo without enough staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Like McDonalds, you know what you are going to get. Popular during lunch hours and evenings, you have to be really patient here. The service is friendly but often you have to wait rather long time to get your food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelZern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veliko Turnovo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like a slowmotion Diesel”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Sure but slow! A little bit overpriced. Very slow service, staff seems to be movin'...but into wrong direction. Don't take dishes away for 15 minutes after having finished eating. Chatting with other staff members seems to win everything else. Got the bill very quickly, thank you. Quite nice atmosphere, though...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service, service...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food in Amarillo joints is your basic, a little overpriced, average tasting burgers and whatnot. This shouldn't come with suprise in any restaurant hoisting the green card logo (the Finnish co-op conglomerate S-group's bonus program, means that the joint in question is highly conceptized and standardized in terms of service, quality, selection and pricing).

What really strikes me here is the service. The first incident happened couple of months ago, when I was hosting a corporate meeting's evening event and made the error of choosing Amarillo as the venue. The staff was rude towards our entourage of 15 people. For example, when an elderly gentleman of our group had waited at the bar for 15 minutes to get served (and we we're talking about tuesday evening, with about one third of the restaurants capacity full), he finally asked a bygoing waitress for a drink. The answers? "I'll get to you when I get to you, and if you keep up an attitude like that, I won't serve you at all".

Disregarding the aforementioned dissappointment, me and my wife went to Amarillo yesterday for a burger. There were quite a lot of availabe staff in my perception, but they weren't observant at all. They were either busy chatting with each other near the kitchen or carrying food to the table, and while coming back to the kitchen, avoiding to look at any of the customers (for example I would have wanted a second coke but had to get it from the bar myself).

This is the exact reason why there is not tipping culture in Finland - high prices (which is due to high taxation and wages) together with neglecting and arrogant service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markku T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice place and good atmosphere. We were group of 7 and everyone of us were satisfied with the food. I took chicken fingers for starters and Chevre salad for main course; both were really good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thetallfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amarillo Flamingo also viewed

 

Been to Amarillo Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing