We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Munkebjerg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Munkebjerg Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vejle
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked this via legolandholidays because it seemed like the nicest place at its price class. Legoland is 30km away.

Hotel is on top of fjord and the view from restaurant terrace is stunning. The hotel is surrounded by forest and Vejle village is about 7km away.

Danish hotel breakfasts seem to have high quality standards but this was even better. One of the best hotel breakfasts ever.

Pool is nice and there's a sauna too. Beds weren't too confy. With better beds I would have given 5*.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank EeroOrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with the family during our visit in Billund/ Legoland. The location and scenery is amazing.

The building itself is quite old, but still well kept and clean. Bfast room provided a beautiful scenery + was bfast itself was very tasty and very good, though crowded. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool + spacious play room. Pls note, no AC.

All in all a place worth staying at.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jan-Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in serene surroundings. Superb breakfast buffet! Nice in-door pool area which had been redone since our last visit a few years ago. Nice hiking trails in the surrounding woods. A good base for visiting Legoland (a good half hour drive) and exploring Jylland.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank elRolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It was my first time at the Munkebjerg, but not the last. The hotel is like an oasis of calm and tranquility. Rooms are typically exclusive Danish, with quality design furniture and ensuite bathrooms. The restuarant is excellent for breakfast or evening meal with the best food served simply. Very nice pool an fitness area.

Room Tip: Very very nice place- the overviews, the garden an the food !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frodefredegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I say one night at Munkabjerg Hotel. Rooms are very modest and not exciting.But sure you can have nice sleep in this hotel.
The restaurant is something outstanding. We visited first the wine cellar that was warm and nice place to taste few special wines. But the glory of the night was the dinner. We take restaurant recommendation selection of the house. What an outstanding dinner. One of the best ever. If you are evere close to this place its worth to say overnight and enjoy good food and service.

Room Tip: The issue is not the rooms but the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed maybe 15 times at the Munkebjerg during business trips to Denmark the hotel is like an oasis of calm and tranquility. Rooms are typically minimalistic Danish with quality furniture and ensuite bathrooms. The restuarant is excellent for breakfast or evening meal with the best food served simply. During my last visit the restuarant had been moved following a fire which repairs were still underway from but as you would expect had no effect on the expected quality of service or food! great plae to stay even if you aren't there for the casino which I have only visted once. This is the John Lewis of hotels for English visitors. Don't miss the views of the Fjord which are spectacular.

Room Tip: If John Lewis did hotels this would be it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My Danish wife and I, need to have an adult getaway from our 2 year old so my wife found the hotel. She's born and raised in Denmark as where I am American.

As we walked in the place was very quiet. More of the old fashion hotels back in the days with the stone and gray look. Very warm. We got our key right away and headed right up to the room. The view that we got with the room was AWESOME!! You could see right over the water and see the town and homes over on the other side.

The room was very nice. Double bed for us nice big screen tv. Bathroom was a bit small as we are a bit big but we could easily use it.

The spa and pool area are very GREAT!! The jacuzzi was GREAT! and there where two of them incase the kids and Family are in one. Pool was very nice. There is a stream room and workout room is top notch.

The breakfast when where there was PERFECT!! Almost everything you can think of. Fruit, bread, roles, eggs, bacon, etc.

Overall, me and my wife have agreed that we will be coming here more often to get away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FavoriteVlogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vejle
2.8 mi away
Comwell Kellers Park & Spa
13.3 mi away
Hotel Koldingfjord
Hotel Koldingfjord
#1 of 9 in Kolding
1,115 reviews
7.0 mi away
Sinatur Hotel Haraldskaer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Scandic Jacob Gade
Scandic Jacob Gade
#4 of 14 in Vejle
320 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel Opus Horsens
Hotel Opus Horsens
#2 of 8 in Horsens
331 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vejle Center Hotel
Vejle Center Hotel
#7 of 14 in Vejle
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munkebjerg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munkebjerg Hotel

Address: Munkebjergvej 125, Vejle 7100, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Jutland > South Jutland > Vejle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vejle
Price Range: $155 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munkebjerg Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munkebjerg Hotel. Munkebjerg Hotel where business travellers and leisure tourists will find equally suitable and charming surroundings. Munkebjerg Hotel is well known for its recreational value. In an idyllic location right in the heart of the unspoiled nature, surrounded by a dense and luxuriant beech forest, you will find one of Denmark's finest hotels.The hotel features conference facilities and syndicate rooms with a seating capacity of up to 700 people, 3 restaurants, a cafe, a night club, a wine cellar, a relaxing spa and fitness area and a casino. A total of 158 rooms are at your disposal. You may choose between comfortable standard rooms, 2 suites, 2 junior suites, 29 luxury rooms and a bridal suite at our upper Tree-Top floor. All rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munkebjerg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munkebjerg Hotel Vejle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing